Jocky Balboa Posted July 11, 2013 Share Posted July 11, 2013 The new revelations from Ryan O'Leary and Calderclown's antics toward him have raised some interesting comments elsewhere about workplace bullies, so I thought it merited its own discussion. Personally, while I admire strong management (and people who know when to be hard but fair) workplace bullies like JC et al are, in my view, the worst kind of bully. While a street minker picking on an unassuming stranger in a pub is reprehensible enough, at least that person has a chance to defend themselves without losing their job AND it is on neutral territory, making the perpetrator's risk factor that bit higher and less cowardly (even if only slightly less). But no, those who abuse power (often unmerited in the first place) granted them are a different kind of minker. That they prey on those supposed to be working FOR them, creating toxic working environments through their own inadequacies, is a different story. Cowards one and all. Sadly, they only learn when someone chins them. 5 1 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 11, 2013 Share Posted July 11, 2013 The new revelations from Ryan O'Leary and Calderclown's antics toward him have raised some interesting comments elsewhere about workplace bullies, so I thought it merited its own discussion. Personally, while I admire strong management (and people who know when to be hard but fair) workplace bullies like JC et al are, in my view, the worst kind of bully. While a street minker picking on an unassuming stranger in a pub is reprehensible enough, at least that person has a chance to defend themselves without losing their job AND it is on neutral territory, making the perpetrator's risk factor that bit higher and less cowardly (even if only slightly less). But no, those who abuse power (often unmerited in the first place) granted them are a different kind of minker. That they prey on those supposed to be working FOR them, creating toxic working environments through their own inadequacies, is a different story. Cowards one and all. Sadly, they only learn when someone chins them. It's typical bullying, the bully picks on a weaker member of the group, one that the bully is sure won't be able to stand up for him or herself. Those who allow it to happen, however, are just as culpable as the bully. Usually people don't want to lose their job, so a boss can pretty much bully till his little heart's content. So not only is Calderwood a prick if the story is true but the senior players who stood for it should hang their heads inna... though remembering the players we had at that time I'm sure they all thought it was fine. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted July 11, 2013 Share Posted July 11, 2013 Bet Langfield stood by & did nothing. Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I abhor all bullying, had a boss at work who always took a dislike to a apprentice, usually 1 out of the 3 we used to get every second year, the smallest one funnily enough. My breaking point was seeing a 17 year old lad in tears in the workshop one day, I wasn't the only one and a revolt took place, nothing physical but through the proper channel, got HR involved and told them enough was enough and we wouldn't put up with it any longer. The guy is still boss but must have had a warning or whatever as he now keeps his head down. We should have did it sooner but a fine line exists between getting an apprentice ready for an offshore/workshop environment and bullying, slagging and banter are part of the game though this guy didn't do it in fun, I think he enjoyed the power he had breaking these kids down. 2 Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I abhor all bullying, had a boss at work who always took a dislike to a apprentice, usually 1 out of the 3 we used to get every second year, the smallest one funnily enough. My breaking point was seeing a 17 year old lad in tears in the workshop one day, I wasn't the only one and a revolt took place, nothing physical but through the proper channel, got HR involved and told them enough was enough and we wouldn't put up with it any longer. The guy is still boss but must have had a warning or whatever as he now keeps his head down. We should have did it sooner but a fine line exists between getting an apprentice ready for an offshore/workshop environment and bullying, slagging and banter are part of the game though this guy didn't do it in fun, I think he enjoyed the power he had breaking these kids down. I did say you were a stand up guy, despite your overt psychosis For my part I've a pathological mistrust (bordering on hatred) of authority, and one thing I won't stand for in the workplace is bullying. I've been involved in various heated discussions with bosses, either on my own behalf or on that of others. My dislike for authority went hand in hand with my not giving a fuck if I got sacked or not. My old supervisor referred to me as 'Bolshie'... which was fair enough, since I did try to organise the guys in my department on more than one occasion against what I felt were pretty blatant attempts to fuck us over. On one occasion we were given our new contracts, and in it was a clause that the company could essentially lay us off for up to six months, without wages, and that during that time we weren't allowed to get new jobs and that the company could come in and rehire us at any time during that six months. They wanted us to sign that. Seriously. I think they figured no-one was going to read the contract. Fucking chancers. I read it, spoke to a lawyer, the company had to revise every contract. I was not up for promotion with that particular company. Anyway, I digress, none of us should stand for bullying, and good for you for sticking your neck out, Link to comment
