fine-n-dandy Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Fkn nabbed on the Kingsway on way up to game last week.Knew I'd been caught cos seen the mobile camera van too late & was over limit.Was going along with flow of traffic, so they must have gotten a good few of us that day (hopefully mostly celtic fans) but I don't think I was doing the 65 they claim (not that it matters) in the 50. Was doing about 56 when I looked at clock after noticing the van. They always seem to add on a few mph just to be cocks though. Don't think in all my years of driving that I've ever had a clean licence & always seem to have a penalty for various minor offences. every time I get one set of three points clear I get a new set. Worst was caught by two copper on the beat whilst on phone at a set of traffic lights. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 There's cops on the Westhill Aberdeen road all the bloody time at the moment. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted August 23, 2013 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 23, 2013 Money making exercise. If they really wanted to stop people speeding they'd give you one doggies chance then lose your licence for six months. That would make people stop (says he currently with six points!) Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 23, 2013 Author Share Posted August 23, 2013 Think am going to have to pay more attention to my surroundings whilst out on my mountain bike in future Link to comment
cow Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Stick to the rules of the road and you've nothing to worry about. Clean Licence Cow. 2 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 i've had a few speeding fines, but i've never gotten any points for it. i think you're right though. likely if they didn't try to just make money from the smaller speeding catches, and imposed stiffer penalties for even modestly over the limit, more drivers wouldn't be so inclined to try to get away with speeding. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Stick to the rules of the road and you've nothing to worry about. Clean Licence Cow. weren't you opening a driving skool, Cow? have you had to reprimand students for speeding? have you had any students yet? Link to comment
Bamber Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Money making exercise. If they really wanted to stop people speeding they'd give you one doggies chance then lose your licence for six months. That would make people stop (says he currently with six points!) If they really wanted to stop speeding they would tie the satnav into the engine management system. From a technological point of view completely and utterly feasible And you could have variable speed limits easily set so could lower speeds near schools - or to slow traffic in the build up to a hold up to reduce holds ups Also at 5am when no one is around they could boost speed limits Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 23, 2013 Author Share Posted August 23, 2013 Stick to the rules of the road and you've nothing to worry about. Clean Licence Cow.Rules are meant to be stretched Link to comment
tainboy Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Front facing Talivan or a rear facing gatso? The following is ONLY if you want to fight it and are prepared to go to court. If youve received a NIP then on day 26 after receiving send a letter recorded asking for copy of the photo as you cannot recall who was driving that day. If they don't send a photo but a letter and another NIP then do the same again on day 26 again. Repeat until they send a photo. If the never send a photo they have 6 months to serve you a summons. If they don't then you're Scott free. Link to comment
jassb Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 I was convinced I got done by one on a bridge over the motorway on the way past Lockerbie a few weeks a go but lette never came. Made me go slower for the rest of the journey and back home again, and for the next couple if weeks. Back to being able to enjoy driving again. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 23, 2013 Author Share Posted August 23, 2013 Front facing Talivan or a rear facing gatso? The following is ONLY if you want to fight it and are prepared to go to court.If youve received a NIP then on day 26 after receiving send a letter recorded asking for copy of the photo as you cannot recall who was driving that day. If they don't send a photo but a letter and another NIP then do the same again on day 26 again. Repeat until they send a photo. If the never send a photo they have 6 months to serve you a summons. If they don't then you're Scott free.Rear facing. Already sent in the NIP But will ask for a copy of certs for camera & photo/DVD just cos I want to see ma coupon on camera once they send out the fixed pen Link to comment
tainboy Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Bad move. I've gotten off with two gatsos already. That calibration stuff you hear about is nonsense. Above is best way to get off. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 I think speed cameras trip at 82 on a 70 road, half of them probably don't have any film. Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Just ignore the letter, seems to work for some people. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Last time I got a ticket was for barrelling through Kentucky in order to get out of their shithole of a state muy pronto. 200 odd dollar fine, 4 points on my license, and an order from the court to attend drivers ed classes in Kentucky because of the 'severity' of the offense. Declined their court order, and they can fuck off if they think I'll be driving to Kentucky to take driving classes. ...I'm wantedin KY, FO SHO. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 23, 2013 Author Share Posted August 23, 2013 Just ignore the letter, seems to work for some people. Nah. it was a fair cop. Am busted.Knew as soon as I noticed the the camera in the back of the van (& a little infrared light come on) & clocked my speedo at 56.Was probably doing around 60 (but no more than that) & was clocked at 65 even though was down at 56 (without braking but just easing off) by time I checked clock. Will accept the 3 points & fine cos 56 in a 50 is just over the 10% over you can get away with & that was the minimum I could have been clocked at but I will request the photo/DVD & the calibration certs on the camera just to be a prick. Link to comment
