sheepiekev Posted March 28, 2013 Share Posted March 28, 2013 This was posted a couple of months back, but maybe of more relevance now that we have a new manager?One or two from the list may have already agreed deals elsewhere, or re-signed for their clubs, but most are still available. Which ones do we think are;- Possible- Realistic- Relative to St Johnstone, which ones are possible/beneficial CelticPaddy McCourt, Thomas Rogne.DundeeBrian Easton, Gary Irvine, Stephen O’Donnell, Mark Kerr, John Baird, Kevin McBride, Jim McAlister, Mark Stewart, Ryan Conroy, Nicky Riley, Neil McGregor, Steven Milne, Iain Davidson, Matt Lockwood, Carl Finnegan, Davide Grassi, Kyle Benedictus, Rab Douglas, Jamie McCluskey, Declan Gallagher, Martin Boyle, Graham Webster, Alex Baird.Dundee UnitedJon Daly, Willo Flood, Barry Douglas, Steve Banks.HeartsAndy Webster, Andy Driver, Darren Barr, Marius Zaliukas, Danny Grainger, Ryan McGowan, Dylan McGowan, Scott Robinson, Arvydas Novikovas, Kevin McHattie, Gordon Smith, Brad McKay, Dale Carrick, Jack Hamilton, Fraser Mullen.HibsDavid Wotherspoon, Lewis Stevenson, Ivan Sproule, Alan Maybury, Eoin Doyle, Pa Kujabi, Shefki Kuqi, Gary Deegan, Danny Galbraith, Sean Murdoch.InvernessNick Ross, Andrew Shinnie, Owain Tudur-Jones, Aaron Doran, Shane Sutherland, David Raven, Gavin Morrison, Ross Draper, Antonio Reguero, Gary Warren, Scott Mathieson.KilmarnockCammy Bell, Liam Kelly, Mohamadou Sissoko, Borja Perez, Garry Hay, James Dayton, Anssi Jaakkola, Ryan O’Leary, Danny Racchi, Kyle Letheren, William Gros.MotherwellJamie Murphy, Michael Higdon, Darren Randolph, Tom Hateley, Steven Saunders, Nicky Law, Chris Humphrey, Omar Daley, Robert McHugh, Simon Ramsden, Zaine Francis-Angol.Ross CountyRichard Brittain, Michael Fraser, Grant Munro, Paul Lawson, Mark Brown, Scott Boyd, Mihael Kovacevic, Iain Vigurs, Marc Fitzpatrick, Rocco Quinn, Stuart Kettlewell, Mark Fotheringham, Mark Corcoran, Sam Morrow, Alex Cooper, Steven Ross.St JohnstoneMurray Davidson, Craig Beattie, Dave MacKay, Liam Craig, Chris Millar, Rowan Vine, Callum Davidson, Kevin Moon, David McCracken, David Robertson, Gary Miller, Frazer Wright, Pat Cregg, Jonny Tuffey, Alan Mannus, Jamie Adams, Liam Caddis, Zander Clark.St MirrenPaul McGowan, Steven Thompson, Gary Teale, Craig Samson, David van Zanten, Marc McAusland, Graham Carey, Sam Parkin, Chris Smith, Graeme MacGregor. In my opinion; Ideal world; Randolph, Grainger (if fit?), Law, Shinnie, Higdon (I did say ideal world, as Law & Shinnie are unlikely)St Johnstone? Mannus & Davidson Link to comment
inverkipdons Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Has Shinnie not signed a pre-contract with Birmingham? Quite like wee Doran from Caley, could be good for creating goals and Vine at St Johnstone has bagged a few this season as well. We need to look at players who can chip in with the goal tally as we are far too reliant on McGinn. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 29, 2013 Author Share Posted March 29, 2013 Has Shinnie not signed a pre-contract with Birmingham? Quite like wee Doran from Caley, could be good for creating goals and Vine at St Johnstone has bagged a few this season as well. We need to look at players who can chip in with the goal tally as we are far too reliant on McGinn.you could be right - from memory he certainly talked to them, whether he signed I can't remember.....he was in the "ideal world" section, so never thought he was realistic anyway. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 That list is out of date Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 I would tak Andy Webster at the club an International CB who's a good commanding defender, who's very experienced also Cammy Bell & Andrew Shinnie. Surley on less wages than some of our players are on except Webster his wage may be a problem. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Randolph A.N OTHER CB Murray Davidson Chris Humphrey Michael Higdon This makings of good spine of a team. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Andy Webster a good CB. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 It's a pity the boy Goodwin is still under contract with St Mirren...hard bast*rd with plenty bite about the cu*t Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 It's a pity the boy Goodwin is still under contract with St Mirren...hard bast*rd with plenty bite about the cu*tAye seems to be liking it at St. Mirren like. Link to comment