daytripping Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 It may not come as a surprise that my mouth has held me back at work, I treat everyone the same, from cleaner to president you're the same in my book, it does me no favours but the upside is I get no hassle off anyone. After 17 years with the same firm though I'm debating moving on, the wages on offer in Aberdeen for semi competent people like me are huge, I need to break the chain and grab some of it. On my daughters life a manager told me my promotion prospects were hampered as I was known as a football hooligan, he advised I took up hill climbing, I've not been involved in anything for nigh on ten years. He even suggested I was unreliable because I got a broken jaw, the company I keep apparently. I despise tossers like that. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Thing is Dayts - his sheltered viewpoint is shared by the majority. If your main pastime had been hill walking instead of scrapping at the football, then your career would more than likely have taken a different path. Aberdeen is a goldfish bowl too, if you really want to shed your shackles you'd need a move away. The city is not big enough to have a past. There are probably only one or two degrees of seperation between every single person in the city. 1 Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Supervisor I have is a callous gutless piece of shit that bullies folk that refuse to tongue his hoop. Has a willing accomplice in his deputy supe, who he's scared of and allows to hassle all the staff. Worst thing of it is I've had the worst of it for years: from being denied training, to being hounded for data, hassle for daring to improve upon a procedure- Jesus Christ, you'd think I'd murdered a kid for that! Oh, and you see all the hoop lickers that get all the opportunites and training? It should come as no surprise that they to a very creepy man, are utterly shite at their jobs. Now, I've something in common with the O Leary loon. I, too have suffered from depression for ages, although it took up until only a couple of years ago to get properly diagnosed. Told my supervisor, thought I'd done th right thing there, and it seemed that he understood, he also claimed that he'd told his deputy and informed head arselicker (a total creep who's being fast tracked for management- fuck knows why, he canna even manage his own weight) of my condition, and they were to give me all the support they could. Turns out he had told nobody, even his own boss, as I later found out he just put down on an appraisal form that I was suffering from "a medical condition that I needed to overcome". Anyway, the meds I'm on fair help my condition, a bit o self belief's changed me for the better. Not that that's improved me in the eyes of the gaffer, he's actually urged me to stop my medication, cos he doesn't like the personality I've got now, I think he wants the easily bullied me back. As for what causes bullying? Insecurity, jealousy, ignorance. In my case, also topped with a massive dose of snobbery: I'm a loon fast went to St Machar, spik the Doric, love ma fitba, women and beer. Boss is a privately educated middle class wankstain. 2 Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 In Aberdeen, if you dont like your job for whatever reason, you more than likely have the option to fuck off somewhere else and likely get paid more for doing the same job. 1 Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 cunts employ cunts, Ive had the fortune to have been employed by various managers who have all been decent blokes, normally the cunts above, are just that.... I sat at a town-hall meeting thing a few years back, the CEO, was a cunt, acted like a cunt and had a cuntish attitude....at that point I thought, Im nae working for this company. my main problem in the past is taking these cunts to the side at various events and telling them they are cunts, which I suppose isnt the best thing to do for yer career, but fukk it, the pleasure it gives me to tackle these cunts and make them aware that they carry no worth in my life, makes my life worth living. A bully will soon back-track, when met with someone with a cool head and an ability to knock them oot. Link to comment
Tyrant Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I'm fortunate enough to have never experienced bullying in the work place either directed at myself or others around me. I wouldn't stand for getting bullied for a split second and although that's probably clear from my personality I don't think I've ever worked with anyone that would have bullied me even if they thought they could. I've been really lucky. Having said that I start a new job soon and hope this contunues to be the case there. Link to comment
Nelly Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Supervisor I have is a callous gutless piece of shit that bullies folk that refuse to tongue his hoop. Has a willing accomplice in his deputy supe, who he's scared of and allows to hassle all the staff. Worst thing of it is I've had the worst of it for years: from being denied training, to being hounded for data, hassle for daring to improve upon a procedure- Jesus Christ, you'd think I'd murdered a kid for that! Oh, and you see all the hoop lickers that get all the opportunites and training? It should come as no surprise that they to a very creepy man, are utterly shite at their jobs. Now, I've something in common with the O Leary loon. I, too have suffered from depression for ages, although it took up until only a couple of years ago to get properly diagnosed. Told my supervisor, thought I'd done th right thing there, and it seemed that he understood, he also claimed that he'd told his deputy and informed head arselicker (a total creep who's being fast tracked for management- fuck knows why, he canna even manage his own weight) of my condition, and they were to give me all the support they could. Turns out he had told nobody, even his own boss, as I later found out he just put down on an appraisal form that I was suffering from "a medical condition that I needed to overcome". Anyway, the meds I'm on fair help my condition, a bit o self belief's changed me for the better. Not that that's improved me in the eyes of the gaffer, he's actually urged me to stop my medication, cos he doesn't like the personality I've got now, I think he wants the easily bullied me back. As for what causes bullying? Insecurity, jealousy, ignorance. In my case, also topped with a massive dose of snobbery: I'm a loon fast went to St Machar, spik the Doric, love ma fitba, women and beer. Boss is a privately educated middle class wankstain. Begs the question, why don't you leave? The company you work for does have a habit of making their employess feel rather worthless, its amazing how many good guys I've seen turn down offers from other companies due to their new found insecurities. Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 An old Geordie Driller I worked for a few years back had a saying which I have observed over the years to be around 99% accurate..."the higher the monkey climbs,the more of his arse you see"...I've seen good lads turn into complete pricks when they get promoted over a certain level...money and bonuses are usually to blame. 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Left school at 16 and started working life as a chef, working in a kitchen 22 years ago was similar to working on a building site, the young lads were subjected to all sorts of shite, verbal and physical. In my own experience that shite ranged from removing the spark plugs from my bike so when I tried to start it at 11.30pm the engine flooded and it took me an hour to get myself back up and running to the 2nd chef screaming in your face before throwing knives across the kitchen in fits of rage that would bounce within inches of you. Big lad I was and slightly unhinged, 18 stone, 6 foot. 2nd chef only messed with me like that once. I was sacked for his knife throwing. His knife didnt hit me, the massive soup pan, my fists and my steelies sure as hell hit him though. A week after I was sacked I went back to collect my knives, they were 'missing'. My dad, being from the time of apprenticeships then went up and laid out his own justice to the 40+ year old 2nd chef that had been bullying his son for months. I'd like to think none of this sort of stuff would happen now but the sad thing is this was how training used to work when you were an apprentice. They had it done to them, they then saw it as their duty to do it to you. Link to comment
fatjim Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I was bullied by a supervisor who thought he was untouchable because his wife was the boss.He bullied several female members of staff and made most of them cry. He constantly would threaten me with the sack and set me unrealistic targets so that he could sack me. When I met those targets he would set them higher. Everytime I met them he was so pissed off. To be fair I made every attempt to fuck him over also.Once he said to me to just make a decision and do and I said I did make a decision, I decided to ask you because that is what you are there for. Another time he gave me advice on a case but I decided his advice was incorrect and other supervisors agreed with me. When this all came out and I explained that they agreed with me he told me to Fuck off in front of other staff members.Eventually he did find a reason to get rid of me and it gave me great joy to tell him what I thought of him. He basically fucked with my life and the life of my wife and daughter because I was smarter and more likeable than him. A month ago he sent me a friend request on Facebook which really was astonishing. I sent him a message querying whether he was drunk when he sent it. He was always stinking of booze in the job and really only got away with it because of his wife's position.The chat I had with him was hilarious as at every point I had a dig about his drunkeness and lack of people skills. I rubbed it in his face that my comedy was going pretty well and that he was now selling mattresses. A total cunt of a man. 1 1 Link to comment
Pash Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 We just send our apprentices down to stores for a long stand or an extended weight. Link to comment
Tyrant Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I was bullied by a supervisor who thought he was untouchable because his wife was the boss.He bullied several female members of staff and made most of them cry. He constantly would threaten me with the sack and set me unrealistic targets so that he could sack me. When I met those targets he would set them higher. Everytime I met them he was so pissed off. To be fair I made every attempt to fuck him over also.Once he said to me to just make a decision and do and I said I did make a decision, I decided to ask you because that is what you are there for. Another time he gave me advice on a case but I decided his advice was incorrect and other supervisors agreed with me. When this all came out and I explained that they agreed with me he told me to Fuck off in front of other staff members.Eventually he did find a reason to get rid of me and it gave me great joy to tell him what I thought of him. He basically fucked with my life and the life of my wife and daughter because I was smarter and more likeable than him. A month ago he sent me a friend request on Facebook which really was astonishing. I sent him a message querying whether he was drunk when he sent it. He was always stinking of booze in the job and really only got away with it because of his wife's position.The chat I had with him was hilarious as at every point I had a dig about his drunkeness and lack of people skills. I rubbed it in his face that my comedy was going pretty well and that he was now selling mattresses. A total cunt of a man. You lost me at that point FJ. Link to comment
