Thank God The Football's Finished

its just a way of passing off the winter realy isn't it?

Moronic, overpaid players. Daft radio phone ins. Managers who couldn't pass Standard Grade English. Clubs in zillions of debt as no matter how much money is raised it disappears into players pockets. Greedy agents. Stupid stewards. Fickle fans. Badly behaved players.

I don't miss it one bit over the summer as the more intelligent sports come to the fore. Golf, cricket and tennis all have articulate and well presented participants and with the Ashes, domestic T20, the French Open and Wimbledon, the US Open and our Open to look forward to - who needs football?

If footballers played golf, they'd be standing on each other's lines on the green, taking preferred lies when noone noticed and swearing when their opponents were on their backswing. If they played cricket, they be screaming at the umpire if he gave a no ball, swarm round him for lbw decisions and they'd find fielding so boring they'd slink off.

Football's a kind of hybrid sport that attracts all types, thankfully its moronic element can go get bored all summer whilst the rest of us follow the wonderful array of summer sports.

Why do the Lions even exist? Was there a point in history when they just needed to band together to compete with Southern hemisphere countries?

I don't really like sports where people just arrange "tests" etc which are just glorified friendlies, but account for most of their "competitive" sport.

Havnt missed it one bit since my last game in March,

Had a cracking trip up to tain with the bowlers on Saturday, Can see this being a fixture of the future unless things dramatically improve next season.

Presumably you won't be checking the score while you're playing bowls?

Been away the last four Saturdays and only once has somebody mentioned the score, that was the hearts game - because they decided it was so shit they left at half time to have a few pints at the bowling.

The Hearts game was one of the better games at Pittodrie this year.

For all the bad points fitba has these days, we wouldn't be giving a fuck about any of it if Aberdeen had a decent team on the pitch.

That's the bottom line. The money, the racism, sectarianism, the corruption, the cancer that is Sevco & Sellick, none of us would give a shit about any of it as long as the Dandies were doing the business on the park.

But we haven't for a long time now so it's easy to get scunnered with the game as a whole.

I'm just hopeful better days are around the corner.

Not confident, just hopeful.

Stand by the Dandies through the onslaught of pain, frustration, tedium and general fucking misery that makes up 99% of your time supporting them, because every now and then you'll be rewarded with moments of pure, balls oot joy that will make it all worth it.

Roll on the fitba season :cool:

For all the bad points fitba has these days, we wouldn't be giving a fuck about any of it if Aberdeen had a decent team on the pitch.

That's the bottom line. The money, the racism, sectarianism, the corruption, the cancer that is Sevco & Sellick, none of us would give a shit about any of it as long as the Dandies were doing the business on the park.

But we haven't for a long time now so it's easy to get scunnered with the game as a whole.

I'm just hopeful better days are around the corner.

Not confident, just hopeful.

Stand by the Dandies through the onslaught of pain, frustration, tedium and general fucking misery that makes up 99% of your time supporting them, because every now and then you'll be rewarded with moments of pure, balls oot joy that will make it all worth it.

Roll on the fitba season :cool:

Good post Karl loon. :thumbup1:

That should have been the new slogan. :flag:

As for golf, rugby and tennis (aside from the specific situation where Andy Murray is playing and winning) they can get to fuck. Cricket...as for cricket that can FUCK RIGHT OFF. Think it can be explained by this picture of the kind of people who like it.

disp_5664.jpg