ericblack4boss Posted April 30, 2013 Author Share Posted April 30, 2013 another battle of the legends...................who is your pick as the better keeper for me i am taking bandy, his club and international performances put him ahead of Theo who of course played for a now defunct Glasgow club Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Snelders but I only saw Leighton in his second spell. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Jimbo for me. But Theo was a greatand worthy replacement. Link to comment
tup Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Snelders = hun. Leighton = not a hun. They don't even deserve to be compared, one is a Dons legend, one turned into a complete hun liability whose arse collapsed at the sight of an important football match. 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Leighton by a country mile Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Leighton. Nae really that close either. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I was gutted when that fucking hun bastard broke Leightons jaw (on fucking purpose if you ask me!!) in his last ever professional game. Not because it was obvious from that point that we'd lose the final but because that was no way for a great like him to bow out of the game. Someone could've run Theo over with a truck and I wouldnt have given a shite, turn coat prick that he is. 1 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 This thread should've came with a disclaimer. Only the auld cunts are allowed an opinion on the subject it would seem. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 This thread should've came with a disclaimer. Only the auld cunts are allowed an opinion on the subject it would seem. ken because yon young cunts dfinna hae access ti youtube, vidyos, dvd's or onihin else that will assist in making a judgement eh Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 This thread should've came with a disclaimer. Only the auld cunts are allowed an opinion on the subject it would seem. How's that then? Cos naebody else bar one ither has also chose Snelders?Auld cunts have obviously seen baith. Dinna get fit you're saying really. Link to comment
Stoney Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Only seen Leighton in his second spell when he was clearly passed it. So Theo for me. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 How's that then? Cos naebody else bar one ither has also chose Snelders?Auld cunts have obviously seen baith. Dinna get fit you're saying really. Was more in response to Rocket's post min. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Both probably technically equal. Leighton however was the bravest keeper I ever saw for crunching into onrushing strikers feet. Secondly he didn't accept the filthy hun lucre that was no doubt on offer and thirdly at no point did he crap it internationally, quite the opposite in fact when a/ he took unfair pelters eg Brazil in Paris and b/ he was faced by a hobbit like schizo alcoholic wife beating wanker challenging and taking over his place, the reason being... see 2. In fairness to Snelders though I dreaded when Leighton went but the effect was undoubtedly mitigated by having a keeper of his quality come in as opposed to now......... Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Both were tremendous Keepers and I'm glad I'm old enough to remember them both. Interesting to note that Snelders was the 2nd choice Netherlands goalie, at the time when they were reigning Euro champions. Gillhaus won 9 caps and scored 2 for them in the same era. How we have fallen, from a time when we had players of that calibre in the team (and btw it was Aitken who forced Theo out). Leighton was a true warrior, though. Fuck those Huns who say Goram was the best Scotland goalie ever. He was a Hun minker whose status was elevated by the over-spending Hun minkers who bought success in a league that was starting to disintegrate. Leighton was the man. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 30, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 30, 2013 another battle of the legends...................who is your pick as the better keeper for me i am taking bandy, his club and international performances put him ahead of Theo who of course played for a now defunct Glasgow clubLeighton Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Both were tremendous Keepers and I'm glad I'm old enough to remember them both. Interesting to note that Snelders was the 2nd choice Netherlands goalie, at the time when they were reigning Euro champions. Gillhaus won 9 caps and scored 2 for them in the same era. How we have fallen, from a time when we had players of that calibre in the team (and btw it was Aitken who forced Theo out). Leighton was a true warrior, though. Fuck those Huns who say Goram was the best Scotland goalie ever. He was a Hun minker whose status was elevated by the over-spending Hun minkers who bought success in a league that was starting to disintegrate. Leighton was the man. There's no denying Goram was a fantastic keeper, however not a chance in hell was he better than Leighton. His total caps record alone justifies his legendary status on that part. On topic i only briefly remembered Jim's 1st spell at the club, so again i won't comment just to keep Rocket happy Link to comment
a don in oz Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Leighton all the way but jesus what an incredible replacement we got in Snelders. Two fantastic keepers. Only one that deserves to even clean their shoes since would be Kjaer. And I actually cried as well as screaming at the TV when Leighton's career ended the way it did on the end of fucking Wallace's boot. I'd only been out in oz about 4 months at the time and felt very isolated since the missus looked at me like I was a madman screaming and crying at the TV (only time there's EVER been a live Scottish game on here in my 13 years here!) Link to comment
Henry Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 the missus looked at me like I was a madman You must have been used to that though. 1 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Was more in response to Rocket's post min. Ah, I see noo. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Has to be Jimbo. Theo was a good keeper but not in Jims class.I've seen both play so feel I can comment. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Fucking moron. Only those who have seen both are qualified to compare the two. Young cunts like you with nothing to say on anything but who are desperate to be heard have yet to learn that your opinion is worth jack shit. You will come to realise this in later years, unless your stupidity is too overwhelming. I only saw Leighton's second spell, granted. I'm sorry you think this renders me a 'fucking moron' and that my opinion means jack shit. Thankfully most on here can discuss topics like this without resorting to the relentless tirade of abuse you give people who even dare to hint at having a different opinion to yourself. I think you're an entertaining poster, Rocket, and enjoy reading a lot of your posts but I'm not sure why you feel the need to resort to the level of aggression and disdain, as above, towards your fellow Dandies. I doubt I could get ever that wound up. 2 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 That's because not only have you fuck all to say, you have no passion. About anything. You don't even know me so therefore are not in the slightest bit ‘qualified’ to comment on whether I am a man of passion or not. I’ll stop commenting on things I know fuck all about if you will kindly return the favour. 1 Link to comment
Kilkito Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I didn't really see Leighton much in his first spell, but can appreciate those that did, and their opinion on how good he was. I am surprised at the lack of praise for Theo though, in his first couple of seasons he was pretty much unbeatable, anything he had a chance of getting he got, had a stange spell at the end when he wouldn't come off his line, shows how much football is all in the mind! Also Theo looked cool, whereas Leighton, well he fair got whacked by the ugly stick, and they finished it off on his legs. 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Both suffered deliberate attacks that led to broken jaws from hun players, funny how the media swept those under the carpet yet pull out the Simmie tackle on a regular basis. I digress.....Leighton was the best. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Affa kind of you, RS. FWIW, I think you'd be delighted to have me as one of your sprogs, I am a model son. And me and your loon have at least one thing in common in that we still attend Aberdeen matches Link to comment