ericblack4boss Posted August 10, 2013 Share Posted August 10, 2013 I see the FA are having a day of football in memory of Sir Bob, I think it's fair to say no matter your nationality or your football team. everyone had the utmost respect for Bob, a true gentleman of the game and a man of great integrity too. I for one miss Sir Bob, I think the game is poorer for his loss. 1 1 Link to comment
minijc Posted August 10, 2013 Share Posted August 10, 2013 I see the FA are having a day of football in memory of Sir Bob, I think it's fair to say no matter your nationality or your football team. everyone had the utmost respect for Bob, a true gentleman of the game and a man of great integrity too. I for one miss Sir Bob, I think the game is poorer for his loss.Have you ever met him? if not then you are clearly fucking loopy if you are missing a bloke you never met. 3 Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted August 10, 2013 Author Share Posted August 10, 2013 no I never met Sir Bob, but I miss the passion, the dignity, the good grace he brought the game in an age where greed and corruption are rife, Sir Bobby was a true gentleman.always loved his interviews, he was a great ambassador to the game. 1 1 Link to comment
tutankamun Posted August 10, 2013 Share Posted August 10, 2013 Yes, an admirable guy. I came across this quote from Bobby Robson: "What is a club in any case? "Not the buildings or the directors or the people who are paid to represent it. "It’s not the television contracts, get-out clauses, marketing departments or executive boxes. "It’s the noise, the passion, the feeling of belonging, the pride in your city. "It’s a small boy clambering up stadium steps for the very first time, gripping his father’s hand, gawping at that hallowed stretch of turf beneath him and, without being able to do a thing about it, falling in love." Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted August 10, 2013 Share Posted August 10, 2013 robby bobson came across as a good man, and the respect he hud in the game was tangible. he pretty much set up jose mourhinio on his way to what he is when he was at barca. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 hes a fucking dick take it youre all forgetting what he said about us aye? Was it similar to what you say about Aberdonians? 1 1 Link to comment
RUL Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 hes a fucking dick take it youre all forgetting what he said about us aye? suck meWhat did he say? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 hes a fucking dick take it youre all forgetting what he said about us aye? suck me So you and the boys won't be gathering in an expensively decorated room, wearing Engerland shirts and toasting his memory? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Can't say I thought he was a particularly special football guru. He was passionate about the game and could relate well to Joe Public - that's nae special talent though. Was he a great manager? Underachieved in a few roles I would say, though his work at Ipswich was a brief success. Do I miss him? On about the same level I miss other deid folk I never met. Probably miss John Candy more if we're going to start that tripe. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Can't say I thought he was a particularly special football guru. He was passionate about the game and could relate well to Joe Public - that's nae special talent though. Was he a great manager? Underachieved in a few roles I would say, though his work at Ipswich was a brief success. Do I miss him? On about the same level I miss other deid folk I never met. Probably miss John Candy more if we're going to start that tripe. undoubtedly success in spain, portugal and holland.not to mention unbelievable ipswich period. thought he did quite well with newcastrlke too. also in two world cups he made england a genuine conteder. and that doesnt happen very often. not many great british managers try their luck abroad; id say he is one of the most underrated managers these islands have produced Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Was it in the same category wi what John Candy did with the Jamaican bobsled team? Link to comment
tup Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 He's yesterdays news, broon bread. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Was it in the same category wi what John Candy did with the Jamaican bobsled team? candy peaked with PT&A; thats the movie equivalent of brazil 1970. robsons semi final penalty defeat by the krauts doesnt come close Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Telling the teacher to get a rat to to chew the wart off her face in Uncle Buck was John's career high. Robby Bobson's career high was probably the UEFA Cup for Ipswich. He never won the league with Barca - and had the strongest team in Holland by a country mile with PSV when he won their title(s). Nae sure how well he done at Porto, but being manager there is akin to taking over at Celtic and judging league wins as success. If the Guff media is to be believed, their team in 1990 was the best in the world, so a semi-final has to be seen as failure. I think they did well to get that far, Cameroon and Belgium both came damn close to knocking them out before that. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Telling the teacher to get a rat to to chew the wart off her face in Uncle Buck was John's career high. Robby Bobson's career high was probably the UEFA Cup for Ipswich. He never won the league with Barca - and had the strongest team in Holland by a country mile with PSV when he won their title(s). Nae sure how well he done at Porto, but being manager there is akin to taking over at Celtic and judging league wins as success. If the Guff media is to be believed, their team in 1990 was the best in the world, so a semi-final has to be seen as failure. I think they did well to get that far, Cameroon and Belgium both came damn close to knocking them out before that. im thinking you dinna really like him much chutney. i know he never won the league with barca. and no psv did not have the strongest side in the country by a country mile. ipswich are probably the most smallest side in briutia to ever win a euro trophy. that was a penomenla achievement. out of interest did you watch the eng-germany semi final? remember much of it? Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Remember it well Blurto, as I was living in Englandshire at the time. Remember the whole World Cup after Scotland's exit quite clearly - as was supporting the teams the Nigels were playing - in their back yard. Had to remain relatively sober to fend off aggresive Guffs as I celebrated their opponents goals. Link to comment
Henry Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 I've never even heard of Briutia, so they must be a small side. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Remember it well Blurto, as I was living in Englandshire at the time. Remember the whole World Cup after Scotland's exit quite clearly - as was supporting the teams the Nigels were playing - in their back yard. Had to remain relatively sober to fend off aggresive Guffs as I celebrated their opponents goals. like it.in their own back yard too; the lions den. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted August 12, 2013 Author Share Posted August 12, 2013 I just respect Robsons achievements always seemed to act with great dignity and integrity, wherever he was that loss in the SF to the Germans and the way he reacted and took the the defeat in a sporting , gentlemanly fashion was a great example to managers today,I recall an interview he gave after Newcastle had drawn an FA cup tie (could have been Wolves) and in the interview after he was as gracious as ever a genuinely nice man, who was treated very poory by that fat fuck Freddie Shepherd. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Was in Leicestershire at the time. At the same time as your mucker Dayts. Was a small contingent of Scots that stuck together in the boozers. I remember going into one of the pubs I frequented the week after the World Cup had ended. The landlord had a poster up with some England FA official getting presented with the fair-play award or something equally trivial. Clutching at straws! Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 i dont get it? He was no Tony Soprano was he Link to comment
tup Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 I agree with the weegie on this one, didna like the cunt one bit. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted August 12, 2013 Author Share Posted August 12, 2013 aye but fuck the length MT your opinion is worth fuck all, considering your affection for the OAFyahoo! many games you been to this season tupster? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 aye but fuck the length MT your opinion is worth fuck all, considering your affection for the OAF when it comes to having a decenta football opinion MTs is only marginally more on the pulse than your tups, your harcuses and yer slugs of this world 1 1 Link to comment
tup Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 None MT I booked my holiday before the fixtures were announced unfortunately. Will be at Partick 14 September if you fancy a pint. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 None MT I booked my holiday before the fixtures were announced unfortunately. Will be at Partick 14 September if you fancy a pint. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 can you imagine it? wacky zany student-esque millertime, probably dressed as a banana or something, sharing a pint with mr happy. fuckin hell min. 3 Link to comment
tup Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 You've never met either of us you havering prick. Link to comment
Redstar Posted August 12, 2013 Share Posted August 12, 2013 Lets hope tup is planing some sort of Tony Soprano ending for MT...14th of Sept in Partick...once you've done him tup go and stick a BT hub up his arse...irate BT customer cracks...a suspect list of every punter who ever signed up for BT Vision...no jury would convict. Link to comment