looksgoodinred Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 i've done the "pouring it forward" (or more exactly, behind ) thing at coffee drive-throughs (you buy one for yourself, and pay for the car behind you at the same time), but saw this in the news last week and thought it was pretty nice. "Suspended coffees". while in the shop, buy your own and if you feel like it, buy a suspended coffee. the suspended coffees are tracked and someone who doesn't have the money, can come in and ask for a suspended coffee and get theirs for free if some are available. apparently something that's been done in Italy for some number of years, "Caffè Sospeso" became more popular after WWII. (the BBC link says several years ago in Italy, but another site said closer to 100 years; nae sure of that stat either way). it just relies on the honour system to operate. i'd do it in a second. would you be inclined to do it? or feel you were wasting your money and some bum was just taking advantage of things? http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-22267613 Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I grudge paying those vastly over inflated prices for a coffee for myself, so I'm fucked if I'm paying for someone else.They can fuck off until such time as they pay taxes in this country (Starbucks wasn't it?) 1 Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I wouldn't do it cause coffee's a luxury and if you can't afford it you just have to do without. Would rather give money towards sick kids or some other worthy cause... Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 NIT At £3-4 a coffe in bucks no way. Grudge giving Aberdeen junkie beggars the steam off my shite never mind leaving them coffees to fill with sugar for gouging out with. 1 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I was in a pizza place. couple of months back, and the guy in front of me had left his wallet at home... something I can relate to, since i do that all the time... so I paid for his pizzas. I only tell this story because it's in the context of the OP... I don't like to talk about all the really nice stuff I do on a daily, sometimes hourly, basis. Suffice to say buying a coffee for a stranger falls firmly under the heading of, Shit Kelt Already Does. I'm pretty awesome, but like I say.... don't like to talk about it. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Nit. If you don't have enough money for a coffee then don't go into a coffee shop. Coffee, especially from a coffee shop, is a luxury item not a necessity. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Nit. If you don't have enough money for a coffee then don't go into a coffee shop. Coffee, especially from from a coffee shop, is a luxury item not a necessity.Now that is a weird viewpoint. Are you saying those who are not so well off have no right to a 'luxury item', purchased specifically for those who are not so well off? To be honest this is kind of a radical bastardisation of a point of view I hold, but with a very different reasoning and motivation behind it, and with a very different end product. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 If I saw someone stuck I'd try to help them out but wouldn't go for that coffee thing. If I did help them out though I'd make sure to cash in on it emotionally by telling people of my altruism so they can view me as a better person. Chiefly so that if in future I need to manipulate them further (beyond making them think I'm nice) they'll slurp it up with a smile on their face. Because I'm a nice guy. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I'd always be wary of some cunt making on he was needing it when he's got a kettle and plenty of Nescafe at home. I'd do it if I thought some poor bugger who genuinely hasn't had a break in life was struggling and got a rare bit of luxury in his life. I don't really think the people I'd like "my" coffee to go to would ask for it though. Link to comment
jassb Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 This has got me thinking, I never hear people in the pub saying "one in the tap" when buying a round. Not quite the same as the coffee thing here, but does anyone hear or say that these days? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I'd always be wary of some cunt making on he was needing it when he's got a kettle and plenty of Nescafe at home. I'd do it if I thought some poor bugger who genuinely hasn't had a break in life was struggling and got a rare bit of luxury in his life. I don't really think the people I'd like "my" coffee to go to would ask for it though. I usually get into trouble when I'm back in Aberdeen, because I hand out cash to the homeless like it's sweeties. A fiver here, a tenner there.... My mates get pissed, "Did you jist gie that dosser money?" "You're just encouraging the pikey/gypo cunts." Did Jesus think that way? Did Jesus say, "Thon lad hisnae really got leprosy... cunt's just angling for free medical care and a buckshee coffee!" I'm just saying, sure, there are people who take advantage of the generosity of others, but if everyone thought like me and Jesus... and remember Jesus didn't exist, so we're really only talking about me here... if everyone thought like me an 'Jesus' we'd have a far better world. Obviously this is hard for me to speak about, because I don;t like mentioning how brilliant I am. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 This has got me thinking, I never hear people in the pub saying "one in the tap" when buying a round. Not quite the same as the coffee thing here, but does anyone hear or say that these days? Still hear it in the golf clubs and places like the transport union but nae in the locals, they're all chains and dont do stuff like that. Link to comment