BigAl Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 It's a pity the boy Goodwin is still under contract with St Mirren...hard bast*rd with plenty bite about the cu*t As long as we continue to have players like him plying their trade in Scottish League football our game will not move forward. 1 1 Link to comment
altogi Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Would like any of the following Paddy McCourtAndrew ShinnieCammy BellJamie MurphyMichael HigdonTom HateleyDarren RandolphAndy Webster Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Lot of good player on that list Realistically though who could we get? Doubt a player like higdon would come up here, dont think hes a terribly good player but van zanten at full back always seems steady! 1 Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 We'll offer better wages than most probably bar Celtic so you never know. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Would like any of the following Tom Hateley I doubt it Lots of good players out of contract although I imagine most of the ones we'd be looking at to improve our team will want a crack at the holy grail that is League 1 Football in England. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Could do with a new left back. Naysmith is always injured and when he does play looks past it. Robertson either isn't ready to play every game or just isn't good enough. I'd take Easton from Dundee, Douglas from United or Grainger from Hearts. Link to comment
Ingolfsson Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Would like any of the following Paddy McCourtAndrew ShinnieCammy BellJamie MurphyMichael HigdonTom HateleyDarren RandolphAndy Webster Joined Sheff Utd in January. Otherwise, from your list I'd take Randolph, Webster, McCourt, Higdon and Shinnie. Bell has never impressed me, and can't be fucked cheering on anyone called Hateley. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 McCourt is pish. I'd take any goalie from that list as they're guaranteed to better than what we have except Douglas. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 Our strongest 11 is pretty good I reckon, although there is one GLARING weakness Priority should be replacing langers - that's an extra 10 points a season if replaced with the likes of Randolph We should probably get a few players that can score from midfield and a new strike partner for McGinn (Although I'd like to see Smith, McManus given a chance) A new LB to replace the ever-injured Naysmith, too. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 29, 2013 Author Share Posted March 29, 2013 That list is out of dateDidn't you read the OP?I said that.It's 90% accurate Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted March 29, 2013 Share Posted March 29, 2013 That list is out of dateDidn't you read the OP?I said that.It's 90% accurateI did but i would say more 85% accurate Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 30, 2013 Share Posted March 30, 2013 This was posted a couple of months back, but maybe of more relevance now that we have a new manager?One or two from the list may have already agreed deals elsewhere, or re-signed for their clubs, but most are still available. Which ones do we think are;- Possible- Realistic- Relative to St Johnstone, which ones are possible/beneficial CelticPaddy McCourt, Thomas Rogne. DundeeBrian Easton, Gary Irvine, Stephen O’Donnell, Mark Kerr, John Baird, Kevin McBride, Jim McAlister, Mark Stewart, Ryan Conroy, Nicky Riley, Neil McGregor, Steven Milne, Iain Davidson, Matt Lockwood, Carl Finnegan, Davide Grassi, Kyle Benedictus, Rab Douglas, Jamie McCluskey, Declan Gallagher, Martin Boyle, Graham Webster, Alex Baird. Dundee UnitedJon Daly, Willo Flood, Barry Douglas, Steve Banks. HeartsAndy Webster, Andy Driver, Darren Barr, Marius Zaliukas, Danny Grainger, Ryan McGowan, Dylan McGowan, Scott Robinson, Arvydas Novikovas, Kevin