King Street Loon Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Going to Den Helder next week for a few days, then heading down to Geleen. Is there anything to do in Den Helder? Anyone any suggestions? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Is there anything to do in Den Helder? Anyone any suggestions? Aye, get a train to Amsterdam Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 Aye, get a train to Amsterdam That certainly crossed my mind. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 There is fuck all up there... Its about an hour and a half to two hours on the train depending on which one you get. What you there for, work? How are you getting to Geleen? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 There is fuck all up there... Its about an hour and a half to two hours on the train depending on which one you get. What you there for, work? How are you getting to Geleen?Working at NAM for a couple of days, then I'm driving down to Geleen for the night then back to Amsterdam then home. There's fuck all in Geleen, was there last week.Was only at NAM last week for a couple of hours so saw fuck all up there other than loads of helicopters buzzing about and loads of canals. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 27, 2013 Share Posted February 27, 2013 Get thweboat totexel. Texel is beautigul Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 27, 2013 Author Share Posted February 27, 2013 Where's Texel? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 By the sounds of it, with that schedule, you'll just have to grin and bear it. Alkmaar is about the closest place but its also your typical modern Dutch toon with fuck all happening and its half way to Dam so you be as well just keep going. Bluto is correct, a boat across the water would be a nice trip but IMO, at this time of year, its a nice trip with a bird for the day, during the day and not that great to head over to at 6pm after work. The dunes are similar to Balmedie so its a nice walk round the national park but its not something I'd do myself for shits and giggles, ken fit like. Depending on how much time you have to get to Geleen I'd take the scenic route via Breda instead of heading through Eindhoven, just because its a nicer place to see and if you get a chance to stop for a couple of hours you can sit in the old town squares, drink coffee and watch the sexy Dutch students pass by. You could even go past my old haunt and Bluto's back garden, Den Haag and then Delft. Scheveningen beach is worth a drop by, club live is a decent stop off if its after 11pm and then Delft is a bonny wee place thats also full of sexy Dutch students. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 28, 2013 Share Posted February 28, 2013 Good suggestions there from spam. Sounds like physically you are covering the length of Holland so Holland is very much your oyster Take a peek at a lonely planet book - you'll be amazed how much the small country has to offer Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 28, 2013 Author Share Posted February 28, 2013 By the sounds of it, with that schedule, you'll just have to grin and bear it. Alkmaar is about the closest place but its also your typical modern Dutch toon with fuck all happening and its half way to Dam so you be as well just keep going. Bluto is correct, a boat across the water would be a nice trip but IMO, at this time of year, its a nice trip with a bird for the day, during the day and not that great to head over to at 6pm after work. The dunes are similar to Balmedie so its a nice walk round the national park but its not something I'd do myself for shits and giggles, ken fit like. Depending on how much time you have to get to Geleen I'd take the scenic route via Breda instead of heading through Eindhoven, just because its a nicer place to see and if you get a chance to stop for a couple of hours you can sit in the old town squares, drink coffee and watch the sexy Dutch students pass by. You could even go past my old haunt and Bluto's back garden, Den Haag and then Delft. Scheveningen beach is worth a drop by, club live is a decent stop off if its after 11pm and then Delft is a bonny wee place thats also full of sexy Dutch students.Aye, it's not the kindest of schedules. I'll take the scenic route back to the Dam as suggested.Have lots of hours to kill till my flight home to ABZ. I didn't see many sexy Dutch students last week.They were whizzing past too quickly on their push bikes. Saw a couple of tidy ones on that game show 'Lingo' though. Link to comment