daytripping Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 This has got me thinking, I never hear people in the pub saying "one in the tap" when buying a round. Not quite the same as the coffee thing here, but does anyone hear or say that these days? Yeah if you're a regular in a local and buying rounds but someone still has a whole pint it's pretty normal to leave one on the tap for whoever. I'd buy a coffee for someone I didn't know, I'm like kelt and I too don't like to talk about it, I enjoy doing a good deed, 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Still hear it in the golf clubs and places like the transport union but nae in the locals, they're all chains and dont do stuff like that. go in the four mile on a saturday afternoon with the auld mannies especially and you'll hear it loads of times, that's a bellhaven. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted April 30, 2013 Author Share Posted April 30, 2013 the suspended coffees would likely only work at coffee shops with a big walk-by trade in a city centre, or near a university/college. and for those that wouldn't ordinarily drop coins or bills in a homeless person's hands/cup/cap, concerned it might be spent on something else, it would allow them to give something without fear it's to be spent on illegal substances. so that`s to the good as well. onywye, it was just a thought. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I only give money to folk that are honest. If I see a jakey that asks me for 50p for a bottle of wine, I'd give him some spare change. Honesty is the best policy. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 the suspended coffees would likely only work at coffee shops with a big walk-by trade in a city centre, or near a university/college. and for those that wouldn't ordinarily drop coins or bills in a homeless person's hands/cup/cap, concerned it might be spent on something else, it would allow them to give something without fear it's to be spent on illegal substances. so that`s to the good as well. onywye, it was just a thought. Oh it's a lovely thought and when I was in Starbucks after Saturdays game they had a leaflet up about it. Thought about seeing the ins and outs but something caught my attention and I forgot about it. One thing I did see is that Starbucks would match the amount in a donation to something. Not sure who it was. I usually get into trouble when I'm back in Aberdeen, because I hand out cash to the homeless like it's sweeties. A fiver here, a tenner there.... My mates get pissed, "Did you jist gie that dosser money?" "You're just encouraging the pikey/gypo cunts." Did Jesus think that way? Did Jesus say, "Thon lad hisnae really got leprosy... cunt's just angling for free medical care and a buckshee coffee!" I'm just saying, sure, there are people who take advantage of the generosity of others, but if everyone thought like me and Jesus... and remember Jesus didn't exist, so we're really only talking about me here... if everyone thought like me an 'Jesus' we'd have a far better world. Obviously this is hard for me to speak about, because I don;t like mentioning how brilliant I am. Well obviously you have plenty dough to spare. I'm pretty sure you're able to turn water into wine so you must save a cuntload of cash with that! Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I only give money to folk that are honest. If I see a jakey that asks me for 50p for a bottle of wine, I'd give him some spare change. Honesty is the best policy.I sat with a junkie boy asking for a couple of quid for cider for about 15 minutes telling him things I haven't told anyone but family. It was an odd situation but his honesty really made me warm to him. He told me about his problems and I told him about mine. 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 Oh it's a lovely thought and when I was in Starbucks after Saturdays game they had a leaflet up about it. Thought about seeing the ins and outs but something caught my attention and I forgot about it. One thing I did see is that Starbucks would match the amount in a donation to something. Not sure who it was. Well obviously you have plenty dough to spare. I'm pretty sure you're able to turn water into wine so you must save a cuntload of cash with that! I can't turn water into wine, but I can turn animal parts into sausages, which I think we can agree is more of a skill than the old water/wine sleight of hand. My White Chili Chicken Sauasages are immense, btw. Jesus never turned anything into a sausage, so really he loses points to me there. Link to comment