jassb Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 56 in a 50 is a hard one to take. Link to comment
360 Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 56 in a 50 is a hard one to take.Don't speed then. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 23, 2013 Author Share Posted August 23, 2013 56 in a 50 is a hard one to take. Nah, as I said that was the minimum after easing off (not braking though) when I clocked the camera but was not doing more than 60 Don't speed then. Fair cop Link to comment
jassb Posted August 23, 2013 Share Posted August 23, 2013 Don't speed then.Fair comment. But it's hardly crime of the century. Is 6 mph over in a 50 same as 29 mph over in a 70? Link to comment
360 Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 Fair comment. But it's hardly crime of the century. Is 6 mph over in a 50 same as 29 mph over in a 70?Agreed. To an extent. I thought it was 10% Never been caught, never will. Link to comment
360 Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 Fair comment. But it's hardly crime of the century. Is 6 mph over in a 50 same as 29 mph over in a 70?No. 55/50 MAX 77/70 MAX By MAX I mean do a couple of mph under. Zero points Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 Last time I got a ticket was for barrelling through Kentucky in order to get out of their shithole of a state muy pronto.200 odd dollar fine, 4 points on my license, and an order from the court to attend drivers ed classes in Kentucky because of the 'severity' of the offense.Declined their court order, and they can fuck off if they think I'll be driving to Kentucky to take driving classes....I'm wantedin KY, FO SHO.Reckon Boss Hogg will be after you soon enough. If so it would make a great Banged up Abroad Link to comment
cow Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 Some times when I'm out with the Lexus and I notice the old bill I stop after the speed trap to laugh a the morons breaking the law. Speeding is no worse/better than fraud. Cow. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 24, 2013 Share Posted August 24, 2013 Reckon Boss Hogg will be after you soon enough. If so it would make a great Banged up AbroadDinna fancy spending time in pokey over here. Lot of rapings and murderings and rape/murderings going on there. Can imagine Kentucky being about the worst for those kind of Buffett shenanigans. Just hope I dinna get stopped there, otherwise it's off to the gaol for a bit of arsey-rapey Link to comment
Poodler Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 Wish I knew that trick back in June, I just rolled over and accepted the charge. Pussy. Link to comment
Tyrant Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 I haven't been caught speeding since 2008 so those points aren't on my license any more. The last time I got points was in 2010 for stopping for literally 4 seconds (to drop someone off at an ATM) on a zig zag line when there was literally nae other cunt about. Apart from the Police van the rolled up and the copper glared at me. I drove off because I guessed that's what he was going to ask me to do and I parked round the corner. The van followed me and the copper told me that if I'd spoken to him and didn't drive off he wouldn't have given me a ticket. Pish. I was angry at this point but when I learned that I was getting a £60 a 3 points instead of just a £30 I was furious and called the prick all the names under the sun. I was beyond caring if I got lifted. Still get annoyed thinking about that. I know you're not meant to stop on zig zags but I did it. If he'd have given me a £30 ticket I'd have taken it on the chin as I know it's not allowed even if there are no other drivers or pedestrians going about to "endanger" (It was a Sunday morning). But 3 points? Fuck you you horrible jumped up jobsworth cunt. How does it deserve the same punishment as speeding? Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 I haven't been caught speeding since 2008 so those points aren't on my license any more. The last time I got points was in 2010 for stopping for literally 4 seconds (to drop someone off at an ATM) on a zig zag line when there was literally nae other cunt about. Apart from the Police van the rolled up and the copper glared at me. I drove off because I guessed that's what he was going to ask me to do and I parked round the corner. The van followed me and the copper told me that if I'd spoken to him and didn't drive off he wouldn't have given me a ticket. Pish. I was angry at this point but when I learned that I was getting a £60 a 3 points instead of just a £30 I was furious and called the prick all the names under the sun. I was beyond caring if I got lifted. Still get annoyed thinking about that. I know you're not meant to stop on zig zags but I did it. If he'd have given me a £30 ticket I'd have taken it on the chin as I know it's not allowed even if there are no other drivers or pedestrians going about to "endanger" (It was a Sunday morning). But 3 points? Fuck you you horrible jumped up jobsworth cunt. How does it deserve the same punishment as speeding?Roid club nomination. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 26, 2013 Author Share Posted August 26, 2013 I haven't been caught speeding since 2008 so those points aren't on my license any more. The last time I got points was in 2010 for stopping for literally 4 seconds (to drop someone off at an ATM) on a zig zag line when there was literally nae other cunt about. Apart from the Police van the rolled up and the copper glared at me. I drove off because I guessed that's what he was going to ask me to do and I parked round the corner. The van followed me and the copper told me that if I'd spoken to him and didn't drive off he wouldn't have given me a ticket. Pish. I was angry at this point but when I learned that I was getting a £60 a 3 points instead of just a £30 I was furious and called the prick all the names under the sun. I was beyond caring if I got lifted. Still get annoyed thinking about that. I know you're not meant to stop on zig zags but I did it. If he'd have given me a £30 ticket I'd have taken it on the chin as I know it's not allowed even if there are no other drivers or pedestrians going about to "endanger" (It was a Sunday morning). But 3 points? Fuck you you horrible jumped up jobsworth cunt. How does it deserve the same punishment as speeding? Where do I start? 1 Link to comment