Ke1t Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 Quite fancy going to see Up Helly Aa, but by the same token I don't want to spend any time in Lerwick, or indeed on any Scottish island for that matter. Saw The Wicker Man as a kid, so I know the kind of things that go on in those places. Drop your guard for a second and the locals are sacrificing you to their pagan gods, and raping the remains before you can say, "Killing me won't bring back your apples" Lewis, that's an island.... Wick, might as well be an island. Anyone planning to visit somewhere scary? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 On a serious note. Why do people live in these place. There's a big world out there; including the following London/ManchesterRome/Florence/VeniceParis/LyonNew YorkSydneyTokyo/kyoto Devon/Cornwall/cotswalds/lakedistrictSouth of FranceAnd a LuciaTuscsnyArdennesCalifornia/new englandCanadian rockiesAnd a Lucia The list goes on. Why spend 40+ years in some backward place where you cwnna even get a decent meal. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 no. i don't travel to scary places on my own. however, if i were able to find several big, bad-ass guys who know how to fight and would be up for accompanying an auld wifie on her travels? well then, the world would be my oyster. and i'd be off adventuring. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 Shetland and Orkney Islands are still on my to-see list. how scary can Lerwick be? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 15, 2013 Author Share Posted May 15, 2013 New York is just about the greatest place on Earth. In the space of a few seconds you'll see the most beautiful woman ever, and the craziest fucker ever. You never know which way to look... "Holy fuck she's gorgeous, but that guy's juggling live kittens, wearing lederhosen, and screaming his fury at an invisible assailant! Which one do I stare at? Fuck!" Only thing it lacks is a pro fitba team, but fthen again so do wee toons like Aberdeen. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 New York is just about the greatest place on Earth. In the space of a few seconds you'll see the most beautiful woman ever, and the craziest fucker ever. You never know which way to look... "Holy fuck she's gorgeous, but that guy's juggling live kittens, wearing lederhosen, and screaming his fury at an invisible assailant! Which one do I stare at? Fuck!" Only thing it lacks is a pro fitba team, but fthen again so do wee toons like Aberdeen. i love New York. but just like NY, Chicago. LA. Vancouver. and Toronto -- really pretty much every large city -- there are a number of areas where i wouldn't dream of wandering on my own. that's a real upside to Aberdeen and the few other places i've been to in Scotland. there isn't anywhere i've been during daylight hours that i've ever felt unsafe on my own.. unlike a number of cities in North America. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 Shetland and Orkney Islands are still on my to-see list. how scary can Lerwick be? Captain Flints is lethal. As is Posers once Captain Flints shuts for the night. Had some wild nights in both. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 15, 2013 Share Posted May 15, 2013 Aye but a beer is only as NA village. Only London and Birmingham register on the scale of na cities. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 15, 2013 Author Share Posted May 15, 2013 i love New York. but just like NY, Chicago. LA. Vancouver. and Toronto -- really pretty much every large city -- there are a number of areas where i wouldn't dream of wandering on my own. that's a real upside to Aberdeen and the few other places i've been to in Scotland. there isn't anywhere i've been during daylight hours that i've ever felt unsafe on my own.. unlike a number of cities in North America. Spent a night in Harlem... probably one of the worst places I've been. Agree about the safety of Aberdeen, but no-one wants to go through life just feeling safe... you need to get out there and see the world, maybe duck up an alley in Amsterdam and purchase a bag of highly questionable coke, maybe stop in El Nino for a few beers, or lock yourself in a cupboard while Al Qaeda executes people a few feet away. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Shetland and Orkney Islands are still on my to-see list. how scary can Lerwick be? Scarily boring/cold/windy. That's the summer, it's worse in the winter. 1 Link to comment
GK55 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Love New York - visit regularly. One place i have always wanted to go to, maybe backpacking for a month, is India. A place that has always interested me. Off to Skye this year - pack a couple of boxes of wine/beer/fine food, a week of relaxing...cant imagine much to do in Skye. Washington i would like to visit also. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 been round india, its amazing.wouldnt backpack though the place is a fuckin dump. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 i love New York. but just like NY, Chicago. LA. Vancouver. and Toronto -- really pretty much every large city -- there are a number of areas where i wouldn't dream of wandering on my own. that's a real upside to Aberdeen and the few other places i've been to in Scotland. there isn't anywhere i've been during daylight hours that i've ever felt unsafe on my own.. unlike a number of cities in North America. I'm sure you'd maybe feel slightly intimidated in Tilly / Buchan / Manor LGIR. I'll drop you off there next time you're in ABZ, about half three in the afternoon should do it when the natives are still at their liveliest. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Not many places I wouldn't fancy going...other than the usual shit holes like Nigeria etc. Link to comment
