Tommy Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Craig Brown says in EE that it would be wrong to say the season had been a failureif we miss out on top 6.League placings don't tell the full story he says.Maybe we should appeal to the spl bosses and see if they'll give us a european placeas a consolation. Link to comment
tup Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 He is right though, there are some mitigating circumstances, we've been very unlucky on a number of occasions. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 The only way that league positions lie would be due to getting unfavourable decisions by referees meaning we are dropping points outside of our control. Being "unlucky" because of dominating and not scoring is just the way it is, you don't score you don't win. Link to comment
tup Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 We have indeed been done over on a number of occasions by the referee this season though. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 He's making himself (and the club) look foolish with shite like this. After 33 games if we're not in the top 6 it's down to us. End of story. 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 We have indeed been done over on a number of occasions by the referee this season though.True, but we've also missed a lot of opportunities in games that would have resulted in being top 6 comfortably. Fingers crossed Killie get humped tonight and on Saturday, then we hammer Dundee United so we don't have to worry about "the injustice" of not making top 6! Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 I think every team in the division could claim referee's have cost them points.He is bowing out looking like a fud. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 I hate Craig Broon, he's shit & that's all there is too it that's why we're in this predicament. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 The number of games where our keeper never had a save to make was incredible. Being fair, there were mitigating circumstances. - Chronic injuries from Nov to January. - We've had some horrendous refereeing costing us points and goals (A lot more bad than good decisions over the season. Don't give me that tired old cliche "they even themeselves out over the season" - not this season) That all said, the main reason we're not in the top 6 is the number of stupid 0-0's at home. Even converting two out of the six 0-0's at home would see us in the top 6 If four out of the six, and we're in the top 3 or 4. THAT is the reason we're not in the top 6. With the attitude of last Saturdays match shown in most matches, we'd have cruised the top 3 or 4 Link to comment
tup Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Winning breeds confidence though, it could be argued that crucial refereeing decisions have been the biggest pivotal factor in our drop down the table, as we've had maybe three or four unjust red cards for a start, as well as a number of goals chopped off and dodgy decisions on penalties. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Craig Brown is such a fucking dickhead. What shite he is speaking. Why are so many fans thanking him from taking us from 9th to 9th then still in 9th but the orange one is hated as if he relegated us Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Fuck Broon i booed him on Sat. 9th is unacceptable. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 were a far better side than we have been for 5 seasons, better football, beter structure to our play, when we take to the field I always think we have a chance to win. We all know CB management style was to keep clean sheets, he believed we had the fire-power to win anygame if we did not conceed a goal, unfortunatley that may have been his down fall in the 0-0 games we had at home. There is a no way anyone can fault the teams work ethic and commitment under him . Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Winning breeds confidence though, it could be argued that crucial refereeing decisions have been the biggest pivotal factor in our drop down the table, as we've had maybe three or four unjust red cards for a start, as well as a number of goals chopped off and dodgy decisions on penalties. I'd argue the biggest factor is Brown's own fault.iePersisting with an utter gluepot in goals. A licence to fritter points (and cup progress) away. 5 Link to comment
tup Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 There are a number of factors obviously, but this is a much better Dons team than was inherited. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 It's Craig Broon's fault he's paid to win matches & he's won 33% & we could still finish 9th, considering our budget & the players brought in it's an utter shambles end of. Craig Broon should hae played 4-4-2 a season nae his last game at Pittodrie. 2 Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 3, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 3, 2013 Craig Brown says in EE that it would be wrong to say the season had been a failureif we miss out on top 6.League placings don't tell the full story he says.Maybe we should appeal to the spl bosses and see if they'll give us a european placeas a consolation.What he meant was we have to also take into account our cup successes......No that can't be it. Fit ye saying Craigie Boy? Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 The thing is though, we could still make the top six. Granted it's a long shot, but possible. Don't give up hope yet fellas. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 3, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 3, 2013 We are where we are is largely down to Brown.Yes we have had bad ref decisions. We get them EVERY season.Langfield in goalChris ClarkNo Cammy SmithHughes4-5-1Langfield in goal These contributed hugely. Vernon in Midfield was also rubbish. No at the end of the day we are not in the top six sitting second because of Craig Brown. 1 Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 No just think Broon's reign is uninspiring & under achieved badly. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 I'd rather finish bottom 6 and play bigger teams and the league cup champions! Bizarrely I think the bottom half will test McInnes more. Couldn't care less about top half unless we qualified for Europe Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 There are a number of factors obviously, but this is a much better Dons team than was inherited. Agree on the 1st point. 2nd agree better, but "much" better is maybe streetching it.Certainly nae "much" better in terms o' league position (unless we sneak top 6), or cup performances. Link to comment
