granite sheep Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 Straight up question. Which pub in the toon does the finest: 1- Pint of Lager2- Pint of Export/Ale3- Best selection all around of drinks? For me, 1- Ferryhill Tavern, Tennents, cheap as chips and fine into the bargain2- The Stag (formerly The Star And Garter), Flying Scotsman is boss, their pints o Export are nae bad either.3- The Grill. Needs nae explanation. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 1 - The Rusty Nail. Not drunk lager for a long time but when I did the rusty was the best for a pint of tennents... saying that the vodka bar does imported Heineken so it may be up there as well2 - Brew Dog. I dont crave alcohol at all usually but I do get a punk craving on occasion so because of that it has to be the dog3 - Prince of Wales. Good few lagers, 80's and real ale. Good for early kick offs and because I care as much for whisky as I do for the general wellbeing of the noisy Polish cunt upstairs the grill doesnt hold the same attraction for me it does for others. Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 Had a few decent pints in The Stag and a recent visit to the Abergeldie was worthwhile.Abercrombie's McEwans export's good too. Link to comment
rgudon Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 braided fig does the best pint of peroni in aiberdeen Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 1 - Best pint of lager used to be in either The Bells or The Rosemount Bar - until it closed in January Pints in The Bells are still decent, although the best i've had of late was in The Spiders Web in Dyce Been drinking in the Stag alot lately The pints in there are quite good 2 - Don't know, but i'd imagine Under The Hammer, Prince of Wales or the Moorings for Ales 3 - Best selection of drinks can be found in The Prince of Wales, Justice Mill or The Moorings. Edit - Adam Lounge and Short Mile are good for pints too Awhat the fuvuk would you know yKnow you you little poof 2 Link to comment
double-claw Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 Stella from inn at the park, never been matched!Bon accord or nigg golf club if you like tennants. pipes cleaned every week helps! Link to comment
Jigot Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 I'm coming up at the end of the month to try the quality ales served in the 5 to 4 or 10 to 6 or whatever it's called.Is there a happy hour? As I will be driving I will be on the lookout for 2 for 1 shops and as the game will be more shiter than normal, the name of a good provider of wee white pills, or blue or anything that'll get me hame will be fine. Link to comment
weemackie Posted March 6, 2013 Share Posted March 6, 2013 Would agree with The Stag and Adam Lounge for best pints 1 Link to comment
granite sheep Posted March 7, 2013 Author Share Posted March 7, 2013 Also went to the Brentwood Hotel in Crown St, pricey, but decent ales. There pints were nae bad either. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 I'm coming up at the end of the month to try the quality ales served in the 5 to 4 or 10 to 6 or whatever it's called.Is there a happy hour? As I will be driving I will be on the lookout for 2 for 1 shops and as the game will be more shiter than normal, the name of a good provider of wee white pills, or blue or anything that'll get me hame will be fine.It's called the "524 Cocktail Lounge". I'm sure you'll find what you need there. The beer is more than drinkable. Mebbe keep your Jambo scarf in a pocket. HAppy hour? Every hour is happy hour in the 524. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Best pint though, Jimmy Black's in Culter. Usually nae bad for a story fae the barman too. Link to comment
Jigot Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 It's called the "524 Cocktail Lounge". I'm sure you'll find what you need there. The beer is more than drinkable. Mebbe keep your Jambo scarf in a pocket. HAppy hour? Every hour is happy hour in the 524. I could kill one right now cause A'hm fuckin choking! " Cocktail bar" ? Sounds like a gay bar but I'll try it anyway. What's the steaks like and are they decent? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 I could kill one right now cause A'hm fuckin choking! " Cocktail bar" ? Sounds like a gay bar but I'll try it anyway. What's the steaks like and are they decent?You'll be lucky if you get Scampi Fries or a packet of Dry Roasted Jigot, never mind a steak. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 It's called the '524' because it is on 524 George Street - just cut through Froghall to get to Pittodrie. I don't think I've ever seen anyone with a cocktail there - nae one you can drink anyway. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 braided fig does the best pint of peroni in aiberdeenOoooh peroni "look at me I drink Italian beer at 1 1 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Back on topic; Maybe a pint of Agnes fae The Grill's cum? Link to comment
Henry Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Ooooh peroni "look at me I drink Italian beer at 6 1 Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 The Foundry for me. My mates dad runs it & their Aiberdeen fans. Cheap pints. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Aitchies. Cracking pint in there. Blackdog is also a good pint. 2 Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Special mention also to the Prince of Wales, cant recall ever having a bad pint in there. Only thing I da like about that place is the toilets...reekin. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 1- Pint of Lager- Blackdog for me, i like dizzys too2- Pint of Export/Ale - Kirkgate bar3- Best selection all around of drinks? - Justice mill have good selection, sometimes i dont like drinking in there though! Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 1- Pint of Lager- Blackdog for me, i like dizzys too2- Pint of Export/Ale - Kirkgate bar3- Best selection all around of drinks? - Justice mill have good selection, sometimes i dont like drinking in there though! Its full of ugly folk and weirdos. I avoid it as I am incredibly good looking and not a weirdo. Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 1- Pint of Lager - Blackdog - Had 1 last night infact 2- Pint of Export/Ale - I wouldn't know 3- Best selection all around of drinks? Grill - Obvious reasons Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 1- Pint of Lager - Glentaner, recently rediscoved it. Even better than I remember is. 2- Pint of Export/Ale - Globe, normally only has 1 or 2 on, but always seem to pick a good one there. 3- Best selection all around of drinks - Moorings. Has something rediculous like 100 different Rums to choose from. They also serve Augustiner. Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Special mention also to the Prince of Wales, cant recall ever having a bad pint in there. Only thing I da like about that place is the toilets...reekin. Aye I quite like prince of Wales. Shame it's normally full of auld mannies though Link to comment
dave_min Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Aye I quite like prince of Wales. Shame it's normally full of auld mannies though You fool, that's one of the (many) reasons that it is good. Link to comment
K-9 Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 It's called the '524' because it is on 524 George Street - just cut through Froghall to get to Pittodrie. I don't think I've ever seen anyone with a cocktail there - nae one you can drink anyway.Seen folk come out with an umbrella in their heed though!! Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 Begging for a pint after reading through this Usually get a braw pint in the globe Link to comment
minijc Posted March 7, 2013 Share Posted March 7, 2013 No doubt you'll claim you were 'fishing'.I clearly was you gype and yet again you prove how sad you are, you hate a search eh, sad fuck! Aitchies is a cracking bar, I don't drink pints now though, especially that peroni stuff, over priced pish, however I love that Mexican bottled beer, Desperados, wonderful. Link to comment