rumpus Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 Anyone done this before? I went and bought an inflatable matress and pillow and am borrowing my chums tent and sleeping bag and am doing this on Monday. Where can you leave your car in Inverness? I am hiring a mountain bike and intend being in Fort William in time to see Scot v Eng on Wednesday night. Is Fort William OK for a night out? Thanks in advance for any assistance. Link to comment
dave_min Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 Is Fort William OK for a night out? No. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 Fort William is great for a night out, although I and my mates got jumped last time Becuase theres so many tourists you always get talking to folk, start off at the Alexandra hotel end and work your way up, its what the locals do, I think its the crofters, then the Ben Nevis, food in the Grog & Gruels not bad to, it has one club Capercaille, its really bad! Quite a lot of Dandies there to, and of course big Duncs from next door in Caol! My folks live on the Great Glen Way, at Banavie, theres a constant stream of walkers going by, I've never done it myself. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 haha, they stay at Bunarkaig, don't know why I said Banavie, thats at the start of the walk, my folks house is about 8 miles along, many of the walkers do go up and ask for water, and even one time a bunch of Frenchies asked to go into the garage for a bit as it was totally pissing it down, my folks are always happy to help, and if you tell them your a Don you''ll even get a cuppa of tea and a can of Tennants Aye, theres no way you wont get talking to folk, the locals can be a bit on the radge side at closing time, just need to try and keep yourself to yourself. When we got jumped we didn't even speak to them, 8 young guys literally steamed in throwing punches, they were so young we couldn't even hit them just had to hold them on the ground!!!!! Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 Is there a point to this walking malarkey? It would be far quicker taking the car. 1 Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 It's Fort William side right on the road, just past the Clan Cameron museum can't miss it Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted August 9, 2013 Share Posted August 9, 2013 Fort william is something of a shit hole. 1 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 10, 2013 Share Posted August 10, 2013 Kilkito,That's a beautiful house, your parents must be very rich.My feelings for your Mum have lain dormant for years, when I see her next week I apologise now for the torrent of lust which will be gushing forth.Is your Dad accident prone? +100 Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 10, 2013 Share Posted August 10, 2013 Ha ha There's no way I'm letting you get your hands on my inheritance Believe me they are not rich but it is a braw house! Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD Link to comment
cow Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 Thought I'd add in that I walked Fort William to Fort Augustus only 3/4 weeks back Rumpus. Before talking a shite tour of loch ness. Guid part of the world, loch lochy to FA being my favourite part. Cow. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted August 20, 2013 Share Posted August 20, 2013 I'm thinking about doing it next summer. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 21, 2013 Share Posted August 21, 2013 Anyone done this before? I went and bought an inflatable matress and pillow and am borrowing my chums tent and sleeping bag and am doing this on Monday. Where can you leave your car in Inverness? I am hiring a mountain bike and intend being in Fort William in time to see Scot v Eng on Wednesday night. Is Fort William OK for a night out? Thanks in advance for any assistance. so? how was it? did you have a good trip? meet Kilkito's mum? have some interesting adventures along the way? Link to comment
Jigot Posted August 22, 2013 Share Posted August 22, 2013 Thank you for the insight Kilkito, sounds like a good place to be, no doubt be full of backpacking Aussies and english, I'm looking forward to it. I have bought a small trowel also so if I need a poop anywhere near parents house, at least it will be buried.Rumpus, if your avatar is an example of the strain you achieve whilst laying cables may I suggest that you how away the small trowel and pack a JCB in the back of your dingy.Human shite is toxic to the environment so I like to do my bit and sundry my doads and smoke them. Though a catalytic converter, that goes without saying. Link to comment
cow Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 I very much admire your eco-friendly outlook towards poop disposal. Please feel free to post up you address and I'll send you some of mine so it can be disposed in a more appropriate manner. There is a eco-composting toilet just further up the loch from kilkitos folks house. It doesn't use and water and it was fucking stinking. I opened the door but the stench was ridiculous, ended up taking a pish against a tree. Link to comment
Jigot Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 I very much admire your eco-friendly outlook towards poop disposal. Please feel free to post up you address and I'll send you some of mine so it can be disposed in a more appropriate manner.I am so glad that our feeling of environmental betterment is on an equal spiritual plateau, rumps, so if you would be so so kind to send your hard end contributions to, www.bettertogether.net and we'll see what we can make out of your donations. Would it be imposing to ask you to post your telephone number so we can call just as you are sitting down to your tea/dinner/butteries? I thought not! Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 You should have went and seen Kilkito's Mum. I hear she's very accomodating. I fully intend to....When I mentioned to my folks that I was offering their hospitality on here in this thread they were a bit horrified Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD Link to comment