tainboy Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I don't like coffee. It's rank and smells bad. I like tea. Brewed strong and just a dash of milk. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I can't turn water into wine, but I can turn animal parts into sausages, which I think we can agree is more of a skill than the old water/wine sleight of hand. My White Chili Chicken Sauasages are immense, btw. Jesus never turned anything into a sausage, so really he loses points to me there. I suppose it's handier than making wine as I don't like wine very much. Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I won't ever let anyone buy me anything unless I intend to buy them something back of a similar value or pay them back in cash. Only examples I can think of is rounds of drinks in the pub or if I don't have money on me and I know I have the money to pay someone back as soon as I get to a bank or see them the next time. When it comes to luxury things, people should do without until they save up enough money to be able to afford it. Will always looked down at folk that are more than happy to accept handouts and gifts when they don't need them without having any intention of paying it back. Link to comment
daytripping Posted April 30, 2013 Share Posted April 30, 2013 I won't ever let anyone buy me anything unless I intend to buy them something back of a similar value or pay them back in cash. Only examples I can think of is rounds of drinks in the pub or if I don't have money on me and I know I have the money to pay someone back as soon as I get to a bank or see them the next time. When it comes to luxury things, people should do without until they save up enough money to be able to afford it. Will always looked down at folk that are more than happy to accept handouts and gifts when they don't need them without having any intention of paying it back. When I first worked in denmark I found it odd, I got a round in with the locals I was working with and never saw a drink back, the cunts over there take it as a gift, fuck that! they don't do rounds, just seems pretty unsocial to me. I had a mate in my group of friends who was unemployed for a few Months, no one batted an eyelid that he couldn't afford to get them in, we just missed his round out, at the time would have been pissed off if he stayed in and we were out, know it would have been the same with me if I was down on my luck. 1 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted May 1, 2013 Share Posted May 1, 2013 Oh it's a lovely thought and when I was in Starbucks after Saturdays game they had a leaflet up about it. Get to the boozer min. I sat with a junkie boy asking for a couple of quid for cider for about 15 minutes telling him things I haven't told anyone but family. It was an odd situation but his honesty really made me warm to him. He told me about his problems and I told him about mine. and a further 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted May 1, 2013 Share Posted May 1, 2013 go in the four mile on a saturday afternoon with the auld mannies especially and you'll hear it loads of times, that's a bellhaven. maybe some still do... I was probably being to sweeping with that statement. The Toby wouldnt when I was living in BoD, Black Dog does though... Think it probably depends on the management, if the staff are full time/part time and where the bar is. Brew Dog will for some as well. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 1, 2013 Share Posted May 1, 2013 lgir, thats all fine and well in adecent ciilised societylike as you say italy. or france or spain. proper nations tha appreciate good food and drink. but can you really picture your average highland inbred doing it? fucking hell min theyve only just discovered instant. 1 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 1, 2013 Author Share Posted May 1, 2013 i'm afraid i find nothing particularly uncivilised about Scotland. so in answer to your question, yes, i can well imagine a number will do it (or won't, based on personal choice). just as they do in Italy. and France. and Canada. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 1, 2013 Share Posted May 1, 2013 I sat with a junkie boy asking for a couple of quid for cider for about 15 minutes telling him things I haven't told anyone but family. It was an odd situation but his honesty really made me warm to him. He told me about his problems and I told him about mine. I'm glad you and Rocket have patched things up. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted May 1, 2013 Share Posted May 1, 2013 I'd maybe consider it if the suspended coffee was charged at cost, nae cost, plus ridiculous mark-up. Just huge corporations trying to make more money out of the generosity of others otherwise. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted May 1, 2013 Share Posted May 1, 2013 Rather than getting their punters to pay up, how many suspended cups would Starbucks' unpaid corporation tax pay for? Link to comment