daytripping Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I'm sure you'd maybe feel slightly intimidated in Tilly / Buchan / Manor LGIR. I'll drop you off there next time you're in ABZ, about half three in the afternoon should do it when the natives are still at their liveliest. I had a flat in one of the multi's in Tilly for a couple of years, never had one problem, it really was a quiet nice place to live. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 does aberdeen actually have any bad areas? i mean glasgow bad. dont think it does, does it. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I had a flat in one of the multi's in Tilly for a couple of years, never had one problem, it really was a quiet nice place to live. Is that coz you were top dawg in the multi, with wee neds doing yer dirty work? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I had a flat in one of the multi's in Tilly for a couple of years, never had one problem, it really was a quiet nice place to live. I'm sure that would depend on which multi / which floor. You're going to have three neighbours on your floor. If they are teenage single mums / junked up hoors - you'll have issues. If they are mannies and wifies who have been there since 19-oatcake, you'll be fine. I don't think LGIR would particularly enjoy a walk down Hayton road and along Formartine at 4pm any day of the week. Link to comment
dave_min Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 does aberdeen actually have any bad areas? i mean glasgow bad. dont think it does, does it. Aye it does, Danestone. 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I stayed in a Flat in tilly for a while, the local junkies who sat around the doors of the shop were all very friendly, opening the door for you etc. The downside is we had bikes chained up in the communial hallway that got nicked by a couple of minks who hacksawed their way through the chains and ran off. I left fairly quickly after that. Another plus side of Tilly etc is that if you have a Sofa or a fridge that rid of, just stick it outside on the path and by the time you wake up the next morning it will have gone. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 On a serious note.Why do people live in these place.There's a big world out there; including the followingLondon/ManchesterRome/Florence/VeniceParis/LyonNew YorkSydneyTokyo/kyotoDevon/Cornwall/cotswalds/lakedistrictSouth of FranceAnd a LuciaTuscsnyArdennesCalifornia/new englandCanadian rockiesAnd a LuciaThe list goes on.Why spend 40+ years in some backward place where you cwnna even get a decent meal.I was up visiting my home in the western isles last week. Born and bred there, so will always like the place. Totally different way of life up there, beautiful beaches, fresh air, peace and quite, don't even have to take the key out your car or lock your door. Maybe you should visit a place before automatically making incorrect assumptions about it. Shetland and Orkney Islands are still on my to-see list. how scary can Lerwick be? Sure Harcus will be on soon and can enlighten us. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I was up visiting my home in the western isles last week. Born and bred there, so will always like the place. Totally different way of life up there, beautiful beaches, fresh air, peace and quite, don't even have to take the key out your car or lock your door. Maybe you should visit a place before automatically making incorrect assumptions about it. Sure Harcus will be on soon and can enlighten us. och dinna worry about me min sheep#1, im a well travelled; cultured and intelligent sort.i know what im talking about. its a seriosu question though. why do so many people live in shite places. dont they have ambition and dreams? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 och dinna worry about me min sheep#1, im a well travelled; cultured and intelligent sort.i know what im talking about. its a seriosu question though. why do so many people live in shite places. dont they have ambition and dreams? Oddly enough that is some peoples dream to live on these remote islands. Usually guffy sorts. Anyway, if everyone had the same dreams or ambitions it would be a bit predictable wouldn't it? Anyway, I've been to Lewis a few times. Could never live there. Nice enough for a few days though. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 not just talking about the island although they are so remote as to be backward. there are shitholes everwhere and usuallynearby there is somewhere far better. why folk settle for second best is beyond me Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Oddly enough that is some peoples dream to live on these remote islands. Usually guffy sorts. Anyway, if everyone had the same dreams or ambitions it would be a bit predictable wouldn't it? Anyway, I've been to Lewis a few times. Could never live there. Nice enough for a few days though. Dynamo is correct, there are loads of 'white settlers' up in the islands now, Nigel and Doreen from Kent, who move up there looking to 'get away from the rat race'. Sadly due to lack of education/employment opportunities, pretty much all my generation have moved to the mainland form uni/college/work and never gone back. I am also obv guilty of this too, but not to say I won't go back there to live one day. It definitely has it's positives and minuses, but all in all a good way of life and great place to raise a family. You dinna get neds in the islands Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 One man's trash is another man's treasure. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 aye as the great art garfulkle said one mans ceiling is another mans floor. sheep#1 come on min. a great place to raise a kid, do me a favour.the kid would grow up bored shitless Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 not just talking about the island although they are so remote as to be backward.there are shitholes everwhere and usuallynearby there is somewhere far better.why folk settle for second best is beyond meSay what you like about the islands, but they are definitely no 'shithole'. Some of the pics I took last week would prove that, if I knew how to upload, would have made a good addition to the where are you now thread. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 aye as the great art garfulkle said one mans ceiling is another mans floor.sheep#1 come on min. a great place to raise a kid, do me a favour.the kid would grow up bored shitlessI didn't. Link to comment