Phoenix Wolves Vs Charlotte Eagles About To Start

With the USL season winding down, Mackie's Wolves are about to take on the Charlotte Eagles. You can watch it live on uslnation.com.

Mackie seems to have been dropped again... having bagged himself a total of no goals for the Wolves this season, so he could finish this season on no goals, which would probably a bit disappointing for the Dazzler.

Pitch is looking good...

pitch.jpg

Been following the USL a bit this season, makes life a bit more bearable when the SP(F)L isn't on.

It's a pretty bad standard.

Still, it's fitba.

Video seems to be streaming from a cheap webcam, with audio via a broken CB from circa 1982.

Commentator sounds like he's never seen, or commentated on, a game of fitba before in his life.

Enjoy

http://www.uslnation.com/USLPro/index_dynamic.aspx?fid=1247&eid=7/27%20Phoenix%20@%20Charlotte

EDIT EDIT: I think the local police despatch frequency is the same as whatever band the commentary is on... every few seconds the audio is interrupted by another signal.

Keeper punts the ball upfiield... "Kitson booms it downrange."

This is top quality socherball.

What in the name of shite is this?

The commentator sounds like he's probably home alone, sweaty, naked and surrounded by empty takeaway boxes and beer cans.

This is USL... which is sub Highland League, really.

Mackie has struggled a bit, though once he's acclimatised watch him explode all over this league.

As for the commentator, I reckon they just found someone who had nothing better to do tonight than wank into an old sock and drink ASDA own-brand lager ;)

Phoenix vs Harrisburg about to start.

No Mackie.

They have had to move their games from the Sun Devil Soccer Stadium to a public park, because they can't afford the rent.

Three players have been released and rumours that the three Brazilians have left too - along with Mackie they've been left out the past few games. They don't have enough money to pay the players. They must be really skint, because on facebook a few guys are claiming wages as so low that most players would make more working at McDonalds. Wouldn't be surprised if Mackie has been cut loose too - he was probably the highest earner.

They have had to move their games from the Sun Devil Soccer Stadium to a public park, because they can't afford the rent.

Three players have been released and rumours that the three Brazilians have left too - along with Mackie they've been left out the past few games. They don't have enough money to pay the players. They must be really skint, because on facebook a few guys are claiming wages as so low that most players would make more working at McDonalds. Wouldn't be surprised if Mackie has been cut loose too - he was probably the highest earner.

It's looking like they're just trying to finish up the season's commitments before they run out of cash.... if they haven't already.

No word on why Mackie's been left out, so it does seem possible that he's gone. I would ask people to keep an eye out at Gregg's, just to see if a suntanned Dazzler has returned to Scotland.

Pity that, I quite enjoyed watching the Phoenix matches on USL, with the added bonus that I was able to routinely shout... "FFS min, Mackie!"

Fans no happy about the situation, that's for sure, particularly the season ticket holders who are now, as you say, watching the game from cement steps at a public park.

It's looking like they're just trying to finish up the season's commitments before they run out of cash.... if they haven't already.

No word on why Mackie's been left out, so it does seem possible that he's gone. I would ask people to keep an eye out at Gregg's, just to see if a suntanned Dazzler has returned to Scotland.

Pity that, I quite enjoyed watching the Phoenix matches on USL, with the added bonus that I was able to routinely shout... "FFS min, Mackie!"

Fans no happy about the situation, that's for sure, particularly the season ticket holders who are now, as you say, watching the game from cement steps at a public park.

Mackie is in Scotland right now. Apparently he's back due to a family bereavement. The Brazilians are all reportedly injured.

Funnily enough, the local amateur players who've been playing recently have been doing a better job! The standard is really bad in that league. Really bad. They were beaten by a Arizona Premier League amateur side in cup earlier in the season. I player premier league amateurs myself and I reckon my team could probably give Phoenix Wolves a good game - if not beat them. Some of the play in that league just doesn't resemble football - it's astounding that some of those players do actually get paid!

briPod, on 27 Jul 2013 - 19:53, said:snapback.png

The commentator sounds like he's probably home alone, sweaty, naked and surrounded by empty takeaway boxes and beer cans.

Surely that description fits Kelt too?

My hoose has AC... dinna ca me sweaty :)

Yank football is utter pish.

Depends on your benchmark.

Compared to the EPL it's fairly poor, true.

Compared to Scottish football, however, it's a step up in terms of quality of football and facilities for the fans.

That gap is just going to widen.

EDIT:

You can -1 me all you want... that's not going to change the reality of things :)

• Downvote 3

From what I've seen the level and league Mackie is playing in is Highland League...and that's being generous.

That'll be because Mackie plays in the USL, the third tier of US 'Soccer'.

It's probably about on a par with Highland league.

From what I've heard from fans who go to US soccer matches, the atmosphere and facilities are generally superb. The atmosphere is strong and safe. The teams have a good solid support and the league is growing slowly but surely. More and more teams are moving into purpose built stadiums. US football is on the rise. Scottish football has the tradition but is dying. US football is building a reputation and is growing. Going forward I'd rather be a US fan than a Scottish one.

Having visited the States, business and on holiday,it's not a place I could live in...Scottish football may be on the wain but Scotland is the best place to stay in the World...hence I rank Scottish Football head and shoulders above the American equivalent ...Yes Pittodrie is a fu*king dump but...it's our dump and I will continue to support , financially and vocally , our game.

From what I've heard from fans who go to US soccer matches, the atmosphere and facilities are generally superb. The atmosphere is strong and safe. The teams have a good solid support and the league is growing slowly but surely. More and more teams are moving into purpose built stadiums. US football is on the rise. Scottish football has the tradition but is dying. US football is building a reputation and is growing. Going forward I'd rather be a US fan than a Scottish one.

Sad (from a Scots' perspective) but true.

MLS teams are at about 20,000 average attendances. The stadiums are new, the facilities are first rate, the clubs understand that their priority is entertaining and keeping the fans happy.

The Sounders are getting something like 40,000 people at a home game... numbers most Scottish clubs couldn't even dream of, and 'Soccer' is still considered a fringe support... though that's going to change in the next 20 years as more and more kids grow up and pass on their love of fitba to their kids. I'm desperate for Detroit to get an MLS... fuck, even a USL.. franchise.

Either way, fitba has taken root in the States, and it is only going to get bigger as attitudes change towards the game here.

Having visited the States, business and on holiday,it's not a place I could live in...Scottish football may be on the wain but Scotland is the best place to stay in the World...hence I rank Scottish Football head and shoulders above the American equivalent ...Yes Pittodrie is a fu*king dump but...it's our dump and I will continue to support , financially and vocally , our game.

I'm merely passing on the observation that Scottish football is now a third rate, corrupt, ineptly run clusterfuck of a league which is dying a death, whereas MLS is a growing, vibrant, professional league that actually understands the importance of the fans.

The idea that Scottish football is better than US 'soccer' in terms of anything but history is laughable, though.

England have already won a world cup.

I'm surprised you've never heard that mentionrd before. :clangers2:

1960-something, wasn't it?

Memory is hazy, but I seem to recall English commentators mentioning it within the first 30 seconds of every international ever played, including those not involving England.

When was the last time an English commentator didn't mention 1966 during an International?