Karl Fletcher Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 It's Friday. The sun is out. And according to boofon these days I'm a raging alcoholic so I thought I would try and get an AFC-Chat Pub Guide on the go. Doesn't neccesarily need to be in Aberdeen. I'll start off with an obvious one. The jewel in Aberdeen's crown, The Grill. Great pints and a superb malt whisky selection. They also apparently have a bottle of whisky that was on the Titanic. Not sure if I believe that, though. So what's your favourite pub(s)? Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 One of my favourite pubs, been in there at all times during the day and night, one of the best pints in the town. I like most pubs, all have something different to offer. I like the spiders in Dyce, know most of the locals and have drank in there on and off for most of my adult like. I like the holburn, glentanar and adam / hawthorn. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Arsed spending an afternoon in a pub like the Grill on a day like today. Not that I dislike it or anything. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Abergeldie.Holburn.Abercrombie.Grill.Bobbin Mill.Stag. Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 My auntie Liz has worked (still does?) in the Spiders for a long time. Great woman. Liz Gibson? Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Dizzys for me...great food nae to overpriced bevvy and a decent smokers garden. 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 New bar just opened across from Brew Dog. Over 400 beers, allegedly. almost 40 on draft, 360+ bottles. Loads of Belg stuff, home brewed, micro brewery, ahin thats nae chemically ruined pishwater like tennents. I'll be giving it a proper go tomorrow. Link to comment
Red Dragon Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Big fan of The Marine in Stonehaven. Quality selection of beers and Whisky and a grand setting to sit outside on a fine day (fuckin harr bastard tho'). 1 Link to comment
360 Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Archies Justice Mill Wild Boar Wordie's End. 1 Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Dizzys for me...great food nae to overpriced bevvy and a decent smokers garden. I like dizzys - go there most fridays, But to say it isnt overpriced? Its one of the most expensive bars i go to. Link to comment
radiatorbleeder Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 the grill.. pint with a malt o the week chaser. fiiine Link to comment
tup Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Hawthorn/Adam Lounge. Victoria Bar. Masada. 3 best bars in Aberdeen. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 12, 2013 Author Share Posted July 12, 2013 The Masada is an excellent boozer. Was never out of the place when I lived in Rosemount. And they do a bus to Dandies games. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Archies Justice MillFerryhill TavernGrillWagleys PitScotiaNorthern Hotel (nae sure what the actual name of the bar is- maybe the Clifton Bar) Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 The Masada is an excellent boozer. Was never out of the place when I lived in Rosemount. Drink problem...He's in denial. I bet he's in the bar as we speak while his wife is at home struggling to keep on top of everything. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 12, 2013 Author Share Posted July 12, 2013 Only sad pricks would be on AFC Chat while sitting in the pub. Link to comment
tup Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 And he certainly fits the sad prick criteria. 2 Link to comment
Foster14 Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 A List Adam LoungeKorovaMa CameronsO'DonoghuesPrince of WalesQueen VicThe GlobeThe GrillThe HowffThe StagWordies B List Albyn (Sunny day outside)Braided FigDutch MillIllicit StillMcGintysNumber 10 (Friday after work only)Pitt Bar (pre/post-fitba only)Siberia (good pint of Heineken)The CollegeUnder The Hammer Z List (Some probably wouldn't class themselves as pubs) Amicus AppleDuskFilthy McNastysJustice MillOrchidParamountProhibitionRevo-fucking-lutionThe FoundryTonikTriple Kirks Pretty much city centre orientated. Market Street, for whatever reason, is a heap I've not been in that often. Loads missed, but those are the more regularly frequented places. 1 Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 12, 2013 Author Share Posted July 12, 2013 Fit's wrang with Filthys? Never had a bad night in there. Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Aye nothing wrong with Filthys Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Fit's wrang with Filthys? Never had a bad night in there.Nice place but prices are obscene for a pub. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted July 12, 2013 Author Share Posted July 12, 2013 Same everywhere in town I suppose. The Stag is a good pub but £3.25 a pint, jeezo. Think you're something like £3.05 in the Grill. Does anywhere in town do pints under £2.80 these days? Dutch Mill is £3.80 or something Link to comment
Foster14 Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Each to their own. Things like karaoke (fuck off) and that put me off a pub. Crap pint in my experience. Probably at the top end of Z list, but would never go there unless in a larger group and that is the consensus. Forgot Monkey House of my original Z list as well... Link to comment
jassb Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Does anywhere in town do pints under £2.80 these days?£2.20 for a pint of Tennents in The Foundry if you want a cheap pint. Justice Mill and Archibald Simpsons around that too but I don't go there so couldn't be certain. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 Foundry isnae a bad pub. Worst pub for me has got to be the Brewdog, whilst I'm quite partial to the beer, the place is run and inhabited by pretentious wankers. It was better when it was the Mariscal Bar. Have the expectation that the new place 6°n just down the road will be exactly the same. 1 1 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted July 12, 2013 Share Posted July 12, 2013 All the mentalists that go to Bells bar will have to find somewhere else to go.It's getting demolished. Link to comment