Stoneybloke Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 The Loirston project, had it gone ahead, would have meant that the Dons might have been playing there in less than 18 months time as it was suggested that it would be ready for the start of the 2014/15 season. There seems to be nothing on the agenda now as regards any new stadium and training facility plans, and presumably the sale of PIttodrie has been put on hold. I'd guess now that is unlikely that anything will be ready for the next 5 years, and it could even be into the next decade before the club has modern up to date facilities. Will the "crumbling" Pittodrie last that long? We keep hearing that we are the 3rd biggest club in Scotland, but the deeds never seem to match the words. 1 1 Link to comment
dave_min Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 We keep hearing that we are the 3rd biggest club in Scotland, but the deeds never seem to match the words. Away and don't talk shite. We are by far the biggest team in Scotland, if not the world. Hun. 6 1 Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 4, 2013 Author Share Posted April 4, 2013 We keep hearing that we are the 3rd biggest club in Scotland, but the deeds never seem to match the words. Away and don't talk shite. We are by far the biggest team in Scotland, if not the world. Hun.Yeah, of course. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 We seem to have hit a massive brick wall re the stadium although I was under the impression that we're planning a joint venture with Cove and one of the Universities for Training facilities? Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 We keep hearing that we are the 3rd biggest club in Scotland, but the deeds never seem to match the words. Away and don't talk shite. We are by far the biggest team in Scotland, if not the world. Hun.Haha - superb - i like it. i actually went back to check who posted it!! Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 Fit aboot the bit at the other end of the Kings Links? Massive patch of ground doing fuck all. You could fit Camp Nou in there! https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=LORD+HAYS+COURT&ie=UTF-8&ei=hoVdUbvBGYip4gSouoGwDA&ved=0CAsQ_AUoAg There. We could even hae Pa Broon in Lord Hays Court and he'd just need to pop in for the games. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 The Loirston project, had it gone ahead, would have meant that the Dons might have been playing there in less than 18 months time as it was suggested that it would be ready for the start of the 2014/15 season. There seems to be nothing on the agenda now as regards any new stadium and training facility plans, and presumably the sale of PIttodrie has been put on hold. I'd guess now that is unlikely that anything will be ready for the next 5 years, and it could even be into the next decade before the club has modern up to date facilities. Will the "crumbling" Pittodrie last that long? We keep hearing that we are the 3rd biggest club in Scotland, but the deeds never seem to match the words. Last I heard, 'bout a month ago. Training:Negotiations at advanced stage with RGU for a base where the university will share facilities with AFC. Stadium:2 plots in the city and 2 plots in the 'shire (both just outside city limits) being considered additional to Loirston.Loirston is still the favoured location, given the cash and planning already invested thus far. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 I expect to see a statue of the great Craig Brown erected in front of the Zander Diamond Stand with "The man who left a legacy" chizzeled into a granite plaque standing proudly outside of the new stadium. At the other end of the stadium, just opposite the Nigel Pepper stand, there will be a large commemorate statue of the late Jimmy Calderwood. His face tinted with an orange glow, the statue commemorates his massively successfull time at Pittodrie. The words "FUCK ALL" have been immortalised at the bottom of the statue to signify the number of trophies and cup finals the great man won as a dons manager. It would bring a tear to a glass eye. 3 Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 4, 2013 Author Share Posted April 4, 2013 Last I heard, 'bout a month ago. Training:Negotiations at advanced stage with RGU for a base where the university will share facilities with AFC. Stadium:2 plots in the city and 2 plots in the 'shire (both just outside city limits) being considered additional to Loirston.Loirston is still the favoured location, given the cash and planning already invested thus far.So is there an appeal going on against the Loirston decision. I though it had been rejected by the council. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 I said from the very beginning that I'd believe we were actually planning to build a stadium at Loirston when the first bricks went down. As it was I never believed for a second that we would build a stadium there or anywhere else. The people running the club have far too rich a history of incompetence to allow something like a new stadium to happen. Personally I believe the only thing Milne and his dancing chimps on the board will achieve for Aberdeen is Administration. As mentioned there is an arseload of ground at the north end of the Kings Links, and Seaton Park is screaming out for development. You could build however big a stadium you wanted there, keep land for a small, well maintained park for the locals, AND still have all the amenities of an inner city stadium. Pubs, restaurants, parking, walking distance from city centre. It's fucking perfect. Seems odd that Milne can build his wretched flats all over the north east, but when it comes to building the stadium he suddenly hasn't a clue how to even buy up the land required to build the fucking thing. Call me cynical, but that seems mighty suspicious to me. Though, as I said, I don't believe there was ever any intention to develop Loirston. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 We will have a new stadium shortly for sure, sooner the better. NIMBY-ism is rife in a place chock full of snobs like Aberdeen, so it takes a bit longer. