Ke1t Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Him and Fergie both retiring ... end of an era. Liked them both. Our own young players could learn a lot from Beckham's work ethic, http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22558393 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 He's been semi retired since '07 anyway. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I suppose the news channels will be going on about this for days now after I've just recovered from all the Fergie pish ! Link to comment
Henry Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 There's Bluto excuse to escape the house and go for a few pints tonight sorted then. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 when youre as fun loving as me harcus you dinna need excuses but ill ill be out again tonight. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 There's Bluto excuse to escape the house and go for a few pints tonight sorted then. He'll be devastated! A cry wank at the battle cruiser is probably on the cards... ... So no different from any other evening. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 He'll be devastated! A cry wank at the battle cruiser is probably on the cards... ... So no different from any other evening.Have to say actually I have a lot of respect for the lad. At least he challenged himself at other clubs and countries unlike many other 'golden gen' English players. And you canna argue with his goals. Its popular to say he overachieved but I'd say he was easily as good as other other more revered man u players Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 16, 2013 Author Share Posted May 16, 2013 Have to say actually I have a lot of respect for the lad. At least he challenged himself at other clubs and countries unlike many other 'golden gen' English players. And you canna argue with his goals. Its popular to say he overachieved but I'd say he was easily as good as other other more revered man u players Agree with this. Lot of people dismiss him with the old, "He's overrated" line, but I don't think I ever saw a game where he looked out of his depth, and he played over 100 full internationals and had a career that saw him play at the very top of club football, Milan, Real, and Fergie's Man United can't all be wrong. As far as set pieces go I doubt there's many I would have chosen ahead of him, something that was the result of his work ethic. He just kept practicing and practicing on the training ground while other more 'talented' players had fucked off for a beer... and here he is retiring at 38, at the top of European fitba, winning the Championship in the fourth country he's played in. If I've a criticism of Beckham, it's that he could have done a lot better in terms of the bird he's married to. I reckon he settled. like. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 I'd go as far as to say I'd take his man u career over these ones RonaldoKeane Its tough to say scholes or giggs but I considered it. I think he hit higher highs than either of those two but of course they lasted twice as long. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 He's a bellend.You and him wpuld get on like a house on fire then Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 he captured the zeitgeist at the exact time on more than occasion, and through simon fuller, capitalised on it to the max. if it wasn't for his two goals;the Wimbledon lob (which they've cut the part out just after he scores with his arms out stretched, just before, he turns to the side and grogs out a massive greener!)Greece free kick, if he hadn't scored that, the unburnt effigies may have been burned. he was ordinary, if I played against him, I wouldn't have been worried about it. just the boy inside me would have to help out so I wasn't dragged inside to give the show pony a free cross. Link to comment
fifered Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 Beckham was a class player and one that all youngsters should aspire to, much like giggs, Scholes or lampard. All have great work ethic and desire to make the most of their talent, the vast majority of professional footballers aren't fit to lace the boots of that lot. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted May 16, 2013 Share Posted May 16, 2013 granted, he had limited talent but he worked and worked on his right peg until it was the best of that type of football. he made the best of what he had. Link to comment