starryfish Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 Pivotal match even this early in the season, definitely don't want to be losing this one and hopeful that a win will help build confidence ahead of St Johnstone at the weekend.Team wise I'd shape up something like this:LangfieldHectorReynoldsAndersonConsidineFloodJackPawlettWyldeHayesMcGinnDon't really think any of Zola, Magennis or Vernon have done enough to justify a start so give Wylde a chance.With only 5 subs permitted it will be interesting to see who drops out from Saturday's 18. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 Clangers Joe Considine Reynolds Robertson Wylde Flood Jack Hayes McGinn Smith 3-0 Aberdeen How much is it to get in? Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 In. 2-1 The club I love but Hartley will hae his lads fired up will be tough certainly after Hearts & picking team up, I hope mcinnes goes with Magennis add a bit o pace upfront along side Niall. 1 1 Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 ClangersJoe Considine Reynolds RobertsonWylde Flood Jack HayesMcGinn Smith3-0 AberdeenHow much is it to get in?I'm sure it's £12 for adults. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 Nae bad. I'll go down if its a 12er Link to comment
starryfish Posted August 25, 2013 Author Share Posted August 25, 2013 I'm sure it's £12 for adults.Think it's £15 for adults, sure it was £12 for season ticket holders if they reserved their seat before 5pm on Friday. Link to comment
360 Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 Perhaps a chance for Zola or perhaps even McGinn to get in amongst the (open play) goals and get a bit of confidence and momentum in front of goal?That's how I look at it. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted August 25, 2013 Share Posted August 25, 2013 Hopefully a battering. It's time we were confident going into these kind of games. I'd take a 1-0 but we should be looking at 3 or 4! Mind you... I said that about the Hearts game Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 You've got to fancy Alloa will go looking for goals given the 'quality' of our goalkeepers. I'd be punting balls into the Aberdeen box every opportunity I got if I were Alloa. Got to be good for a couple of goals. 3 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 I agree with Ke1t. The Dons will need to score 2 or perhaps more to progress, because they won't have a clean sheet. I would be surprised if Hartley doesn't employ a shoot-on-sight policy and with the goons available for goalkeeping duties, one or two will inevitably come up trumps. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 I agree with Ke1t. The Dons will need to score 2 or perhaps more to progress, because they won't have a clean sheet. I would be surprised if Hartley doesn't employ a shoot-on-sight policy and with the goons available for goalkeeping duties, one or two will inevitably come up trumps. The worrying thing is how transparent we are. Anyone who's done any sort of home work on Aberdeen FC will recognise our glaring weaknesses and exploit them. We are struggling at fullback and our goalkeepers are terrible off crosses. You don't need to be Jose Mourinho to work out the most effective means of beating Aberdeen. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Hope to see a good performance. Presume Clangfud will be back in goals after Weavefud's performance. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Goalie Shaughnessey Anderson Hector Reynolds Hayes Flood Jack Wylde McGinn Zola/Magennis Link to comment
buchanskii Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Goalie Murray Hector Reynolds Robertson Jack Flood Wylde Pawlett Hayes McGinn Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 can see us getting beat, the spine i'd thought we'd grown has turned to jelly. Link to comment
SoundOfSilence Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Oot on pens after a 0-0 where we fail to convert numerous chances. Link to comment
Guest milne_afc Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Oot on pens after a 0-0 where we fail to convert numerous chances. Our defence won't keep a clean sheet. Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 7-0 The Dons. E's are good. 1 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 4-1 us. Then again I thought we'd give Hearts a tonking at the weekend. 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 I'd give Low a chance, unless he's unavailable. Link to comment
gypsymuffin Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 I think we will win 2-0. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 4-0. We're creating chances and we'll convert them against Alloa. Link to comment
WillemVan Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Goalie Murray Hector Reynolds Low Jack Flood Pawlett Wylde Smith Shankland Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Going to this tomorrow. 3-0 the Dandies, early goal to calm the crowd down. Any word of the younger lads getting a look in? I'd like to see Shankland get a start. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Agree with karl magennis and vernon should be nowhere near the team Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 aye i'd like to see Shankland given a run upfront in this one GK, Shaunessy, Reynolds, Anderson, Considine Jack, Flood Low, Wylde, Hayes McGinn Shankland Link to comment
buchanskii Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 aye i'd like to see Shankland given a run upfront in this one GK, Shaunessy, Reynolds, Anderson, Considine Jack, Flood Low, Wylde, Hayes McGinn Shankland We'll definitely win this if we're allowed to field 12 players. 2 Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Any word of the younger lads getting a look in? I'd like to see Shankland get a start. Normally I'd say we need to go with our strongest team, can't afford to play the young lads, but theres no way playing Smith is a risk, a far better footballer than Vernon, Magennis or Zola. Shankland, I've no idea, but should definitely give him a run out if we are comfotably winning. 1 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Normally I'd say we need to go with our strongest team, can't afford to play the young lads, but theres no way playing Smith is a risk, a far better footballer than Vernon, Magennis or Zola. Shankland, I've no idea, but should definitely give him a run out if we are comfotably winning.I'd certainly be happy to give Smith, or Shankland a wee go alongside McGinn in this game cos the others have had plenty chances & not taken them.Saying that also it could be the perfect game to get our misfiring strikers to actually find the net finally.Be interesting to see what McInnes does with this one. Main thing is he has to play our wingers on the correct side though. Just a crazy thought. Oh & take the best thing Craig Brown done & play him in the fkn middle again. The only place he's actually proven & proven very well there. We need to play this game like a latter stage cup game against decent opposition cos if we approach it like we did Hearts, then we will get a fright. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted August 26, 2013 Share Posted August 26, 2013 Saying that also it could be the perfect game to get our misfiring strikers to actually find the net finally. That sounds logical, but I really don't think if Zola scores 2 in this game he's going to go on some kind of scoring run in the league. Same goes for Magennis, I could envisage Vernon doing it, in that he is capable of scoring but his confidence levels are below zero. However after Saturday I think the youngsters deserve a shot at it more than he does, he got it and blew it spectacularly! Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Link to comment