McHattie, Gordon Smith, Brad McKay, Dale Carrick, Jack Hamilton, Fraser Mullen. HibsDavid Wotherspoon, Lewis Stevenson, Ivan Sproule, Alan Maybury, Eoin Doyle, Pa Kujabi, Shefki Kuqi, Gary Deegan, Danny Galbraith, Sean Murdoch. InvernessNick Ross, Andrew Shinnie, Owain Tudur-Jones, Aaron Doran, Shane Sutherland, David Raven, Gavin Morrison, Ross Draper, Antonio Reguero, Gary Warren, Scott Mathieson. KilmarnockCammy Bell, Liam Kelly, Mohamadou Sissoko, Borja Perez, Garry Hay, James Dayton, Anssi Jaakkola, Ryan O’Leary, Danny Racchi, Kyle Letheren, William Gros. MotherwellJamie Murphy, Michael Higdon, Darren Randolph, Tom Hateley, Steven Saunders, Nicky Law, Chris Humphrey, Omar Daley, Robert McHugh, Simon Ramsden, Zaine Francis-Angol. Ross CountyRichard Brittain, Michael Fraser, Grant Munro, Paul Lawson, Mark Brown, Scott Boyd, Mihael Kovacevic, Iain Vigurs, Marc Fitzpatrick, Rocco Quinn, Stuart Kettlewell, Mark Fotheringham, Mark Corcoran, Sam Morrow, Alex Cooper, Steven Ross. St JohnstoneMurray Davidson, Craig Beattie, Dave MacKay, Liam Craig, Chris Millar, Rowan Vine, Callum Davidson, Kevin Moon, David McCracken, David Robertson, Gary Miller, Frazer Wright, Pat Cregg, Jonny Tuffey, Alan Mannus, Jamie Adams, Liam Caddis, Zander Clark. St MirrenPaul McGowan, Steven Thompson, Gary Teale, Craig Samson, David van Zanten, Marc McAusland, Graham Carey, Sam Parkin, Chris Smith, Graeme MacGregor. In my opinion; Ideal world; Randolph, Grainger (if fit?), Law, Shinnie, Higdon (I did say ideal world, as Law & Shinnie are unlikely)St Johnstone? Mannus & DavidsonYeah they would all enhance our squad as would most of the motherwell players on the list. Re Paddy McCourt I think he is a luxury player a club like celtic can afford to take a gamble on we need players that will put in a shift every week and for 6 months of the year that will involve running on a farmer's field of a home pitch.McCourt is a million miles away from that type of player and probably on much bigger wages than every other player we have. We pay approx £2k per week to senior players e.g. Milsom so losing him and Osborne who will be on a similar wage should give us a decent budget to get attack minded midfielders and a full back. That's the areas I would concentrate on.... plus a goalie oh and a striker. Fuck that's nearly half a team.Webster is class but again too expensive especially considering centre backs are probably the area of the team we have best covered and certainly not been our weak link this season. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 30, 2013 Author Share Posted March 30, 2013 Won't happen, but if 5 or so are to go, sign these 4;Grainger if gets fit after his knee injury, Law, Davidson & Higdon Langfield Shaugnessy Anderson Reynolds Grainger Jack Davidson Law McGinn Higdon Hayes 1 Link to comment
Monkey Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 Andy Webster a good CB.However with his injury record and our injury record he'd spend all his time using Naysmith's spot on the treatment table. Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 shows how shit this league has become when such a despicably shit player as Higdon can be top scorer, and sad times for us when he would probably actually improve our team. also sad times when anyone thinks we need Goodwin, just cos hes hard and gets aboot disna take away fae the fact hes a terrible player. i kane wer shit but we'll never be that bad. theres loads id take from that list but the ones i think we should deffo look into (knowing we wont get them all of course) are:Shinnie, Tudor-Jones, Doran, Hately, Law, Davidson, Webster, McGowan, Douglas, and basically any of the keepers. preferrably Regeuro or Randolph. Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 shows how shit this league has become when such a despicably shit player as Higdon can be top scorer, and sad times for us when he would probably actually improve our team. also sad times when anyone thinks we need Goodwin, just cos hes hard and gets aboot disna take away fae the fact hes a terrible player. i kane wer shit but we'll never be that bad. theres loads id take from that list but the ones i think we should deffo look into (knowing we wont get them all of course) are:Shinnie, Tudor-Jones, Doran, Hately, Law, Davidson, Webster, McGowan, Douglas, and basically any of the keepers. preferrably Regeuro or Randolph.Supposed to be signing a pre-contract with Killie, to replace the hunward bound Bell. Link to comment
