Ke1t Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Grandpa Broon claims to have left McInnes a 'legacy' at Aberdeen, but at first glance that appears to be a pretty extraordinary stretch of the definition of the word 'Legacy'. In goals we have a guy who'll be 34 this year. Prone to errors and disliked by a large section of the support. In reserve there is NO obvious replacement for the man called 'Clangers'. In defence we have our captain, Anderson, who'll be 35 this this year. Naysmith, who will also be 35 this year. That is an area of concern. Conso is as ready to fill Anderson's hole as he'll ever be, but he's no Russel Anderson. In midfield we have Gavin Rae, he'll be 36 this year. Hughes will be 31, and he seems to actually detract from the team's potential when he's playing. No Hughes in midfield and we never looked in danger against Hearts. Milsom, Pawlett, and Osbourne are perma-injured. Chris Clark is just plain fucking atrocious, and we're stuck with him for, what, another two years? Hayes offers the one potential bright spot for the midfield... a genuine attacking winger who likes to run at defences with paces and skill. In attack we have one genuine, quality forward in the shape of McGinn, whose contract will expire in about a year. I'm not confident he'll stay. We have Vernon who couldn't score in a brothel with a suitcase full of cocks, and Magennis, who may or may not be an attacker.... We've recently sold the brightest youngsters for sweeties, Brown being entirely incapable of persuading them to stay. We've finished 9th, 9th, and look likely to finish bottom 6 for the nth season in a row... we've made no finals under Brown, and we play a kind of ultra-cautious football where the team seems reluctant to go past the half way line, in a sort of Porterfield-Alex Miller-esque parody that bores the shit out of the few people who still bother watching the team. That's about as balanced a review of Brown's alleged 'legacy' that I can come up with. Anyone care to put the case for or against this legacy Brown speaks of? 8 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 He's good at blowing his own trumpet and has done that for years.I really don't see that he has left any legacy. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Can't argue with those facts Ke1t. Link to comment
ebbe Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 aye that's pretty accurate kelt. cammy smith and ryan jack are major plus points but surely craig brown can't take any credit for those two? his legacy should be "he's the cunt fa binned mackie." Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Good post Kelt.Dunno if Anderson is going to appreciate get his hole filled by a young man though :-p Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 His only legacy (and it's a pretty good one) is that he saved us from probable relegation when taking over from the fat oaf that preceeded him. He WAS the right appointment at the time, the only mistake was giving him a 2.5 year contract instead of an 18 month one, although he maybe insisted on that. I thank him for saving us from relegation and where we might've ended up had that happened. Thereafter, he was too defensive.Saturday was a barometer of where we should've been every week. That's as balanced as I can be. 1 Link to comment
NPRC Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 He essentially admits this himself towards the end of the same interview: "If nothing else, I've left Niall McGinn". So that's his legacy, our one decent player who will no doubt be offski when the first six figure bid comes in during the summer. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 1, 2013 Author Share Posted April 1, 2013 He essentially admits this himself towards the end of the same interview: "If nothing else, I've left Niall McGinn". So that's his legacy, our one decent player who will no doubt be offski when the first six figure bid comes in during the summer. So, after around five transfer windows and 2+ years of managing the team, Brown believes his legacy is nothing more than one good player who'll be gone in 12 months. I think, in that case, the correct phrase shouldn't have been, "I've left McInnes a legacy" but, "I've left McInnes with fuck all. Good luck with all of that, because you'll need it." Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Brown has left a better squad that he inherited but he certainly hasn't had a fucking clue what to do with the squad of players this season. Nothing is annoying me more right now than talk of how Craig Brown saved us from certain relegation!! They speak like we had 10 games left, rooted to the bottom, and Brown turned it around. Where as we were joint bottom in like Nov/Dec and won 2 games straight away which took us to about 5th! Brown hasn't been a complete disaster but he hasn't done a good job. 9th the season before he came in, 9th in his half season, 9th in his first full season and potentially on course for 9th this season. Progress. You can slate the top 6 all you like and speak like we are too big a club to be interested in the top 6 but the fact is that is where all the European places are and we've been nowhere near it recently. I hope to fuck McInnes sorts us the shite oot. Fuckin BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO COYR Link to comment
Mouse Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 United winning meaning the old cliche that Saturday is must win. Also relying on Killie to drop at least 4 points in their final 2 games. Fighting for top 6 but likely to miss out...that is Brown's legacy Link to comment
