Karl Fletcher Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 I see Inverness sign 7 players. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22842745 They've signed some of these players from footballing heavyweights such as: Kiddeminster HarriersChesterWellingHerefordCheltenham TownColeraine I know we don't exactly sign players from Milan or Real Madrid however it is a pretty sad indictment of our top flight that a top six side is sourcing a large chuck of their squad from Clubs like this however Inverness do have previous for unearthing gems so they very well could be onto a winner again. Who's the shittest Club we've bought a Player from? Leigh Hinds from Clyde maybe? The best would be Hans from PSV probably? Link to comment
ebbe Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 im pretty sure the team we signed belabed from were absolute nobodies. Link to comment
paddy Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Bertrand Bossu was at a host of shite clubs before playing for the dons. Think Warsaw released him before Aberdeen snapped him up. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Chester won their league with a ridiculous amount of points last season. Must've had some decent players. Link to comment
Stoney Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Whoever we signed Mixu's loons from, They must have been honking Link to comment
Dazzler Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Best must be Charlie Nic from Arsenal? Worst Tommy Wright from Darlington? 1 Link to comment
rgudon Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Did we not loan one of our shite defenders to a now defunct diddy club? 2 Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Gary Hackett from Shrewsbury. Tom Jones from Weymouth. It was not unusual for Porterfield to sign players from the lower and non-league reaches of English football. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Gary Hackett from Shrewsbury. Tom Jones from Weymouth. It was not unusual for Porterfield to sign players from the lower and non-league reaches of English football.Gary Hackett in his Sheepskin Jacket...that's a blast from the past...Tom Jones was half decent if I mind right Link to comment
Henry Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Gary Hackett from Shrewsbury. Tom Jones from Weymouth. It was not unusual for Porterfield to sign players from the lower and non-league reaches of English football. I think part of the problem when attracting English and Irish players to Aberdeen is that they generally prefer the green, green grass of home. 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Dundee United made a cup winning team out of signing the better players from Ayr, Cowdenbeath and the Irish Leagues which are all more or less Conference standard. Inverness did similar last year and were like night and day compared to us and our bunch of rejects. We need to re-assess our place in the scheme of things and look at what has worked well elsewhere& yet we have signed numerous players from the diddy club that is Dundee Utd & have failed to do well from this. It's a strange one that. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 I don't care where we sign our players from, so long as they can play football. Paul Mason was a brickie on a building site and worked in a fag factory when Groningen signed him from the PUB team he was with. Didn't stop him being a hugely important part of a very good Aberdeen team. A team that won silverware, it should be pointed out. On the other hand we spent 300 grand on Nigel Pepper from Bradford.... Our problem isn't where we buy our players from, our problem is that Aberdeen's 'scouting system' usually wouldn't spot a real footballer if he walked up and cuntpunched them. 1 Link to comment
essexdon Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 I don't care where we sign our players from, so long as they can play football. Paul Mason was a brickie on a building site and worked in a fag factory when Groningen signed him from the PUB team he was with. Didn't stop him being a hugely important part of a very good Aberdeen team. A team that won silverware, it should be pointed out. On the other hand we spent 300 grand on Nigel Pepper from Bradford.... Our problem isn't where we buy our players from, our problem is that Aberdeen's 'scouting system' usually wouldn't spot a real footballer if he walked up and cuntpunched them. am in total agreement wi kelt for once. some of our signings over the years appear to have been names plucked out paper bag Link to comment
jassb Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Did we not take a few from St Mirren in the 80's? Link to comment
tup Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 I detest the term 'diddy clubs' as I believe it was coined by the bigots and is massively disrespectful. Without 'diddy clubs' football would not exist. 1 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 I detest the term 'diddy clubs' as I believe it was coined by the bigots and is massively disrespectful. Without 'diddy clubs' football would not exist. I believe the term was the diddy cup as in the league cup. I like diddies & could fondle them all day. Even the ones attached to ugly burds. I prefer having the ugly sisters referring to us a diddies.Where as they must hate being referred to as arse cheeks by us all. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Jamie Langfield from Dunfermline Athletic. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Did we not take a few from St Mirren in the 80's?Ian Cameron Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Peter Weir Peter Weir & Billy Stark 1 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 Ricky Gillies .... oh, wait.David Winnie Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 the signed from St Mirren list includes. WinnieBell,Weir,McDougallStarkCameronGillies of the list surely only Gillies w as a total dud cameron was a good player there just a pity he was so injury prone with us, the signed from Dunfermline listLangfield,YoungRobertson(hold on i can see atrend developing here)CrawfordNicholson Dundee Utd Duff,Kerr,WintersPaatelainen so which club has sold us the most duds Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 the signed from St Mirren list includes. WinnieBell,Weir,McDougallStarkCameronGillies of the list surely only Gillies w as a total dud cameron was a good player there just a pity he was so injury prone with us, the signed from Dunfermline listLangfield,YoungRobertson(hold on i can see atrend developing here)CrawfordNicholson Dundee Utd Duff,Kerr,WintersPaatelainen so which club has sold us the most dudsDef Dunfermline. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 the signed from Dunfermline listLangfield,YoungRobertson(hold on i can see atrend developing here)CrawfordNicholsonDef Dunfermline.Correct, let's seal this deal: Byrne. £50,000.Dempsey. Wanted him so badly we signed him on an amateur form until he was eligible to play professionally. I'm not sure that he ever qualified did he? Link to comment
slippers Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 I notice that they have signed Ben Greenhalgh who was previously with inter milan having won a contract after being on football icon tv program! Anyone remember it? Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted June 10, 2013 Share Posted June 10, 2013 the signed from St Mirren list includes. WinnieBell,Weir,McDougallStarkCameronGillies of the list surely only Gillies w as a total dud cameron was a good player there just a pity he was so injury prone with us, the signed from Dunfermline listLangfield,YoungRobertson(hold on i can see atrend developing here)CrawfordNicholson Dundee Utd Duff,Kerr,WintersPaatelainen so which club has sold us the most duds We didn't sign Young from Dunfermline. Found this site a while ago, looks to be pretty accurate - http://www.neilbrown.newcastlefans.com/aberdeen/aberdeen.htm Link to comment