K-9 Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Have feeling might get some abuse for this but here goes.... Russell min - your time has sadly come. A great Dons player (after very shaky start) who for few seasons was magnificent for us in defence and got a deserved move down south which nobody grudged him at all, but sadly injury took over from then. As close to a Dons legend as any of our younger fans will have had and need to call it a day before you are remembered for all the wrong reasons. Legs completely gone now. Had last season when returned and this season with benefit of full per season and still blatantly obvious age and injuries combined have taken their toll. Said if never fully recovered from injury he would tear up his contract. Well now is the time to do it. Had a great career and could go out as club legend instead of what is sadly happening seeing player struggle so badly. Could go now and free wage to get someone else in before window closes, whilst going out a hero for the cause. 4 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 No abuse from me. Sadly, I agree. He started last season brilliantly but faded badly from about November. He's done, unfortunately. Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 sad to say I agree, hero of mine but hes a shadow of his former self Link to comment
buchanskii Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 I think he's a competent back up to Considine and Reynolds and can cope against weaker opposition. Probably good guy to haven't around as well I'm guessing. Unfortunately nowadays he's struggling against the better spl players that he'd have dealt with comfortably back in the day. Would love to see him lift a trophy for us. Link to comment
Bamber Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 When you looked at subs Zola for Weaver - Due to Langfield CardPawlett for Magennis - injury as was hobbling Anderson for Wylde The one unforced substitution was the one substitution that needed made. When he came back I never thought I would ever type that I was glad to see him substituted - but there you go. Hopefully some role for the rest of the year - or at least until xmas. Did wonder if we really needed both Hector and Considine on the bench but they aren't going to be I fear Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 he's lot that bit of oomph that made him win those last ditchers, which he was well good at. maybe the legs have finally gone. Link to comment
Sandafc Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Think he can play in some games but agree with original post. He's finished. Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Sadly I also agree. I being (as you probably already know) one of the younger members on this site have looked up to Russell as a "legend" when I first got a season ticket at Pittodrie 7 years ago. He left and I was gutted. Since his return he has been nothing like the quality of which I remembered him. He has struggled with injury, and will most likely rip up his contract. Although I think that he will probably take up a coaching role at the club possibly? Link to comment
Guest Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 What is more obvious to me is that, before he left us, he was an absolute fox in the box at corners. He scored a bucket load. I've yet to see him hit the target yet since he's came back. I don't think it's too bad a combination with Reynolds, as they both have a good understanding. But with Hector, there's obviously not the same understanding of what the other is doing. And yes, sadly, he's easier to turn inside out than the shirt on his back. BUT.... let's not throw the baby out with the bathwater yet... we can easy nurse him through the season and use him sparingly. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 dropped when Consi is ready 100% whether he should feel obliged to offer to be released with zero payoff - not quite Link to comment
peahead Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Can we add time up Zola yet ? And put him on the bench as well , we were playing with ten men before fud with the gloves was sent off 1 Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 17, 2013 Author Share Posted August 17, 2013 Can we add time up Zola yet ? And put him on the bench as well , we were playing with ten men before fud with the gloves was sent offErm no 1 1 Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Said before the season kicked off that I didnt think he was going to hack this season and I thought we'd have to get some additional cover in for centre back. I thought he looked good at points last season but if he played 3 games in 7 days you could see it was having an effect. I half put that down to not getting a full pre season under his belt but also because he was just coming back from injury. I dont think that can be judged yet though, he's playing with a bit of a back injury and took a few kicks today as well before coming off. Not sure how much longer I can keep coming up with excuses though before I admit to myself that the closest we've had to a club legend in 20 years isnt cutting the grade anymore. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 No room, or resources, for sentimentality. Link to comment
minijc Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Edgy game 1-0 up and need a calming, experienced player on you throw Anderson on, last season he was struggling with a game each week, year older and loads of niggles it's not going to bode well for him, it's a shame to see him failing after such a good career, one of these things. Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Nowhere near a legend, he's been a decent player but as many have said for some time, his timeis up.Credit that he said he'd rip up his contract when he knew his career was ending.That time is now. Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Put up a status about this and some of the comments are pathetic. Understand that some wont care but give it a read. https://www.facebook.com/AberdeenFCpage?ref=tn_tnmn 4 Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Nowhere near a legend, he's been a decent player but as many have said for some time, his timeis up.Credit that he said he'd rip up his contract when he knew his career was ending.That time is now. for us younger lads its as close as we are going to get.eion jess seems like a lifetime ago Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 for us younger lads its as close as we are going to get.eion jess seems like a lifetime agoApologies to the younger fans, I meant in my opinion.I was spoiled back in the day. :-) 1 Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Apologies to the younger fans, I meant in my opinion.I was spoiled back in the day. :-)Nae half. I wish I also got to witness Archie Baird in his pomp Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Nae half. I wish I also got to witness Archie Baird in his pompA real nice man.He was on Baltic Cruise in 1974 when I was at AGS :-) Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Nae half. I wish I also got to witness Archie Baird in his pompOr even Ally Shewan? Link to comment
zander Posted August 17, 2013 Share Posted August 17, 2013 Remember a game against Celtic in his last season here before moving south where he absolute bullied them, a shadow of that game today. Link to comment
Bamber Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 Remember a game against Celtic in his last season here before moving south where he absolute bullied them, a shadow of that game today. never forget him putting Gravesen into the air either right on the edge of the box or just inside. Was Gravesens debut from memory. Probably one of the best tackles I have ever personally witnessed. then I saw how easily he was rolled by samaras and then was just having little hacks like a junior player - highs to lows all against celtic Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 Agree sadly Russell's days look numbered. Thankfully we have a ready made replacement in Considine. No need to panic about CB. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 I would think that he is the type of guy who will realise his limitations and call it a day when he feels he is becoming a handicap rather than an asset. A recent example is Paul Hartley who did exactly that, although it was towards the end of the season for him. It's a great pity, but maybe the answer is to keep him on the bench as a late sub and let him wind down gracefully instead of becoming a liability. I'm sure he said when he came back that if it didn't work out he would take the necessary decision. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 Got to agree with the thread. He's struggling.Sad to see. Once Considine is fit he should be straight back in. Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 never forget him putting Gravesen into the air either right on the edge of the box or just inside. Was Gravesens debut from memory. Probably one of the best tackles I have ever personally witnessed. then I saw how easily he was rolled by samaras and then was just having little hacks like a junior player - highs to lows all against celtic aye, ranks right up there with clark putting a hun in the south stand after a bad tackle on mackie Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 aye, ranks right up there with clark putting a hun in the south stand after a bad tackle on mackieWas Alan Hutton. Was tremendous. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 18, 2013 Share Posted August 18, 2013 I agree he's lost a hell of a lot of his old form & more so his pace But he's not completely had it yet imo.He can be fine as a back up for when we really need him but Reynolds & considine & hector are are main players at the back for sure. Anderson was too bad Yesterday considering he was struggling so much with his hip injury but he was skinned by Samaras & once Samaras was goal side he was never going to get back without fouling him.Hopefully Considine will soon be back. Hope we get Hector secured til season end at least & even better on a full time gig. He is starting to look like a fkn great find imo & the more used to our game he gets (which hasn't taken him that long) the better he will be. He will take over when Andersons deal expires Link to comment