terenceandphilip Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Love, love, love this band, they make me glad to be alive. Best band ever imo - but what time are they on and what channel on TV? I'm recording BBC2 from 10:30pm - will that do it? Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Meh, pensioners playing old tunes don't do it for me. Would have preferred Green Day to headline. 2 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 been there shit loads of times done some of my best drinking there highlighys include, but not limited to: stevie wondercoldplay twiceu2maccartneyoasispulpthe who proper big boy shit 1 4 Link to comment
buchanskii Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 I dislike live music events and festivals. Bloody hippies Link to comment
OddJob Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 I love the Stones music from back in the day but they really should have packed it in a long time ago Link to comment
zanderstobleroneheid Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Not a patch on the who imo Link to comment
Pash Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Johnny Marr on the red button for anyone cool out there. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Johnny Marr on the red button for anyone cool out there.LOL. Yeah Johnny Marr who became relevant in 1982, available on the red button for all you cool kids looking for a modern alternative to those old fogeys who became relevant way back in 1964. Which band was he playing in this week? Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Not a patch on the who imoHalf of The Who are dead though. Only one of The Stones is dead. The Who have some great singles but are nowhere near as prolific as The Stones. Or as good (imo). Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 I dislike live music events and festivals. Bloody hippiesBoooooooo Fuck you, Nazi. Edit: I need to add a 'Lol' or something because I'm not being entirely serious but why wouldn't you like music events and/or festivals or indeed music festivals. Bizarre. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 29, 2013 Share Posted June 29, 2013 Meh, pensioners playing old tunes don't do it for me. Would have preferred Green Day to headline. Green Day?!?? Headline?!? Jebus Christ. I caught a bit of their set once at T in the Park whilst on my way to see Ian Brown. No thanks. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Did Green Day not headline TITP a few years back and didn't allow it to be filmed and shown by BBC (or any network) as they were putting it on a DVD? Wank$ Link to comment
1983 Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Did Green Day not headline TITP a few years back and didn't allow it to be filmed and shown by BBC (or any network) as they were putting it on a DVD? Wank$Very nearly happened last night with the stones. They only wanted the BBC to show the first four songs due to a live DVD they're doing. Mick had to be convinced they would be showing themselves to potentially new audience. In the end they still didn't allow the full set to be broadcast. It has to be said that if ever there was a positive argument for drug use, last night was it. Without years of hard core drug use and artificial stimulation I doubt they could still feed themselves nevermind play 2 hours. It looked like a Wonga advert. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 I dislike live music events and festivals. Bloody hippies Hippies?!? You have obv never been to a festival, unless you class neds as 'hippies' these days. (I'm not slagging off festivals, I'm going to my 12th (and final!) T in the Park this year, but the general crowd is made up of neds usually. Maybe not quite as much as Glasto, but dunno how many hippies can afford the ticket price) Link to comment
Quagmire Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Been sat at work listening to BBC 6 Music all weekend, Glastonbury has sounded immense this year. How hard is it to get tickets? Think we're going to try for next year. Hopefully Arcade Fire will be in the running to headline if they're releasing an album towards the end of this year. Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Green Day?!?? Headline?!? Jebus Christ. I caught a bit of their set once at T in the Park whilst on my way to see Ian Brown. No thanks. Headlining Reading/Leeds this year, amazing band. Link to comment
terenceandphilip Posted June 30, 2013 Author Share Posted June 30, 2013 their purple patch was the 4 albums from Beggar's Banquet to Exile and in that time they were HOT HOT HOT Watching them today is different, but good on them for keeping going. I know people in the 30s who are WAY OLD before their time, so watching 70 year olds parading around last night is a tonic imo. Nice to see Mick Taylor on stage, they were at their most sublime with him in the band. Link to comment
Redstar Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 The Stones are very like Bowie...fantastic at their peak...had a decent comeback in the 80s...and should just fu*k off now...dreadful old cu*ts just going thru the motions...fu*k 'em 1 Link to comment
cow Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 I Quite liked Bowies new album Redstar. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Saw the Stones at the opening of Ford Field stadium in Detroit, they are fucking immense. Also saw Bowie and Duran Duran at Ford Field, Yank bands don't come within a million miles of the British. Funny thing is the Stones are supposed to be a Chicago Blues band... but whatever... they're tremendous. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Who's Bowie? Think it's well before my time. Link to comment
cow Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Who's Bowie? Think it's well before my time. Number1 about 15 weeks ago. You must be a talented baby. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Jokes I ken fa David Bowie is Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Mumford and sons are making my ears bleed. 3 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 30, 2013 Share Posted June 30, 2013 Who's Bowie? Think it's well before my time. If you need a contemporary parallel, he's like Justin Beiber, if Justin Beiber had talent, wrote his own music, sang without autotune, and was capable of changing his music and style to remain relevant for circa four decades Link to comment
boboisared Posted July 1, 2013 Share Posted July 1, 2013 If you need a contemporary parallel, he's like Justin Beiber, if Justin Beiber had talent, wrote his own music, sang without autotune, and was capable of changing his music and style to remain relevant for circa four decades He also snatched babies for a period in the 80s. Link to comment
dave_min Posted July 1, 2013 Share Posted July 1, 2013 Meh, pensioners playing old tunes don't do it for me. Would have preferred Green Day to headline. You must be getting old if you think that some almost-50 "punks" are better than some almost dead "rockers". Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 1, 2013 Share Posted July 1, 2013 you canna beat glastonbury when it comes to music and havin a good time. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 1, 2013 Share Posted July 1, 2013 you canna beat glastonbury when it comes to music and havin a good time. Insightful Link to comment
MincePie Posted July 1, 2013 Share Posted July 1, 2013 Arctic Monkeys were really good, Alex Turner is a great frontman. Link to comment