The Afterlife!

daytripping

following on from my highly successful last supper topic I've now been thinking what would happen after you pass. I'm not expecting it to happen but just in case there is one and you get asked how you would like to live on what would you choose?

It could be reappearing as a baby again or becoming any animal or bird in the whole World.

I've thought long and hard about this, a good 5 minutes anyway, I want to come back as a budgie, how stress free would that be, no hassle getting food or water as your owner would feed you, you'd be able to watch tv, play with your bell, sleep standing up and best of all look in your mirror for hours a day.

it would be the perfect life for me.

As before a cyber pint goes to the winner for the best afterlife choice. :)

My 2c on this...

People are merely the result of biochemical and electrical reactions. Remarkably complex biochemical and electrical reactions, but essentially we're a form of advanced life which, at its root, is little different to the first predatory single-celled organisms that populated rock pools some 3 billion years ago. We're a little further along the evolutionary chain than pond scum or rock fungus, but no-one reckons a mushroom, a bacteria or a slime mould has a soul or a higher purpose or a shot at reincarnation, and there's no reason to think that more complex life-forms like ourselves have souls, higher purpose or reincarnation either.

When we die we decompose into our component cells. Everything retained in our brains dies, that means our memories, our personalities, our skills, everything.

The water in our bodies evaporates, the cells that comprise our bodies turn to dust, and that's all there is to it.

There's no pre-ordained purpose, no second shot, and no sitting at the feet of a sky-daddy who just happens to reflect our own desires, needs and prejudices all coincidental like.

Your individual atoms will end up all over the place... in soup, in other people's bodies, in the ocean and in cat foot. You will, however have no conscious knowledge of this because your consciousness ends at the time you do, more or less.

Enjoy it while you can.

As for Jennifer Tilly, I would very, very much like to fuck her tits.

http://youtu.be/ZP6CemqCkyQ

My 2c on this...

People are merely the result of biochemical and electrical reactions. Remarkably complex biochemical and electrical reactions, but essentially we're a form of advanced life which, at its root, is little different to the first predatory single-celled organisms that populated rock pools some 3 billion years ago. We're a little further along the evolutionary chain than pond scum or rock fungus, but no-one reckons a mushroom, a bacteria or a slime mould has a soul or a higher purpose or a shot at reincarnation, and there's no reason to think that more complex life-forms like ourselves have souls, higher purpose or reincarnation either.

When we die we decompose into our component cells. Everything retained in our brains dies, that means our memories, our personalities, our skills, everything.

The water in our bodies evaporates, the cells that comprise our bodies turn to dust, and that's all there is to it.

There's no pre-ordained purpose, no second shot, and no sitting at the feet of a sky-daddy who just happens to reflect our own desires, needs and prejudices all coincidental like.

Your individual atoms will end up all over the place... in soup, in other people's bodies, in the ocean and in cat foot. You will, however have no conscious knowledge of this because your consciousness ends at the time you do, more or less.

Enjoy it while you can.

As for Jennifer Tilly, I would very, very much like to fuck her tits.

Aye all well and good but if you could come back as something else what would it be?

following on from my highly successful last supper topic I've now been thinking what would happen after you pass. I'm not expecting it to happen but just in case there is one and you get asked how you would like to live on what would you choose?

It could be reappearing as a baby again or becoming any animal or bird in the whole World.

I've thought long and hard about this, a good 5 minutes anyway, I want to come back as a budgie, how stress free would that be, no hassle getting food or water as your owner would feed you, you'd be able to watch tv, play with your bell, sleep standing up and best of all look in your mirror for hours a day.

it would be the perfect life for me.

As before a cyber pint goes to the winner for the best afterlife choice. :)

That is funny because i did the reincarnation test here and my answer was a parrot

http://www.reincarnationstation.com/

Reincarnation is particular to the east, and Hinduism I think.

The problem with it is the over-inflated importance given to the notion of I, an ego-driven failure.

Not really RS. In Europe the Greeks and Celts both believed in reincarnation. Christianity pumped it out of Europe though, didnt fit with the rising of Christ and heaven and all that jazz.
The Aussie Aborigines, African Yoruba and Edo, Amazonian tribes and Eskimos all believe in reincarnation as well.
Pretty much every single belief system in the world has some form of reincarnation attached to it... Jews, Christians and Muslims just change it from coming back as something/someone else to being reborn in a new kingdom.
The scientific part of my mind tells be that we are born, live and die, the end but I'm open minded enough to at least entertain the possibility that there may be something... Whos to say there isnt some sort of atomic memory. If animal instinct are passed from generation to generation without the need for teaching through generations (lots of reptiles and fish have nowt to do with their young once spawned) then whats to say that some of the past experiences of the atoms we arent saved in the particles they are made up from.
On 6 separate occasions now I've been approached by randoms and told I have an old soul. Now these people can either pick something up others cant because their brains are wired slightly differently or when you enter into this type of spirituality belief system your taken into a room and inducted like a Mason and given little lines to use to make others think there could be something in the shite they then spout.
When you think about it though we are all reincarnations... The atoms in our body have been used several billion times before, in the words of the Doctor "Hey, do you mind if I tell you a story, one you might not have heard? All the elements in your body were forged many, many millions of years ago in the heart of a far away star that exploded and died. That explosion scattered those elements across the designations of deep space; after so, so many millions of years, these elements came together to form new stars and new planets and on and on it went. The elements came together and burst apart, forming shoes and ships and ceiling wax and cabbages and kings until eventually they came together to make you."

Aye all well and good but if you could come back as something else what would it be?

Sherlock Holmes

The real one or the Robert Downey Jr. one?

I'm nae sure you'd be allowed to come back as a dead person anyway.

Robert Downey Jr. isn't dead. That's Rolf Harris you're thinking about. :sherlock:

Very apt smiley. :laughing:

If there really is no life after death then Prince would be wrong, I'm sorry but I just don't think that is possible, he knows what he's speaking about.

Dearly beloved
We are gathered here today
to get through this thing called life

Electric word life
It means forever and that's a mighty long time
But I'm here to tell you
There's something else
The afterworld

A world of never ending happiness
You can always see the sun, day or night.

Spam,

Have you been smoking any grass this morning?

A little bit

I needed to, the peyote and san pedro from last weekend left a bit of colour around the edge of my vision and the DMT hangover hurts a touch as well.

Why?

It was just the profound post you made, it had me close to tears. I've only heard such words when I've been in the company of wasted people.

That is funny because i did the reincarnation test here and my answer was a parrot

http://www.reincarnationstation.com/

I'm coming back as a tiger apparently. Only 16% of people will be reincarnated as a higher form of life than me.

Fucking cheek. Even 1.6% would be offensively high.

That was pish caledonia. I then did it again pretending to be you.

It said that your personality was akin to an afterbirth and that you shouldn't have even been born. It did say parrot though.

Gonna be a bear :trophy:

Spam,

Have you been smoking any grass this morning?

A little bit

I needed to, the peyote and san pedro from last weekend left a bit of colour around the edge of my vision and the DMT hangover hurts a touch as well.

Why?

It was just the profound post you made, it had me close to tears.

:gay: