Career Own Goal

Other than SAF, I'm really struggling to think of any manager who went on to greater things. Similar to most of our players I guess.

Willie Miller, Alex Miller, Roy Aitken, Ebbe, Paterson, Calderwood, McGhee and now it seems Brown... a job at AFC more often than not, will spell the end of your career in relative terms.

It really is the poisoned chalice is it not.

Is it them, or is it us (ie the club)? Surely they can't all have been shit managers? Ebbe had a decent record with Brondby before he arrived with us and really was hung out to dry in some respects. He was also the last manager to get us to a cup final (ffs, what a bloody fact that is!). Also interesting (with the caveat of Burkenshaw who was nae really a manager anyway), Ebbe has been our only foreign manager. So not only do we wreck careers, but we wreck Scottish manager's careers.

Other than SAF, I'm really struggling to think of any manager who went on to greater things. Similar to most of our players I guess.

Willie Miller, Alex Miller, Roy Aitken, Ebbe, Paterson, Calderwood, McGhee and now it seems Brown... a job at AFC more often than not, will spell the end of your career in relative terms.

It really is the poisoned chalice is it not.

Is it them, or is it us (ie the club)? Surely they can't all have been shit managers? Ebbe had a decent record with Brondby before he arrived with us and really was hung out to dry in some respects. He was also the last manager to get us to a cup final (ffs, what a bloody fact that is!). Also interesting (with the caveat of Burkenshaw who was nae really a manager anyway), Ebbe has been our only foreign manager. So not only do we wreck careers, but we wreck Scottish manager's careers.

Alex Miller went on to become asst manager at Liverpool.

Was he not asst to Houillier when they won 3 cups in one year?

Perhaps Miller will attempt to claim some hand in that, but as a manager in his own right? Plenty of no2's at big clubs have gone on to manage at a high level. Miller couldn't as he was a pish manager.... soulless, characterless, devoid of motivation. His time at AFC just reaffirmed this notion.

Yes, but the title of the thread is career own goal...

From blundering about the SPL to assistant manager of the European Champions?!

MASSIVE career improvement I'd say. Just ever so slightly

Yes, but the title of the thread is career own goal...

From blundering about the SPL to assistant manager of the European Champions?!

MASSIVE career improvement I'd say. Just ever so slightly

Was that his actual title? Boy who took the team at training is more what I saw him as.

Maybe not, but it was definitely a good career move - financially, the club he worked, trophies involved with etc.

And on the back of being coach/assistant manager at Liverpool, he got a lucrative job in Japan too I'm sure.

So I'd say despite being a cock of a manager at the Dons, his career took an upward curve when he left.

As others have said A. Miller went on to coach in the EPL and be part of a multi trophy winning staff. Aitken has EPL experience too. Both Aitken and Mcghee been given positions with the national team. Maybe not quite the success story of Ferguson but equally not quite "wrecked careers" as you put it.

Maybe instead of using all your energy to think up new grand and exciting new ways to complain and moan and bitch about the club you could be positive for once?

Every single one of our recent managers have hugely fucked up to some extent and have had the fans screaming for their head due to staggering incompetence.

Get someone in who isn't a complete buffoon and it won't be a poisoned chalice.

Maybe that's just me though.

It just CAN'T be that difficult to assemble a squad, organise them, and set them up to be aggressive and attack-minded from the start.

We have one of the best budgets in the SPL.

To be outwith the top 3 this season would be huge underachievement.

i think that things are the other way round#

Tommy Craig- from shite assistant to head of youth developmnet at Newcastle Utd.

Roy Aitken- to assistant to O' Leary at leeds and Aston Villa.

Hans Gillhaus- chief scout under Mourinho at Chelsea widely credited with discover Arjen robben.

Tommy Moller Neilson- don't know.

Toni Koumbuare- Head of youth developmnet at PSG ( remember the great white hope fabiano?, aye well that explains a lot. then became manager at PSG

Alex Miller- originally went to Liverpool as chief scout, though i believe Rafa promoted him to the coaching staff. and thankfully in rafas book he reveals that Miller DID NOT recieve a champuions league medal i remember seeing him on the open top bus parade though looking thoroughly pissed off and sour faced.

As others have said A. Miller went on to coach in the EPL and be part of a multi trophy winning staff. Aitken has EPL experience too. Both Aitken and Mcghee been given positions with the national team. Maybe not quite the success story of Ferguson but equally not quite "wrecked careers" as you put it.

Maybe instead of using all your energy to think up new grand and exciting new ways to complain and moan and bitch about the club you could be positive for once?

STOP IT. You are ruining tinyweelads thread - no more mentions of Alex Miller :laughing::laughing:

I'm no having this about Alex Miller. He had to reinvent himself as a coach after his failed appointments at both Hibs and ourselves. Sure, he may have been a good coach, and perhaps that's what he should have stayed doing, as his spells in Japan, Sweden and Russia as manager, were all failures too. Overall then, I'd say, Liverpool aside, he's proven what a crap manager he is. Reinventing yourself, as he did, could be the road the likes of Calderwood could take (although I doubt he could tell how to coach without his tombola).

So, name me ONE manager who went on to greater achievements in 'management', other than the obvious?