Bluto10 Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 The old Persia and mesopoamia Fascinating parts of the world - probably on my hit list at some pointSo much history and so different to our tradionally euro centric viewpoint. Anyone been? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 The old Persia and mesopoamia Fascinating parts of the world - probably on my hit list at some pointSo much history and so different to our tradionally euro centric viewpoint. Anyone been? Ten years of brutal, genocidal war, and all because their names sounded too similar. Apparently Iran was getting all Iraq's mail, and for reasons of clarity wanted Iraq to change it's name to Sandmonkey Sons of Whores. Best thing about that war was the uniforms. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 Fuckin dune coonbs Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Fuckin dune coonbs I'd like to hear you say that to a Muslim who's wearing Wonder Woman underpants and carrying a bazooka. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 In all seriosity, its apparently an incredibly historic region,lets also lump in petra there too Thousands of years history, up there with Northumberland and bath in TH uk Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 I'd like to hear you say that to a Muslim who's wearing Wonder Woman underpants and carrying a bazooka.One of your wife's family? Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 The old Persia and mesopoamia Fascinating parts of the world - probably on my hit list at some pointSo much history and so different to our tradionally euro centric viewpoint. Anyone been?I'm just a couple of hours by car up the road from Iran...Azerbaijan is alright...anytime you're over this way let me know Bluto...plenty dodgy cruiser's in this neck of the woods. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 One of your wife's family? Almost without question. Probably an uncle or second cousin. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 In all seriosity, its apparently an incredibly historic region,lets also lump in petra there too Thousands of years history, up there with Northumberland and bath in TH uk I think that entire region was part of the Fertile Crescent, centred around the Tigris and the Euphrates. The actual cradle of human civilisation, as opposed to Africa, which is the cradle of mad hair and houses made out of shite and twigs. When you think about it, we haven't been civilised for very long at all. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 No. And certian places like the highlands and islands still as rent civilised Link to comment
dervish Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 I think that entire region was part of the Fertile Crescent, centred around the Tigris and the Euphrates. The actual cradle of human civilisation, as opposed to Africa, which is the cradle of mad hair and houses made out of shite and twigs. When you think about it, we haven't been civilised for very long at all. Aye saw the Ishtar Gate (Gate of Babylon, from Iraq), cracking. Made about 600BC so my ancestors were probably making the transition from stabbing folk with bronze to using iron. Was nicked by the Germans so saw it in Berlin obviously, just a shite plaster version in Iraq. Having said that they only show the "small" gate in Berlin they just store the bigger second one for in case they need later, in Berlin too. Aren't the germans shites eh? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Aye saw the Ishtar Gate (Gate of Babylon, from Iraq), cracking. Made about 600BC so my ancestors were probably making the transition from stabbing folk with bronze to using iron. Was nicked by the Germans so saw it in Berlin obviously, just a shite plaster version in Iraq. Having said that they only show the "small" gate in Berlin they just store the bigger second one for in case they need later, in Berlin too. Aren't the germans shites eh? Europeans in general have a bit of a klepto problem when it comes to others' historic treasures. Time for England to return the rest of the Lewis Chessmen. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 The old Persia and mesopoamia Fascinating parts of the world - probably on my hit list at some pointSo much history and so different to our tradionally euro centric viewpoint. Anyone been? Briefly in Iraq. Spent a week at the Contingency Operations Base in Basra for my old job. Nicer than it looks. We had better accommodation than the military grunts. http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=qG12JrvUvL8&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DqG12JrvUvL8 Link to comment
fatjim Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Aye Kelt the British Museum is riddled with loot from the ancient world. british cunts. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Bet he doesn't go. Just a liar. Who? Link to comment
rainfrog Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Aye, went to Iran a couple of years ago. A pain in the arse to get a visa, but well worth the effort. Spent 9 days there and only managed to hit Tehran, Esfehan and Shiraz. Although it's a strict Islamic Republic, unlike Saudi Arabia the people are incredibly friendly, open minded and welcoming and after living in Riyadh for a bit, Esfehan and Shiraz especially are positively Vegas in comparison. You won't find much in the way of battle cruisers, but booze is tolerated amongst the Christian minority. Just seek the local Armenian church and look a bit desperate and I'm sure you'd get sorted. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 Bluto. He won't go. He will tell us next he drinks heavily. You can fuck off with your cheeky rem as rksfton kinyore bedside Link to comment
Henry Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 No. And certian places like the highlands and islands still as rent civilised Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 bloots has managed 115 posts in 24 hours. not sure how he can even be bothered to spam the board so much. Link to comment
Henry Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 bloots has managed 115 posts in 24 hours. not sure how he can even be bothered to spam the board so much. And he tells the rest of us to get a life. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 And he tells the rest of us to get a life. only minks would post 115 times in 24 hours 1 Link to comment
dervish Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 Europeans in general have a bit of a klepto problem when it comes to others' historic treasures. Time for England to return the rest of the Lewis Chessmen. True on both counts really. If they want it back give back I say (or share at least, think thats happening with Lewis chessman, but they are a bit cunty about it "prob came from a nordic country so not scottish anyway lols" and a "museum for the world" in London...).Boof for an Health & Safety radge you don't half put yourself in some risky places. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 28, 2013 Author Share Posted February 28, 2013 Bet he doesn't go. Just a liar. was that directed at me? never said i was going, however i would like to go. have been to quite a few places around the world but that is one area i havent visited. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 True on both counts really. If they want it back give back I say (or share at least, think thats happening with Lewis chessman, but they are a bit cunty about it "prob came from a nordic country so not scottish anyway lols" and a "museum for the world" in London...).Boof for an Health & Safety radge you don't half put yourself in some risky places. Never felt uncomfortable going to any place I've worked Dervish. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 Just been looking a flights to Scotland for this year. For 200 buck American more than the price of tickets to Scotland (5600km) I can fly to Tokyo (10366km). No idea why tickets to Scotland are so expensive right now. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 28, 2013 Author Share Posted February 28, 2013 tokyo is ace go for it yank Link to comment
dervish Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 Never felt uncomfortable going to any place I've worked Dervish. Obviously not committed to carrying out a comprehensive point of work risk assessment "we've got slips, trips falls... signs for aw that shite ken had handrails thats it surly?" "what about terrorist jihad invasion?" "if you're not gonna take this seriously we are going to have to have a safety conversation". Either that or when they arrive "can I see the COSHH assessment for that napam please?". Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 tokyo is ace go for it yank I'd love to go to Tokyo, min... but the only problem there is my fetish for Asian chicks. I'd be coming back divorced. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 28, 2013 Author Share Posted February 28, 2013 Ha ha ha Good man kelt :-) I'm onto a tune that you ameri cans would appreciateMy hometownSpringsteeen Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 I love oriental women, all the one's I've met have been so laid back and no matter how good looking never seem to realise themselves, not like dolly dimple simple who struts about the clubs up here. I like their look but also their attitude, really nice people in my experience. Link to comment