Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Won't be Aberdeen. Dundee has made the shortlist for the UK City of Culture in 2017, but Aberdeen has missed out. A total of 11 towns and cities were in contention for the accolade. Hull, Leicester and Swansea Bay were the other three to make the shortlist. The winner will be announced in November. The other contenders were Chester, East Kent, Hastings and Bexhill on Sea, Plymouth, Portsmouth and Southampton, and Southend-on-Sea. Ken Guild, Dundee City Council's administration leader and chairman of the Dundee Partnership, said: "This is wonderful news for the city and all the organisations and individuals who have passionately backed our case. "Dundee's ambition to be city of culture is based on enthusiastic participation in the arts across our communities. "Winning City of Culture status would have a huge impact on Dundee and we want to enjoy those benefits for years to come." 'Hard work'VisitScotland's chief executive Malcolm Roughead said Dundee's inclusion on the shortlist was "fantastic news for both the city and for Scotland". He said: "To have reached this stage, in what is a highly competitive process, is testament to the hard work of the team and their dedication to the strong cultural offering of the city. "Dundee is a city which has invested in cultural-led urban renewal, with the new V&A in particular already attracting significant interest from across the cultural sector. "The city has a strong cultural reputation, with a number of great organisations and partnerships delivering some hugely exciting projects, events and festivals." Television presenter Lorraine Kelly also expressed delight at Dundee's success. The team behind Aberdeen's bid expressed disappointment at the news, but congratulated Dundee. Stars including singer Emeli Sande and comedian Billy Connolly had supported the Granite City's bid. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-22934375 Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 No shock - our city centre is an embarressment. Hopefully a wake up call for our council who thought we actually had a chance!! 3 Link to comment
Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Author Share Posted June 19, 2013 Aye, when you're losing out to Hull and Leicester there's something wrong. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 aye all very true harcus but dumps like hull regenerated themselves over a decade ago. aberdeen is yet to do that. Link to comment
Henry Posted June 19, 2013 Author Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've no idea Bluto min, I've never even seen a picture of Hull on the internet. It just seems like one of those hellish English towns that are grim as fuck: Hull, Rotherham, Oldham, Burnley etc Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 No shock - our city centre is an embarressment. Hopefully a wake up call for our council who thought we actually had a chance!! Disappointing. No shock Dundee got through ahead of this, currently going through a lot of re-generation and new development with backing from councils, business and locals. Aberdeen don't go anywhere as the council couldn't run a piss up in a brewery, companies in Aberdeen are withdrawing funding from such projects and focussing more on charitable contributions and of course the NIMBY element who block anything happening in Aberdeen. There are a lot of good ideas about Aberdeen and it could really have benefitted with getting this, or at least progressing. Duthie Park is a prime example of what can be done with a bit of backing and support, looking immeasureably better with the ongoing work. Shame more things don't actually come to fruition. 1 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've been to Hull twice. It's a very grim place. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Sad times. Just shows that Dundee's hard work to improve their city is paying off while our Council remains in the dark ages. Hull is the biggest hell hole I've ever been to, albeit, I was only around a 2 mile radius of the KC Stadium. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Fuck Aberdeen city council, Aberdeens a hole cause their cunts. 1 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Fuck Aberdeen city council, Aberdeens a hole cause their cunts. encourage other capable people to run for Council then. and vote for them. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Union Street is a fuc*ing disgrace...the Queens Cross end now resembles something akin to Skid Row...bookies , pish pubs and jakey cu*ts looking for loose change...Oil Capital of Europe...with an airport (no offence tup) more suitable for Wick than a supposed Boom Town. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 encourage other capable people to run for Council then. and vote for them. No one who is capable of anything other than horrendous incompetence has anything to do with a cooncil. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 No one who is capable of anything other than horrendous incompetence has anything to do with a cooncil. Pretty much. In addition, when it comes to Aberdeen, it attracts the kind of NIMBY folk who only go in to make sure things that can progress the city in anyway can't go through. Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've been to Hull twice. It's a very grim place. The marina area in Hull is great, also thought the City itself was alright, same goes for Leicester, beautiful place. Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I'd run for council if I thought I could get in, I'd never join Labour, Liberals or the Snp though so have no chance of ever getting in. Labour ignoring the peoples vote for the raised garden killed any chance we ever had of getting this, shocking they went against the will of the people. Link to comment
