jassb Posted April 12, 2013 Share Posted April 12, 2013 Cracking interview from Willie at the end of this. Lacks ambition though Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 13, 2013 Share Posted April 13, 2013 A ticket office that answers a phone. Well I never. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 13, 2013 Share Posted April 13, 2013 I was 14 and my folks were not rich enough to take me, You can blame Thatcher for that. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 13, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 13, 2013 I was 14 and my folks were not rich enough to take me, You can blame Thatcher for that. Correct. If she'd got in four years earlier they would have had the cash b Link to comment
essexdon Posted April 13, 2013 Share Posted April 13, 2013 i was lucky enough to go, was living in north germany so getting over was pretty easy. the atmosphere in the town was electric, beer was dear but didnt stop loads of folk getting hammered especially after the game. i didnt get to many of the big games in aberdeen or cup finals at the time so this was extra specialmy daughter was born 12 days later in germany so a month ill never forget Link to comment
The Lighthouse Posted April 14, 2013 Share Posted April 14, 2013 I was lucky enough to have been part of the "Crazy Navy" on the St. Clair. 5 days of absolute mayhem but without doubt the best trip ever. The return journey was brilliant (from what I can mind) and then meeting Fergie when we got back to Aberdeen just topped it off. I knew at the time it would probably be a once in a lifetime experience but never imagined some of the low points we were to witness in the next 30 years. Link to comment
alanm77 Posted April 14, 2013 Share Posted April 14, 2013 will always remember picking up the 6 pack of special brew at the airport on the way over. Grew up with Andy Watson as my neighbour in stockethill, somewhat disappointed he never got on the pitch, still great to see another Hilton Academy pupil put in the winner Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 14, 2013 Share Posted April 14, 2013 I mind the old man rushing in the living room "jesus Christ, they've done it" and handed me a kestrel lager! I told my primary school teacher, miss Cockburn (thinking back, she was fit), that I went. so she asked my mum what the trip was like?! busted. Link to comment
oilcat Posted April 15, 2013 Share Posted April 15, 2013 I'd been to every domestic away game that season and was royally skint plus the fact I'd no long started a new job so I couldnt go Watched the game in The Copper Beech where they installed a new fangled big screen telly.........what a night.......canna remember how I managed to walk hame fae Garthdee to Kincorth but it was via the toon!! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 15, 2013 Share Posted April 15, 2013 Sounds like an absolutely astonishing night. I would have loved to have been old enough to appreciate it. I wasn't old enough to walk, let alone stagger from a pub! Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 16, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 16, 2013 Sounds like an absolutely astonishing night. I would have loved to have been old enough to appreciate it. I wasn't old enough to walk, let alone stagger from a pub! A once in a lifetime opportunity, never to be repeated. Hundreds of clubs, big and small never achieved what those guys did. It's not a millstone around anyone's neck, simply a great achievement which should never be forgotten. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 16, 2013 Share Posted April 16, 2013 That's what makes you proud to support AFC, probably will be the last Scottish club to win a European trophy. We are famous Aberdeen. Link to comment
Tommy Posted April 16, 2013 Share Posted April 16, 2013 That's what makes you proud to support AFC, probably the last Scottish club to win a European trophy. We are famous Aberdeen. Nae probabably about it. We were. ;-) Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 16, 2013 Share Posted April 16, 2013 Amazed the old firm have both made it to finals, doubt this will be seen again. Unless of course they let us play in it again! Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted April 16, 2013 Share Posted April 16, 2013 Nae probabably about it.We were. ;-)Meant to say probabably will be the last Scottish team to win a European trophy. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted April 16, 2013 Share Posted April 16, 2013 Package we were on flew from Dyce and accommodation was on board a ferry. A party ensued in oor cabin where everyone brought their Blue label vodka and Carslberg special carry oot purchased at Aberdeen duty free. What was the duty free shoppie thinkin o'? I had such a hangover the day after the game that when we got home I went hame to my bed and missed the parade doon Union Street. I think that parade was one of the most joyous occasions ever in Aberdeen. The wife and kids were there and I was in bed. Having watched the recordings of it many times, I always wondered if anyone in Aberdeen watched the delayed movie on STV that night The Domino Principle. Link to comment
anderson72 Posted April 16, 2013 Share Posted April 16, 2013 My dad took me to the semi final game against Waterschi, beat them 5-1 and we just seemed to be unbeatable.Watched the final on the TV with my dad, very nervous during the match and at one time Real Madrid seemed to have scored late on, but the ball went rolling by the post.Don't think we would have won, if it wasn't for all the rain at the time of the match, but amazing time to be a Dons fan. The next day we went on a trip to the Bucksburn Police station with the Primary school, and amazed at all the cars beeping their horns at us on the way back on the bus to Skene Square school, thinking we had just come back from Gothenburg.A few days later we beat Rangers in the Scottish cup by a single goal, with Alex Ferguson going mental on the TV afterwards, about how bad our performance was during the game. Good Days Link to comment
