Stoney Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Who shudders when I hear "We can still make top 6"? Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 No - hate hearing it - pathetic line of a desperate incompetent who knows he has already failed Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Just shows Broon's senile tendencies & idiotic thinking. Dis he nae realise there are 3 or 4 teams a fighting for 6th who are in better positions than us. 2 Link to comment
tup Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Probably boofon too, neither of you were going to check the score anyway. I say this on the basis that if you were to add an 'and' to the thread title, it would be an anagram of 'I Am The One And Only', a smash hit for Chesney Hawkes, who could have been boofon's identical twin brother, separated at birth. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Ironically, if results go our way, and with Dundee United not playing after the international break, AFC could be 6th after there next game,. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Who shudders when I hear "We can still make top 6"?I get all fired up and enthusiastic any time I hear it mentioned that, mathematically, we can still make Top 6 should a miracle on the scale of the parting of the Red Sea occur. I truly believe that a team that has won ONE game in 2013 can make top 6. I truly believe that. Link to comment
Henry Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Looks like you truly believe that Kelt. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I get all fired up and enthusiastic any time I hear it mentioned that, mathematically, we can still make Top 6 should a miracle on the scale of the parting of the Red Sea occur. I truly believe that a team that has won ONE game in 2013 can make top 6. I truly believe that.I know it's a sad state of affairs when we are clinging forlonly to the hope of being in the top half of a league of 12 just to get another game against motherwell and celtic etc. It's not a fucking trophy. It means a few quid more and a slightly better legacy for a departing manager that is all. We should not even have been close to not making the top 6 with our squad and we should still be in the cup as Hibs are rotten and should have been dispatched as should St Mirren in the league cup that night. I think what it makes it worse is for the first time in about 4 or 5 years I was actually looking forward to the season starting and genuinely thought we would do well. Next season will be better though !!! Link to comment
E-P-K Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Ironically, if results go our way, and with Dundee United not playing after the international break, AFC could be 6th after there next game,. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 agree that top 6 should not be the only aim but I'm not sure what the point is here. its all we have left to aim for now because we are out of both cups. the only hope of making it to a higher league position is to make it to the top 6 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Looks like you truly believe that Kelt. I clicked reply... nothing happened. I clicked reply again... nothing happened. I clicked reply again... it processed all three clicks. This is a forum-related problem... nothing Kelt can do except shrug and go, "Hey... three times the Kelt." I'm going to be lazy and do fuck all to edit multiple responses. That's how I'm going to roll. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Obviously as everyone is alluding to here the top 6 is not a great achievement. However while it is mathematically possible what is the problem with us saying it is still possible? For all the people who go on about negativity from AFC, you aren't much better if you give up when something is still achievable. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Obviously as everyone is alluding to here the top 6 is not a great achievement. However while it is mathematically possible what is the problem with us saying it is still possible? For all the people who go on about negativity from AFC, you aren't much better if you give up when something is still achievable. I think the point really is that at this stage of the season top six should have been nailed on quite some time ago. You don't see Motherwell getting all excited about putting on a good run and sneaking a top six result. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 I think the point really is that at this stage of the season top six should have been nailed on quite some time ago. You don't see Motherwell getting all excited about putting on a good run and sneaking a top six result. It should have been nailed on by now, I agree. Doesn't mean we shouldn't still believe we can get in to the top 6 now, because we can. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 18, 2013 Author Share Posted March 18, 2013 And then what? This league split is the stupidest in a long line of stupid ideas..........it gives people like Calderwood and Brown something to shout about when really they have accomplished the square root of feck all 1 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 This Top 6 pish means some extra money for the club and was set upas some form of honour by managers who failed to win a real honour.The sooner next season is here and we start afresh the better. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 And then what? This league split is the stupidest in a long line of stupid ideas..........it gives people like Calderwood and Brown something to shout about when really they have accomplished the square root of feck all I agree, the top 6 is a massive waste of time, particularly this season when 3rd-11th is so close. However the fact is a "journalist" (might be Charlie Allan!) will ask "do you think you can make the top 6?" , Brown will say "yes". Then you will get a headline saying "Brown focussed on top 6" or something as equally shit. The fact is we can still get in the top 6 and if we do we can still potentially finish in a european qualification place. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 That's how I see it. In a league where any real chance of silverware is divvied up between two teams (usually) and the rest of the league can fucking whistle, they create a split where all the dying teams can feel they've achieved something by finishing top 6 but, in reality, achieving and winning sweet fuck all. It's like the ribbon they give the retarded athletes. "Awwww... good job! Here's a ribbon that says 'I finished 6th'. See, you're a winzorz too!" Yaaay! Yaaaaaaaay! YAAAAAAAAAAAY! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Hahahaha. Yes, got to agree with you on that one Stoney. Its just wrong on so many levels. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 18, 2013 Share Posted March 18, 2013 Am I the only one who cringes when I realise we have only made the top 6 once since it was introduced - outwith the 5 years we chased Europe between 04/05 - 08/09 Link to comment