beer gut Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 City of culture Some reasons why Aberdeen had no chance UTG . A classic example of Aberdeen city councils stupidity. They go to the expense of holding a referendum which ends up in a yes vote but totally ignore the result. The Haudagain Roundabout. The worst roundabout in the UK. It’s been a nightmare for years but nothing has been done. Despite this the council thinks it’s a good idea to allow the building of more homes at Stoneywood and 900 more Mugiemoss and a new business park in dyce. That will improve the situation..NOT. Union street is a complete shitehole nowadays. I honestly feel embarrassed every time I have to walk/drive through it. All bookies, pound shops and beggars. Why don’t they turn the old shops into offices or flats or something. Get more people into the area who will spend money and revive the street? The 3rd don crossing, another traffic easing scheme that’s going nowhere, and we all know about the new Pittodrie shambles. I also think the Scottish government should shoulder some of the blame for the state Aberdeen finds itself in. Aberdeen probably contributes more money than it receives and it shows. We are probably subsidising Dundee. 5 Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 We are probably subsidising Dundee. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 We are probably subsidising Dundee.We have history for this...albeit Dundee United...if memory serves in the disaster Dodds /Winters deal we continued to pay half of Dodds wage for the 2 seasons...Good God. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Dundee's city centre is far better than ours. In fact, almost every city centre in the fucking world is better than ours currently. I think it's fitting that the only place in the city centre, on the level with union street, that people can sit and relax is the graveyard! Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 We have history for this...albeit Dundee United...if memory serves in the disaster Dodds /Winters deal we continued to pay half of Dodds wage for the 2 seasons...Good God.Typical Aiberdeen Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 I've no idea Bluto min, I've never even seen a picture of Hull on the internet. It just seems like one of those hellish English towns that are grim as fuck: Hull, Rotherham, Oldham, Burnley etc probably not but do you think your average englander has ever seen a picture of aberdeen?its nae exactly high profile. im sure those cities are all grim in places. ditto bradford, sheffield, sunderland, gateshead, etc etc. but i bet you if you go into the city centre there will be signs of modernity and dynamism that are not evident in aberdeen. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 UTG . A classic example of Aberdeen city councils stupidity. They go to the expense of holding a referendum which ends up in a yes vote but totally ignore the result. Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't it the previous Administration who organised, held and were happy to go ahead with the wishes of the UTG referendum? Once the Labour/Tory coalition went in, they pulled the plug on it. Fucking joke. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 For a master of the pun you missed Grimsby Harcus...Cleethorpes is particularly depressing it has to be said...it merges with Grimsby in a fu*king depressing kind of way. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Sad times. Just shows that Dundee's hard work to improve their city is paying off while our Council remains in the dark ages. Hull is the biggest hell hole I've ever been to, albeit, I was only around a 2 mile radius of the KC Stadium.Aye seemed like a right shithole, however other parts may be alright (like anywhere really). Was the KC in the middle of a park? Seem to remember walking through a park to get up to it anyway. Nice idea if it is. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't it the previous Administration who organised, held and were happy to go ahead with the wishes of the UTG referendum? Once the Labour/Tory coalition went in, they pulled the plug on it. Fucking joke.If ACC is run by a labour/tory coalition, no wonder the place is radiply going downhill, all the councillors will be interested in is point scoring/getting one over the other party! Link to comment
dave_min Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Aye seemed like a right shithole, however other parts may be alright (like anywhere really). Was the KC in the middle of a park? Seem to remember walking through a park to get up to it anyway. Nice idea if it is. Aye it was. What I seen of Hull was well nice. Got off the train into beautiful sunshine, went to a decent pub by the station. Got a taxi which dropped me off in a leafy park, had a pleasant walk to a nice modern Stadium. I've no doubt some if the place is hell on earth though. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 Scunthorpe is a dive of the highest order. Link to comment
360 Posted June 19, 2013 Share Posted June 19, 2013 If Dundee can get onto the shortlist, I see no reason as to why Middlesbrough can't find itself on there next time. Link to comment