zerodon47 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 shows how shit this league has become when such a despicably shit player as Higdon can be top scorer, and sad times for us when he would probably actually improve our team. also sad times when anyone thinks we need Goodwin, just cos hes hard and gets aboot disna take away fae the fact hes a terrible player. i kane wer shit but we'll never be that bad. theres loads id take from that list but the ones i think we should deffo look into (knowing we wont get them all of course) are:Shinnie, Tudor-Jones, Doran, Hately, Law, Davidson, Webster, McGowan, Douglas, and basically any of the keepers. preferrably Regeuro or Randolph.Supposed to be signing a pre-contract with Killie, to replace the hunward bound Bell. ah right never knew. hopefully we can offer Randolph a decent package then! if nae then am sure there are a few keepers fae league 1 & 2 that are out of contract that are more reliable than langfield. same goes with europe, altho il never expect us to sign a decent unknown from europe, pathetic scouting. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 Won't happen, but if 5 or so are to go, sign these 4;Grainger if gets fit after his knee injury, Law, Davidson & Higdon Langfield Shaugnessy Anderson Reynolds Grainger Jack Davidson Law McGinn Higdon Hayes I mind thinking Higdon looked decent against us for Falkirk and St Mirren. Mind him scoring a peach the only time I've been to Falkirk's ground. Should have snapped him up ages ago when he'd have been cheaper. A lot of decent players have passed us by over the years. Not even under the radar. Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 How can the rangers still manage to thrash out deals to sign players on pre-contracts when they are on an embargo? Is this allowed? Well clearly it is to them and no one has tasked anyone with it, but it really shouldn't be. They should be made to wait and then get the dregs of society AFTER everyone else has done their business in the market. All pre-contract offers are starting after 1st of Sept and they have no embargo at that point. Can't say I agree with it but hey-ho Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 its a joke punishment. they were able to sign players that are afr too good for the third division and they are again going to sign SPL quality players for their 2nd division campaign. some punishment that eh? Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 A few saying they'd be willing to take Webster, I certainly wouldn't. Not many jambos seem to rate him anymore. A shadow of the player he used to be seemingly. Don't think we need a centre half anyway, got four options there: Anderson, Considine, Reynolds and Shaughnessy. One player I wouldn't mind us taking from Tynecastle though is Danny Grainger. No chance Naysmith will have his contract renewed, so that means Robertson is the only 'natural' left back we have. A few jambos disappointed they can't keep him on, and he seemed to be rated at St Johnstone as well. McInnes had him there, perhaps a player he is already thinking about. Would be a bit worried going into next season without another option there, as it would most likely mean Considine filling in if Robertson were to get injured. McCourt a possibility for a Ryan Fraser replacement. Struck me as very similar players, and we haven't replaced Fraser. Whilst money may be an issue with that one, it's not like he's done that well for Celtic so isn't going to be inundated with offers, and he need look no further than former teammate Niall McGinn, who I imagine will have had to settle for much less here than he was on at Celtic. Other issues with him though would be his willingness to track back and his fitness. Would welcome Higdon, but can see him getting a move to the Championship. Law would be fantastic, but looks Sevco bound. Link to comment