Liam Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 shit...St Johnstone just equalised Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 shit...St Johnstone just equalisedAnd here endeth the top 6 for us.No way Killie won't get three points against either St Mirren or Dundee. Shameful and embarrassing. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Brown's legacy is that we were sitting here hoping that Dundee United, Inverness, St Mirren and Dundee all did us favours to scrape a top 6 place! 3 Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 shit...St Johnstone just equalisedAnd here endeth the top 6 for us.No way Killie won't get three points against either St Mirren or Dundee. Shameful and embarrassing. Aye that's it definitely over now Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 shit...St Johnstone just equalisedAnd here endeth the top 6 for us.No way Killie won't get three points against either St Mirren or Dundee. Shameful and embarrassing.Ah well never mind, we can look forward to another 9th place finish, maybe that will be Brown's legacy, 9th three seasons in a row. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Mark Reynolds and Andy Considine are as good a central defence as their is in the SPL. He gave Joe Shaughnessey his debut and he looks promising. Ryan Jack is turning out to be a decent player. Gambled on Ryan Fraser, got us a not bad fee for him. Gave Cammy Smith a debut, shows promise. Masson, Jo Brown, Murray(?) all had debuts. Maggenis is better than he was 12 months ago. That's about it. 2 Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 The most annoying about this split pish is that we could conceivably be ONE point from 4th on Saturday....but can do fuck all about it in the last 5 games. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 Drinking wise the bottom 6 looks more appealing and I think that is what counts 1 Link to comment
essexdon Posted April 1, 2013 Share Posted April 1, 2013 he didnt give mackie a new contract Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 His "legacy" i'll remember him for is Niall McGinn a chance meeting that's defenatley signing o the season. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 Dinna go near the staff bogs at B&Q for the next wee whiley, I've just left a Brown Legacy of my own in there. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 Dinna go near the staff bogs at B&Q for the next wee whiley, I've just left a Brown Legacy of my own in there. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 2, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 2, 2013 There is no legacy.His tenure has been one of failure. His mates in the media and some in our support will say otherwise but ninth place in his first two seasons and he will leave us on Saturday in seventh, eighth or ninth.The wages of Langfield, Clark, Hughes and Naysmith could have been used on so much better than they are.Failure. End of. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 2, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 2, 2013 Mark Reynolds and Andy Considine are as good a central defence as their is in the SPL. He gave Joe Shaughnessey his debut and he looks promising. Ryan Jack is turning out to be a decent player. Gambled on Ryan Fraser, got us a not bad fee for him. Gave Cammy Smith a debut, shows promise. Masson, Jo Brown, Murray(?) all had debuts. Maggenis is better than he was 12 months ago. That's about it.Of that lot he was responsible for Reynolds coming to the club.On Saturday before the game he was bigging up Cammy Smith. "Best of the lot". Three minutes he got against Hearts.A dinosaur. Link to comment
Henry Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 he didnt give mackie a new contract That was an inspired piece of business by Brooner, getting rid of Mackie was nearly worth the 2.5 year contract. Well in Brooner. Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 Mark Reynolds and Andy Considine are as good a central defence as their is in the SPL. He gave Joe Shaughnessey his debut and he looks promising. Ryan Jack is turning out to be a decent player. Gambled on Ryan Fraser, got us a not bad fee for him. Gave Cammy Smith a debut, shows promise. Masson, Jo Brown, Murray(?) all had debuts. Maggenis is better than he was 12 months ago. That's about it. Dingus gave him his debut Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 He also got McGinn and Hayes in. Problem with all of the above (some good players and youngsters with promise) and these 2 players, he didn't have a clue what to do with them.Osborne and Milsom were both signed by Brown as well. Link to comment
Jute Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 Just spin from Brown. He has kept us up but thats it. Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 On about his legacy and the "solid foundations" he is leaving McInnes. Even went as far as naming Naysmith, Clark, Fallon and Hughes when they are fit as part of the solid spine for the team. Sad thing is he believes this which is a worry since going onto our board of directors who already suffer from a braindeadness lack of ambition. Link to comment
Redstar Posted April 2, 2013 Share Posted April 2, 2013 There is no legacy ...if Broon had spent half the effort he puts in to bumming himself up,into team selection and tactics (his job...which seems to have escape him) we would be 2nd , 3rd at worst....we employed a narcissict who saw the club as lucky to have him...it's a dreadful period in AFC history best left alone...I'm sure old Cragie will still mange to sandwich a couple of (un)funnies about the club into his dreadful after dinner speaking claptrap probably in between telling some hilarious tales about playing golf with his old mate Coisty...good riddance to bad rubbish ...that is now destined to litter the Board Room...he's like the old fool who doesn't know when to leave the party. 2 Link to comment