% Of Supporter's Per City / Town

Posted this on Pie & Bovril:

Just did a simple calculation, taking the average attendances this season and dividing them by the population (taken from Wikipedia so some are 2001 as opposed to 2011).

Average Attendance % of population

Ross County 4319 85.9%

Motherwell 5097 16.8%

Kilmarnock 4818 10.8%

St Johnstone 3794 8.5%

Celtic 45848 7.7%

Inverness CT 4067 7%

St Mirren 4418 6%

Dundee United 7544 4.8%

Aberdeen 9753 4.4%

Dundee 6024 3.8%

Hearts 12811 2.6%

Hibernian 10762 2.1%

Combining the two Dundee and Edinburgh teams, then taking the population of Ross & Cromarty instead of Dingwall for Ross County gives this:

Average Attendance % of population

Motherwell 5097 16.8%

Kilmarnock 4818 10.8%

Dundee & DU 13568 8.6%

Ross County 4319 8.6% (Ross & Cromarty)

St Johnstone 3794 8.5%

Celtic 45848 7.7%

Inverness CT 4067 7%

St Mirren 4418 6%

Hearts & Hibs 23573 4.7%

Aberdeen 9753 4.4%

In the grand scheme of things we are pretty much rock bottom. Is this purely Milne's inept stewardship and years of failure? If this because Aberdeen isn't a "footballing city"? Is it a combination of both?

Bit of both.

Even in the halcyon days of the 1980's, our support was relatively poor considering the success the team delivered.

Really interesting statistics. Agree with Kev.... I just don't think Aberdeen has ever really bought into its football team. Even in the glory days.

Does this statistic include aberdeenshire too? Where traditionally we draw a strong support? If so, you might even find those figures even lower!!

Interesting read. I don't think Aberdonians are less interested in football than any other part of the country, I think it's just we expect better and I think we're perfectly entitled to do so.

The atmosphere at games needs to be improved so that going to the football is an enjoyable experience rather than a negative one. Sometimes it's boring as fuck going to Pittodrie and if we're not competing for anything and we're not in danger of going down then we're basically playing for nothing but to fulfil a fixture list. The football's so bad at times that sometimes it'll get to the 2nd half in games and you'll be looking at your watch to see how long until the ref puts everyone out of their misery or you won't be caring which team scores, you'd just like to see a goal or something exciting happen. On top of that you've parted with over £20 for the whole experience and if you work all week, you want to make the most of a Sat afternoon. It comes a time when you ask yourself why would you put yourself through that and then you decide to stop going. Fans support the club through thick and thin but people can only take so much when they've continually been paying for something that they get little joy out of and is more than often painful at times.

Basically the fans want to be entertained and want to see the club compete for silverware. I don't think that's too much to ask.

Aberdeen has never had attendances that they merit, even when playing well and winning stuff. For whatever reason the NE doesn't get into fitba as a whole.

I think that is further muddied now by since the 90s more and more glory hunting twats from the NE supporting the Old Firm when they have absolutely no affiliation for it. Family history or background... yeah fair enough but far too many "Fit like?" types supporting them for the wins.

Just thinking of examples I know personally. All my cousins that I know their fitba tastes... none support Aberdeen, but all bar 1 don't follow fitba at all. The one... he's a bloody Tim - with zero reason to be.

Bit of both.

Even in the halcyon days of the 1980's, our support was relatively poor considering the success the team delivered.

Really interesting statistics. Agree with Kev.... I just don't think Aberdeen has ever really bought into its football team. Even in the glory days.

Does this statistic include aberdeenshire too? Where traditionally we draw a strong support? If so, you might even find those figures even lower!!

SOTR....not forgetting the Central Belt/weegies that tup speaks so highly of.

Without them, our away support would be poor, not the acclaimed support that it generally is in the media

The support is there. The potential is there.

I agree, and there are occasions when it has been amply demonstrated. But unfortunately they have been rare and it has never been sustained. One memorable game was a 44,000 midweek attendance in 1967 against Hibs in a cup replay, and that was well before the "glory" days.

Incidentally when was the last all ticket non-European game at Pittodrie?

I agree, and there are occasions when it has been amply demonstrated. But unfortunately they have been rare and it has never been sustained. One memorable game was a 44,000 midweek attendance in 1967 against Hibs in a cup replay, and that was well before the "glory" days.

Last all ticket game? Surely against the Dhims in November 2012

Was there ever a time when there were regular all ticket games against non-OF opposition.

No matter how you dress it up, taking the average attendance of a game of football and dividing it by what is essentially, a random number, is about as pointless a statistic as you get.

:laughing: May I ask, just how is it a random number?

Take for example Cove.

I'm willing to bet that the population on Cove is included.

Surely these people should be Cove fans, not Aberdeen ones.

Then take Kincorth/Torry, neither are in Cove but Cove would be closer to them then Pittodrie.

How many of the people in Cove were born there? How many moved to Cove?

It also uses old population data.

No matter how you dress it up, taking the average attendance of a game of football and dividing it by what is essentially, a random number, is about as pointless a statistic as you get.

Take for example Cove.