MichtyMeMin Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 I think the neutral Swedes (and the Real Madrid fans) thought we were going to get thrashed until they realised how good we were. Stayed in a place called Boras which was well outside Gothenburg. It was a terrific time,got off the plane in time to get into town and see the parade down Union Street, never seen the place like it and probably never will again.If you're going to beat a team in a European final, it just has to be Real Madrid, that and the Bayern Munich match, it was like something out of "Roy of the Rovers". Happy Days!!!! Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 17, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 17, 2013 My dad took me to the semi final game against Waterschi, beat them 5-1 and we just seemed to be unbeatable.Watched the final on the TV with my dad, very nervous during the match and at one time Real Madrid seemed to have scored late on, but the ball went rolling by the post.Don't think we would have won, if it wasn't for all the rain at the time of the match, but amazing time to be a Dons fan. The next day we went on a trip to the Bucksburn Police station with the Primary school, and amazed at all the cars beeping their horns at us on the way back on the bus to Skene Square school, thinking we had just come back from Gothenburg.A few days later we beat Rangers in the Scottish cup by a single goal, with Alex Ferguson going mental on the TV afterwards, about how bad our performance was during the game. Good DaysIf we'd played them on the moon we would have won. Link to comment
anderson72 Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 My dad took me to the semi final game against Waterschi, beat them 5-1 and we just seemed to be unbeatable.Watched the final on the TV with my dad, very nervous during the match and at one time Real Madrid seemed to have scored late on, but the ball went rolling by the post.Don't think we would have won, if it wasn't for all the rain at the time of the match, but amazing time to be a Dons fan. The next day we went on a trip to the Bucksburn Police station with the Primary school, and amazed at all the cars beeping their horns at us on the way back on the bus to Skene Square school, thinking we had just come back from Gothenburg.A few days later we beat Rangers in the Scottish cup by a single goal, with Alex Ferguson going mental on the TV afterwards, about how bad our performance was during the game. Good DaysIf we'd played them on the moon we would have won. Nae a good idea, there would be nae atmosphere. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 17, 2013 Share Posted April 17, 2013 My dad took me to the semi final game against Waterschi, beat them 5-1 and we just seemed to be unbeatable.Watched the final on the TV with my dad, very nervous during the match and at one time Real Madrid seemed to have scored late on, but the ball went rolling by the post.Don't think we would have won, if it wasn't for all the rain at the time of the match, but amazing time to be a Dons fan. The next day we went on a trip to the Bucksburn Police station with the Primary school, and amazed at all the cars beeping their horns at us on the way back on the bus to Skene Square school, thinking we had just come back from Gothenburg.A few days later we beat Rangers in the Scottish cup by a single goal, with Alex Ferguson going mental on the TV afterwards, about how bad our performance was during the game. Good DaysIf we'd played them on the moon we would have won.That's pie in the sky. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 17, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 17, 2013 My dad took me to the semi final game against Waterschi, beat them 5-1 and we just seemed to be unbeatable.Watched the final on the TV with my dad, very nervous during the match and at one time Real Madrid seemed to have scored late on, but the ball went rolling by the post.Don't think we would have won, if it wasn't for all the rain at the time of the match, but amazing time to be a Dons fan. The next day we went on a trip to the Bucksburn Police station with the Primary school, and amazed at all the cars beeping their horns at us on the way back on the bus to Skene Square school, thinking we had just come back from Gothenburg.A few days later we beat Rangers in the Scottish cup by a single goal, with Alex Ferguson going mental on the TV afterwards, about how bad our performance was during the game. Good DaysIf we'd played them on the moon we would have won. Nae a good idea, there would be nae atmosphere.Ye mean a bit like Parkhead? Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted April 18, 2013 Share Posted April 18, 2013 Bastard year to have exams so old man didn't let me go (these were the days fan a 16yo did fit he was telt!). In fairness what I can only assume as a sympathy vote he didn't go either plus money was obviously an issue. He tried to go to the semi (might have been QF?) as I recall but couldn't get a ticket. Went to the Sion game on my birthday. He told me years later that he had made provisional bookings for 84 (money was still tight but fuck it) if we got through the semis. Arse! Went some way to making up for disappointment by surprising me with cup final tickets for Celtic. GIRFUY T!Ms. Roy Aitken, whatever happened to him eh! Link to comment