fatjim Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 You lost me at that point FJ. Probably because it is not a word that has ever been used to describe you.However in this context with the word more in front of it it merely means that this cunt was so unlikeable that I would only need to be a bit likeable to be more likeable. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I was bullied by a supervisor who thought he was untouchable because his wife was the boss.He bullied several female members of staff and made most of them cry. He constantly would threaten me with the sack and set me unrealistic targets so that he could sack me. When I met those targets he would set them higher. Everytime I met them he was so pissed off. To be fair I made every attempt to fuck him over also.Once he said to me to just make a decision and do and I said I did make a decision, I decided to ask you because that is what you are there for. Another time he gave me advice on a case but I decided his advice was incorrect and other supervisors agreed with me. When this all came out and I explained that they agreed with me he told me to Fuck off in front of other staff members.Eventually he did find a reason to get rid of me and it gave me great joy to tell him what I thought of him. He basically fucked with my life and the life of my wife and daughter because I was smarter and more likeable than him. A month ago he sent me a friend request on Facebook which really was astonishing. I sent him a message querying whether he was drunk when he sent it. He was always stinking of booze in the job and really only got away with it because of his wife's position.The chat I had with him was hilarious as at every point I had a dig about his drunkeness and lack of people skills. I rubbed it in his face that my comedy was going pretty well and that he was now selling mattresses. A total cunt of a man.You nae get your 6ft 8 brother roon & fill him in? Link to comment
fatjim Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 You nae get your 6ft 8 brother roon & fill him in?I prefer destroying people mentally rather than physically. Link to comment
dervish Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 On my daughters life a manager told me my promotion prospects were hampered as I was known as a football hooligan, he advised I took up hill climbing, I've not been involved in anything for nigh on ten years. He even suggested I was unreliable because I got a broken jaw, the company I keep apparently. Fucking hell who the fuck does that? Get stuck in about that cunt of a boss GS. Dealt with exactly the same sort previously. Posh accent papers over many sins, for awhile. I've not had too many bullies just useless people who talk utter shite with completely confidence (see above). Link to comment
Ke1t Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Fucking hell who the fuck does that? Get stuck in about that cunt of a boss GS. Dealt with exactly the same sort previously. Posh accent papers over many sins, for awhile. I've not had too many bullies just useless people who talk utter shite with completely confidence (see above). I was told to stop playing fitba before I got a promotion at one place of work. I was also told that I should lose one of my mates because he was a bad influence or somesuch shite. I forget the exact words used. No joke. That boss was politely told to shove his promotion clean up his arse... though I did still get the promotion, surprisingly. 1 Link to comment
caledonia Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 I was bullied by a supervisor who thought he was untouchable because his wife was the boss.He bullied several female members of staff and made most of them cry. He constantly would threaten me with the sack and set me unrealistic targets so that he could sack me. When I met those targets he would set them higher. Everytime I met them he was so pissed off. To be fair I made every attempt to fuck him over also.Once he said to me to just make a decision and do and I said I did make a decision, I decided to ask you because that is what you are there for. Another time he gave me advice on a case but I decided his advice was incorrect and other supervisors agreed with me. When this all came out and I explained that they agreed with me he told me to Fuck off in front of other staff members.Eventually he did find a reason to get rid of me and it gave me great joy to tell him what I thought of him. He basically fucked with my life and the life of my wife and daughter because I was smarter and more likeable than him. A month ago he sent me a friend request on Facebook which really was astonishing. I sent him a message querying whether he was drunk when he sent it. He was always stinking of booze in the job and really only got away with it because of his wife's position.The chat I had with him was hilarious as at every point I had a dig about his drunkeness and lack of people skills. I rubbed it in his face that my comedy was going pretty well and that he was now selling mattresses. A total cunt of a man. always thought you were a clown Link to comment
fatjim Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 always thought you were a clown Always known you are a retard. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted July 13, 2013 Author Share Posted July 13, 2013 Interesting stories. I actually owe my current boss a debt of gratitude, as his pathetic attempts to bully me convinced me and my lady to uproot and return to Scotland sooner rather than later. He is just like the kind some of you described, the insecure fat cunt type, who was most likely a Billy-nae-mates at school and/or wasn't loved enough by his own family. He looks down on me because I'm far better educated than him (even trying to block my path towards Chartership) and treats the ethnic minorities in the company like dogshit (it's like being at a fucking KKK rally watching him bully the couple of blacks we have. Awful to watch). I dealt with it maturely, through raising grievance procedures. While it won't change the essence of people like this, who are effectively scum and can't be changed, you can walk away with your head held high knowing you are the better person. Aberdeen, here we come! Link to comment