Then take Kincorth/Torry, neither are in Cove but Cove would be closer to them then Pittodrie.

Where do you stop though? Wouldn't Kincorth and Torry be closer to Banks O Dee and Sunnybank for those living in Northfield?

Remember Edinburgh also takes in a huge catchment area also, a lot of these teams benefit from being near to each other in turn giving them larger away crowds.

Often wonder if our support is lower because of the amount of guys offshore/working abroad.

I was just going to make that point, must have some bearing on it. Dunno if they still do it, but at one point folk who worked offshore could buy a 10 game season ticket, so even the club recognised this fact.

Take for example Cove.

Where do you stop though? Wouldn't Kincorth and Torry be closer to Banks O Dee and Sunnybank for those living in Northfield?

As we're looking at statistics here, you stop when the statistic backs up what you want to say.

KC would definitely be a Banks O'Dee stronghold, whereas Torry would probably need split down the middle between the 2.

I'd also discount all of (glorious) Bridge of Don as all Wilson's XI Fans.

Taking the remaining 46,400 population of Aberdeen, and our average crowd of 9,753, then it clearly shows that with 21.0% of the population turing up on average, we are by far the greatest team, the world has ever seen.

#coyr

Too cold, too expensive, poor product, the support is still there just things need to change.

Summer fitba would get the crowds back big time, and no one should be paying more than a 20 note to watch what we currently have.

In the 80's you could sit where you liked, all the singers/mob sat together and the atmosphere was amazing, that rubbed off on the whole place, numbered seating has killed that, you should have a season ticket for a stand not a seat, sit where you like.....with your pals.

All kids under 12 should be free, no questions, they're the future.

If the people running the club had a bit of pride or self respect then they wouldn't settle for piss poor managers or plahers.

As it is, AFC is the footballing equivalent of a beggar on Union Street.

The club accepts managers failing to stand up for the players. I can't remember Brown once trying to protect Ryan Fraser.

The club accepts managers saying they'd rather be at Celtic. McGhee should have had his contract terminated on the spot.

The club accepts players openly supporting rival teams. Zanders Celtic themed birthday party was just great.

The club has a history of chasing after mediocre players who simply lead the club on, treating us like a safety net, then having to scramble for shirt fillers when we're eventually, inevitably told to fuck off..Record defeats domestically and in Europe, no problem....manager misses work because he's too pished to come in on a match day, carry on.... player acts like a cunt because he wants to play for the Huns, still first team regular years later...The list of allowing shameful, classless, jakey behaviour at the club goes on and on.... there's less self respect at Pittodrie than at a dossers pish up.... and it comes from the top.

I 100% agree with all that kelt, under Fergie diamond would have been out on his arse after his birthday stunt. We're fucking Aberdeen, if the players don't respect that it's no surprise we are where we are.

When I go to the likes of Glasgow or Edinburgh to support my team I always have a swagger to say I'm better than any of you, Fergies team had that same attitude.

In reality i'm no better or worse than any other person but step off that train in Glasgow and for that few hours I feel like I am, I'm fucking Aberdeen and don't you forget it, :)

Statistics and damn lies.

Massively flawed figures in my view.

For example the ferries from Ireland for each Bigotfest are full, so the Glasgow number heads south. Considering we all have seen bigot buses heading south as well also hits Glasgow numbers.

Additionally and as an example, how many Dons fans were in the crowd at Dingwall this season? How many Ross County fans were at Pittodrie? Average gates enhanced and hit in both examples.

Regardless of the actual figures, it's just another indication that we're under achieving on the park and we have a very underwhelming attendance figure for the size of the city and en-catchment.

I don't believe this is just an Aberdeen FC problem though, this stems from the overall product which is Scottish Football which is at a massive low point right now. We aren't helping ourselves by being pish in a pish league, but the overall figures in Scottish Football would rise if the product was better.

It's something that's been talked to death about though, nothing new has come out of these figures other than another statistic proving how low we've fallen.

Too much competition here,

We have almost 20 golf courses within a 10 mile radius,

We have 20 Bowling clubs in the same

We have 3 public swimming pools

We have 2 huge public parks

We have 4 cinemas

We have a theatre

We have 6 shopping centres

We have cadonas

We have an outdoor ski centre

We have 2 indoor ice centres

Theres is just far too much options / competition for us to compete at £23 a ticket....

We have 4 cinemas

We have a theatre

We have cadonas

Theres is just far too much options / competition for us to compete at £23 a ticket....

Same as every city then.

We have 4 cinemas

We have a theatre

We have cadonas

The one one our of those you have listed that will prevent any guy from going to the football is the golf courses.

"you going to the Dons game the day?"

"Nah, i'm going Ice Skating" :gay::gay::gay:

We have 4 cinemas

We have a theatre

We have cadonas

The one one our of those you have listed that will prevent any guy from going to the football is the golf courses.

"you going to the Dons game the day?"

"Nah, i'm going Ice Skating" :gay::gay::gay:

Parents take their kids ice skating, our whole football team went to dyce on a saturday after our game! Was Cheaper for the school giving us a group booking there than it was taking us to pittodrie!