tup Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Broon has hardly been spectacular but I take his point when he says that he's done a lot of work fixing things that were going horribly wrong and he has left a decent legacy for the new boss. Link to comment
redone Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Broon talks shite Whether he's deluded or dishonest is debateable - either way I'm glad he's going and I'm looking forward to see how we got on with McInnes - nae my first choice , but certainly hasna deserved the negative reaction fae some quarters But I dinna think we can lay the blame for failing to make the Top 6 solely on Broon - the players are the main culprits in my book Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 It's Craig Broon's fault he's paid to win matches & he's won 33% & we could still finish 9th, considering our budget & the players brought in it's an utter shambles end of. Craig Broon should hae played 4-4-2 a season nae his last game at Pittodrie. Folk get too hung up on formations, must have two up front etc. It's more about attitude. A 4-2-3-1 for example can be attacking if the "3" properly support the striker. Not too many top teams play an out and out 4-4-2 nowadays - it's a variation of 4-3-3, 4-5-1 or 4-2-3-1As I say, it's more about the attitude and intent of the team. Link to comment
tup Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 So you're saying that Brown is negative sheepish? Pot, kettle, and black springs to mind here. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Broon talks shite Whether he's deluded or dishonest is debateable - either way I'm glad he's going and I'm looking forward to see how we got on with McInnes - nae my first choice , but certainly hasna deserved the negative reaction fae some quarters But I dinna think we can lay the blame for failing to make the Top 6 solely on Broon - the players are the main culprits in my book ^^ this mostly. it would appear the failure to make top 6 is due to a whole host of factors.. Brown, the players, bad ref decisions. the end result being, at the moment, the Dons finishing in the bottom 6. stop making excuses ffs. it's just embarrassing. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Winning breeds confidence though, it could be argued that crucial refereeing decisions have been the biggest pivotal factor in our drop down the table, as we've had maybe three or four unjust red cards for a start, as well as a number of goals chopped off and dodgy decisions on penalties. I'd argue the biggest factor is Brown's own fault.iePersisting with an utter gluepot in goals. A licence to fritter points (and cup progress) away.I'm with this. Yes we have had some awful reffeing decsions, but still, how many points has Clangers cost us? And no-one please say he's saved us too, he's done no more in making saves than could be expected from any goalie, and his howlers against Celtic and Utd have cost us 4 points on their own, never mind the intangibles of flapping at nearly every cross ball, and pushing out every shot rather than grabbing on to them. Then we get to his persistence with Hughes, Saturday showed just how wrong that was, but still he defended him in the press saying what a valueable contribution he was making. I guess not eh Craigy? So yes, some awful reffing decisions, but then you never criticise refs, Shiels does, and look how that turned out? So maybe we can even blame your attitude to officials, pressure the fuckers, don't pander to them. Sorry Craig, you've been no success at all I'm afraid. 3 Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 3, 2013 Share Posted April 3, 2013 Winning breeds confidence though, it could be argued that crucial refereeing decisions have been the biggest pivotal factor in our drop down the table, as we've had maybe three or four unjust red cards for a start, as well as a number of goals chopped off and dodgy decisions on penalties. I'd argue the biggest factor is Brown's own fault. ie Persisting with an utter gluepot in goals. A licence to fritter points (and cup progress) away. I'm with this. Yes we have had some awful reffeing decsions, but still, how many points has Clangers cost us? And no-one please say he's saved us too, he's done no more in making saves than could be expected from any goalie, and his howlers against Celtic and Utd have cost us 4 points on their own, never mind the intangibles of flapping at nearly every cross ball, and pushing out every shot rather than grabbing on to them. Then we get to his persistence with Hughes, Saturday showed just how wrong that was, but still he defended him in the press saying what a valueable contribution he was making. I guess not eh Craigy? So yes, some awful reffing decisions, but then you never criticise refs, Shiels does, and look how that turned out? So maybe we can even blame your attitude to officials, pressure the fuckers, don't pander to them. Sorry Craig, you've been no success at all I'm afraid. I'd say Brown's negative attitude and tactics have cost us a lot more than Jamie Langfield. Please don't take this as me supporting Langfield, as I'd like to get shot of him.... I just think some folk go OTT in their criticism of him, and apportion blame when they should look elsewhere first. Link to comment