steems Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 From what I can understand the sequence of events was:1. Pittodrie will soon not be fit for use and the only option is to move to a new location.2. Kingswells is the only option.3. Calder Park is the only option.4. We are looking at several alternative sites.5. We are staying at Pittodrie to focus on team building. To think some fans actually believed what the board has said over the years. Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 To believe some fans think the site the stadium is built on is worth enough to clear our debt and build a new stadium is even more worrying. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Option 6, Independent Aberdeenshire principality and build our own stadium with our big wealthy tax money that no longer goes to Glasgow. 5 Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Pittodrie has been past its sell-by date for 15yrs at least. A crumbling relic. Embarassing to think it's probably the worst ground in the SPL now. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 You missed the part about when it was going to be a community stadium and jointly funded by the council.Once we entered recession and the council pulled out, it was always looking doubtful. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Embarassing to think it's probably the worst ground in the SPL now. Pish min. I'd rather have Pittodrie as our Ground than any of St Mirren Park, Firhill, McDiarmid Park, Rugby Park, Caledonian Stadium, Victoria Park or Fir Park. Tannadice is also a dump. Apart from those eight grounds, you're right, it's the worst in the Division. 6 Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Pittodrie has been past its sell-by date for 15yrs at least. A crumbling relic. Embarassing to think it's probably the worst ground in the SPL now. Calmers. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 If only we had a franchise system. We could leave Aberdeen - a city where the council sees the team as a liability. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 The stadium needs a bit of a refurbishment, i'd go with the following: 1) Putting in a bigger roof on the south stand that actually covers the majority of the seating (except the away end...fuck em)2) Better food and drink facilities. 3) Better toilet facilities. Most blokes don't wash their hands in the toilets after a piss at the game, but when you do try you can't even get your hands under the tap because it's too close to the side of the basin! Just a very minor thing, but it's still shite and needs improved.4) Buy the Broadhill bar and turn it into an official Aberdeen pub. 5) Have a bigger clubshop. The place is ridiculously small and it's almost impossible to move around in it on a Saturday. Just a few things I would improve anyways. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Not sure how workable this would be but my suggestion is; Start with pulling down the south stand and replacing it with one that is deeper (using the space behind it at the moment) and also joining it to the dickie Donald so there is seating in the corner as well. They should be able to put some corporate space and decent facilities in place without losing seating space. I wouldn’t have it on 2 levels though, just as is at the moment but modernisedThe following year do the same with the merkland, join it to the new south stand and incorporate the merkland and south turnstiles into the new stand so it still has the history and character to it. The next do the same with the main. New seats, join it to the merkland and dickie having all 3 new stands the same height etc and looking good. 3-5 years later pull down the dickie and replace with a 1 level stand that then makes the whole stadium look like its one stadium rather than 4 separate stands that have been cobbled together. Might lose some seating space by the end of it but I personally would rather we had a 15-16K all seater, nice new stadium where Pittodrie is than a 20-25K in the middle of nowhere. 1 Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 I like it right up until taking down the dick donald stand ridiculous shout! anyway, won't happen either way 1 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 There is very little room behind the South stand to move into, this should have been done before those flats were built! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 I like it right up until taking down the dick donald stand ridiculous shout! anyway, won't happen either way Only say that because the dick donald was only built to last 30 years max. might as well sort it for the next 20-30 years while everything else is being done. I like the dick, sat on the top of it for years. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 There's plenty room behind the shell garage at the bridge of don. It's still in the toon and only a few 100 yards fae Pittodrie. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 From what I can understand the sequence of events was:1. Pittodrie will soon not be fit for use and the only option is to move to a new location.2. Kingswells is the only option.3. Calder Park is the only option.4. We are looking at several alternative sites.5. We are staying at Pittodrie to focus on team building. To think some fans actually believed what the board has said over the years. Personally I think we should hand the Dick End back to Milne and say, "Thanks for your time. Now fuck off." Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 No fucker at our club seems to be able to do anything efficiently... Huns will be back in the SPL before you know it and we'll have missed any window of opportunity to make some real progress. Useless cunts. Link to comment
Mouse Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Only say that because the dick donald was only built to last 30 years max. might as well sort it for the next 20-30 years while everything else is being done. I like the dick, sat on the top of it for years. So what happens in 2023, does it implode like Glasgow Rangers? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 I like the dick, sat on the top of it for years. Stop it. Stop it right now. Link to comment
caledonia Posted September 5, 2013 Share Posted September 5, 2013 Might as well post speculating how we'd fit Messi into our team once we buy him since that won't be happening either. Painting the yellow seats in the Soother red is about as much as we can hope for.+1 For the last line sad but nearer the truth than most Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 +1 For the last line sad but nearer the truth than mostWhere's the money for red paint coming from? Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 Where's the money for red paint coming from? Hun blood 1 Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 and a city steeped in negativity and depression, aye This threads about Aberdeen, Not glasgow and its surrounding slum land 1 Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 Its the best city in Scotland, By a country mile. 2 Link to comment
zander Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 you dont think aberdeens a depressing, negative place? http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2012/nov/24/aberdeen-happiest-place-scotland Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 you dont think aberdeens a depressing, negative place? How is it depressing? Link to comment
zander Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 How is it depressing? Suppose Monday morning blues are harder in Aberdeen due to the fact that the large majority of us actually have work to go to. Must be easy for Weegies having no worries, no bills,no job, no rent. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 Suppose Monday morning blues are harder in Aberdeen due to the fact that the large majority of us actually have work to go to. Must be easy for Weegies having no worries, no bills,no job, no rent. True. Just another day of the weekend down there for 3 out of 10 families. Link to comment
zander Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 True. Just another day of the weekend down there for 3 out of 10 families. It's all in the day of a jovial weegie happy go lucky chancers salt of the earth by the way. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2012/nov/24/aberdeen-happiest-place-scotland Vs http://news.stv.tv/scotland/238417-a-third-of-all-households-in-glasgow-ived-in-by-the-unemployed/ You decide which city is the most dull and depressing! 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted September 6, 2013 Share Posted September 6, 2013 Another Millertime thread derail. 1 Link to comment