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 4, 2013 Share Posted April 4, 2013 We will have a new stadium shortly for sure, sooner the better. NIMBY-ism is rife in a place chock full of snobs like Aberdeen, so it takes a bit longer.That's not good news tup. The way your predictions/exclusives etc have gone recently, that means we'll be at Pittodrie for the next 50 years. 1 Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted April 5, 2013 Share Posted April 5, 2013 Nothing really seems to move on this situation and lets be honest its pretty depressing. Just another thing the board needs to get on top of pronto before the slide of this club gathers unstoppable speed. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted May 4, 2013 Share Posted May 4, 2013 Here's an idea for afc marketing, free consultancy right here. I watch mlb when I can, and what I've noticed is the following. san Francisco - major levi's sponsorPittsburgh - HeinzDetroit - ford not only mlb but nfl and probs nba and nhl (but nhl doesn't count ) so Aberdeen should get on the phone to the major Aberdeen firms for support, it makes total sense on so many levels. there you go, get a hot chick with a bit of savvy and send her round to meet the heid bummers. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted May 4, 2013 Share Posted May 4, 2013 here's one to start. get mackies to sell their wares outside, ice cream, crisps, Aberdeen angus burgers and shots of whisky! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted May 4, 2013 Share Posted May 4, 2013 Here's an idea for afc marketing, free consultancy right here. I watch mlb when I can, and what I've noticed is the following. san Francisco - major levi's sponsorPittsburgh - HeinzDetroit - ford not only mlb but nfl and probs nba and nhl (but nhl doesn't count ) so Aberdeen should get on the phone to the major Aberdeen firms for support, it makes total sense on so many levels. there you go, get a hot chick with a bit of savvy and send her round to meet the heid bummers. That's Angela's joab Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted May 4, 2013 Share Posted May 4, 2013 that's no ma joab has held Scotland back for decades. i'm going through it with Edinburgh council and Scottish water, it's pass the buck time with that pair. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 22, 2013 Share Posted June 22, 2013 Where are we with this? Has anyone with any contacts heard any rumblings about progress in determining a site or anything related to it that hasn't been for publicconsumption? Yes It's a slow day, hence me wondering. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 22, 2013 Share Posted June 22, 2013 I did hae an update in May (fae GY), but canna mind fit I said or far I said it. Dis that help? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted June 25, 2013 Share Posted June 25, 2013 Planning application in for 1000 homes on the Loirston site It's not SM Homes before anyone jumps to any conclusions... Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted July 1, 2013 Author Share Posted July 1, 2013 In another thread, Yule has been quoted as saying Pittodrie will be in use for another 5 years at least. When is the Aberdeen bypass due to be completed? Link to comment
RUL Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 It was about 15 years ago afc claimed the main stand would no longer be granted a safety license and indeed was costing hundreds of grand to maintain? 2 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 Afc should seriously be considering a hotel within the new stadium (or on same grounds at least) because it would easily cover it's own costs & mostlikely give the club a good bit of profit to play with & chuck at the youth system for example. Killie make good money from their hotel & that's in a shit hole of a place like Kilmarnock that would not always have it's hotel rooms being used, where as Aberdeen is always short of hotel space because of the oil industry.This is another good reason for Aberdeen to have their ground nearer the city centre than the outskirts added to the obvious reasons. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 Afc should seriously be considering a hotel within the new stadium (or on same grounds at least) because it would easily cover it's own costs & mostlikely give the club a good bit of profit to play with & chuck at the youth system for example. Killie make good money from their hotel & that's in a shit hole of a place like Kilmarnock that would not always have it's hotel rooms being used, where as Aberdeen is always short of hotel space because of the oil industry.This is another good reason for Aberdeen to have their ground nearer the city centre than the outskirts added to the obvious reasons.Aberdeen would make a killing if they included a Hotel.There's never enough rooms in Aberdeen.Offshore guys get put to Dundee for overnight stays when fogged on. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 Some of you still haven't figured out that the cake is a lie? There's no new stadium. Stop believing in fantastical Pixies. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 Some of you still haven't figured out that the cake is a lie? There's no new stadium. Stop believing in fantastical Pixies.It has to happen sometime cos Pittodrie is a fkn shocking ground.Not expecting it to happen anytime within the next 5 years but within the next 10 years is a realistic hope. You never know, Milne could be history within the next 5 years. So after that I see nothing but progress. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 the Donald should build it, only if he's allowed a massive statue of himself and a casino! Link to comment
Mouse Posted July 2, 2013 Share Posted July 2, 2013 It was about 15 years ago afc claimed the main stand would no longer be granted a safety license and indeed was costing hundreds of grand to maintain?I heard something similar, that as of this or next year the main stand will have to be shut unless modified as it won't get a fire safety certificate renewal, maybe all balls? Link to comment