looksgoodinred Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I grew up playing piano and clarinet. And a brief stint on saxophone. Nowhere near as cool as these instruments! I give you a xylophone-like instrument carved from a block of ice. And the bum drums Any other interesting ones you've come across, either through your travels in person or on the internet? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Af0zE3CJr0 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I grew up playing piano and clarinet. And a brief stint on saxophone. Nowhere near as cool as these instruments! I give you a xylophone-like instrument carved from a block of ice. And the bum drums Any other interesting ones you've come across, either through your travels in person or on the internet? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Af0zE3CJr0 Not an instrument I play personally, but the Hang Drum is one of my favourite instruments to listen to. Each genuine hang drum was hand made and numbered, and there was years of a waiting list to get one. Rethink they were going for about 50k each at one point. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I've never played with any musical instrument, I wish I could play the piano and guitar but tis sadly not to be. I am a good singer though, even though I say it myself. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I play bits of guitar, piano/keyboard, drums, trumpet, accordion and harmonica. Got guitars and a keyboard set up in the living room and sometimes play now and again. I never really seem to find the time to learn what I want to learn though which is a shame. I'd really like to start playing guitar properly and be able to start writing proper songs and solos. The weirdest instrument I've seen is the box made by some footballer. It's meant to be a percussion instrument but I'm not sold. Just looks like a waste of cash to me. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I play bits of guitar, piano/keyboard, drums, trumpet, accordion and harmonica. Got guitars and a keyboard set up in the living room and sometimes play now and again. I never really seem to find the time to learn what I want to learn though which is a shame. I'd really like to start playing guitar properly and be able to start writing proper songs and solos. The weirdest instrument I've seen is the box made by some footballer. It's meant to be a percussion instrument but I'm not sold. Just looks like a waste of cash to me. In my flat I had twin SL1200'S set up with mixers and big speakers, I tried for hours on end to master it but never did, good DJ'S are under rated. I drink or at least used to drink in the four mile all the the time and the ex owners daughter Suzi was a genius on the decks, she got the gig everytime I had a party. Ended up selling the whole set up to go to the World cup in 98, I needed the money at the time, don't regret it, best 3 weeks of my life came from the proceeds but missed the parties. Anyway moral of the story is being a great DJ is an art form, I put them higher than someone who can play an instrument. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I have 2 guitars, and I play drums, I totally rock!!!!!!! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 Two weird flip sides here. A controller without an instrument, and an instrument without a controller. First. The controller without the instrument: Second: The instrument without the controller: Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 Not exactly a musical instrument, but I do enjoy mix up on my decks. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 In my flat I had twin SL1200'S set up with mixers and big speakers, I tried for hours on end to master it but never did, good DJ'S are under rated. I drink or at least used to drink in the four mile all the the time and the ex owners daughter Suzi was a genius on the decks, she got the gig everytime I had a party. Ended up selling the whole set up to go to the World cup in 98, I needed the money at the time, don't regret it, best 3 weeks of my life came from the proceeds but missed the parties. Anyway moral of the story is being a great DJ is an art form, I put them higher than someone who can play an instrument.I got a shotty of my step bro's decks after I had a go at my mates party. Getting songs to sync now is a doddle, simple press of a button, but doing anything artistic or original is very, very difficult. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I'm pretty good with the pink oboe. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I have a Yamaha SG300 (ancient) and a Sheridan similar (A300).Also and Ibanez semi accoustic. Have 2 x bass guitars.One wis the cheapest een in Bruce Milers aboot 27 years ago. A Fodic.The ither een was stolen fae the band Jesse Garon & The Desperadoes from a gig at Edinbugh Uni aboot 25 years ago.They played too lang, meaning oor friends, and 2nd on stage Close Lobsters, had their set cut by aboot 15 mins. Dicks.Wedding Present were "headlining". Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 This thread took an abrupt and early shift from what it set out as... into "what do you play" And so since I answered in the original vein I might as well join in with the new one. I play guitars and keyboards and drums. Drums well enough to hold a beat together but haven't played them for eons. Keyboards and guitars... last I was into playing properly I was alright: not great but enough to self record an album (or three, with about 15 years and half the world between them) with a mate. Right now I've just got a Casio keyboard of some type... that I couldn't even tell you. Got used to record some of the parts of the last album with my mate in the US. Now it sits in the corner of my study currently with a dressing gown over it. Not been turned on for maybe 2 years. Rather sad that actually. Got rid of my bass guitar and one of my electrics so only got my Epiphone Les Paul Studio and a Yamaha acoustic 12 string with a DiMarzio pickup in it. Favourite electric guitar I've ever had was a Gibson Les Paul Black Beauty briefly before leaving the UK. Favourite non-electric was a manky 30+ year old Ibanez acoustic 12 string that still to this day (it sits in my folks place in the UK) has the best action of any acoustic I've ever played. I don't know... think it was made by God or something because Ibanez of the mid 70s weren't a great brand but that guitar is a peach. Never had many decent keyboards but the two best were a Rhodes 660 and a Korg X3 were the best by a long way. Never owned drums because I wasn't a drummer but filled in when jamming. Oh and played recorder. And muddled along on flute... amazingly easy instrument to pick up at least to the level of being able to get a bit of expression and get a tune out. Shame it's not that useful. Would have loved to get into Sax but never wanted to waste money on one only to find I sucked so didn't get to it. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted February 23, 2013 Author Share Posted February 23, 2013 This thread took an abrupt and early shift from what it set out as... into "what do you play" And so since I answered in the original vein I might as well join in with the new one. I play guitars and keyboards and drums. Drums well enough to hold a beat together but haven't played them for eons. you`d probably find you`d get right into it again if you were practising on bum drums Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 Not convinced about the bum drums though. Not really got a good enough tonal variety. Very poor sustain on them too. Still practice makes perfect. 1 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted February 23, 2013 Author Share Posted February 23, 2013 Not convinced about the bum drums though. Not really got a good enough tonal variety. Very poor sustain on them too. Still practice makes perfect. no doubt a wider array of bums (firmness and size) would have given better tonal variety.. but wouldn`t have been as appealing to a man`s eye Link to comment
Jigot Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I play bits of guitar, piano/keyboard, drums, trumpet, accordion and harmonica. Got guitars and a keyboard set up in the living room and sometimes play now and again. I never really seem to find the time to learn what I want to learn though which is a shame. I'd really like to start playing guitar properly and be able to start writing proper songs and solos. The weirdest instrument I've seen is the box made by some footballer. It's meant to be a percussion instrument but I'm not sold. Just looks like a waste of cash to me.My wife has an acoustic guitar and a violin but she excels more playing on my fucking nerves. I have a moothy (Hohner) but the dog barks like fuck when I give it the sookie blaw. The harmonica, no the dug, so it will stay in it's box until the dogs in his. I did buy a chanter years ago but couldn't even pick up the scales. I blamed the plastic reeds at the time but it was probably the fact I am a musical retard.The laddie sometimes mixes for Base Generator and sends me some braw Rock mash ups. He has a set of toattie wee decks he uses with his laptop, fuck knows what make though. Link to comment
tainboy Posted February 23, 2013 Share Posted February 23, 2013 I used to play the banjo but I snapped the string. Link to comment