daytripping Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Pretty shocking and shameful with all the money in Aberdeen we still have places with massive poverty problems, surely something like a 1% levy on business rates could be added to support charities like the one in the link below. Bit of a coincidence this place has been highlighted in the paper as my daughter is due to visit the place with her school this week, they're going to try and raise money for the charity. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/food-parcels-aberdeen-soar-10000-2283524 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Stupid me, eh thought this was a thread about Bluto. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 The bad parts of Glasgow make the bad parts of Aberdeen look like Rubislaw. It's probably grippy types with enough money just looking to get a free meal. Link to comment
dave_min Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Pretty shocking and shameful with all the money in Aberdeen we still have places with massive poverty problems, surely something like a 1% levy on business rates could be added to support charities like the one in the link below. Bit of a coincidence this place has been highlighted in the paper as my daughter is due to visit the place with her school this week, they're going to try and raise money for the charity. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/food-parcels-aberdeen-soar-10000-2283524 I blame Thatcher. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 19, 2013 Author Share Posted September 19, 2013 I blame Thatcher. She's dead. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 19, 2013 Author Share Posted September 19, 2013 I blame local council for not having the forethought to put a small local tax on oil companies, the money could have been spent on improving the City and helping those struggling in poverty. I believe Norway has a slush fund from oil taxes to help the people of the Country, we should have done the same, when the oil goes we'll have nothing to show for it. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 I blame local council for not having the forethought to put a small local tax on oil companies, the money could have been spent on improving the City and helping those struggling in poverty. I believe Norway has a slush fund from oil taxes to help the people of the Country, we should have done the same, when the oil goes we'll have nothing to show for it. :hysterical: Aye, we have billions and trillions in the bank, but the law states that the government is only allowed to spend 3 or 4% of it per year, ie. the interest on the amount. Schools are falling apart, hospitals are underfunded, and roads are just potholes with bits of tarmac getting in the way. Most of the money goes to paying off the social bills caused by 40% sick rates in public sector jobs. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 19, 2013 Author Share Posted September 19, 2013 Well at least you have a healthy bank account, we're skint. Link to comment
jassb Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Roads http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/3400015 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Well at least you have a healthy bank account, we're skint. Aye, the upside is unemployment is practically non-existent but for those that are they get 60% of their last salary at a reduced tax rate. But it is crazy, the word "sykemelding" ie. sicknote is one of the most common words you hear here. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Stupid me, eh thought this was a thread about Bluto. Link to comment
AndrewW Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Nobody is in absolute poverty so I couldn't really give a fuck about them. "Relative" poverty is a made up thing. These people aren't in poverty they are just not as rich as everyone else. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 19, 2013 Author Share Posted September 19, 2013 Going to a charity for food handouts sounds like poverty to me. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Going to a charity for food handouts sounds like poverty to me. Drinking anything less than Stella sounds like poverty to me Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 19, 2013 Author Share Posted September 19, 2013 I'm hoping they start handouts in Bucksburn, would save me going to Asda and I could waste the saved cash on beer. Link to comment
brownie Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 I bet half the folk turning up have Sky TV, decent mobile phones and some games console or another. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 I bet half the folk turning up have Sky TV, decent mobile phones and some games console or another. you mean millertime assets. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 I'm hoping they start handouts in Bucksburn, would save me going to Asda and I could waste the saved cash on beer. Smart thinking. Equivalent of saving up your school dinner money for some merrydown cider shenanigans at the weekend Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Pretty shocking and shameful with all the money in Aberdeen we still have places with massive poverty problems, surely something like a 1% levy on business rates could be added to support charities like the one in the link below. Bit of a coincidence this place has been highlighted in the paper as my daughter is due to visit the place with her school this week, they're going to try and raise money for the charity. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/food-parcels-aberdeen-soar-10000-2283524 Bedroom tax and benefit cuts will have a massive amount to do with this. That said you have the flip side, lazy cunts that feel that life owes then something and would rather wonder round Tilly in their trackies and socks tucked in than actually have to graft for a living. There is work for anyone that wants it in this city. Link to comment
Ohjimmyjimmy Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Bet there are plenty of fat bastards getting the food parcels as well. I'd be sure to vet the applicants such that the fat cunts would be telt to get tae fuck, with the parcels only going to the genuinely hungry. Link to comment
buchanskii Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 We should sabotage the parcels with some sort of poison. Weed out the poor from our City, then use the savings from benefits to improve the infrastructure. No doubt some PC types would be against that on the grounds that it would be "immoral" Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Pretty shocking and shameful with all the money in Aberdeen we still have places with massive poverty problems, surely something like a 1% levy on business rates could be added to support charities like the one in the link below. Bit of a coincidence this place has been highlighted in the paper as my daughter is due to visit the place with her school this week, they're going to try and raise money for the charity. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/food-parcels-aberdeen-soar-10000-2283524 I was under the impression Aberdeen was a fantastic place was none of this poverty stuff you would have if Scotland were independent? The truth is that Capitalism is a system that moves money towards the rich and away from the poor, and if you support a capitalist form of economy then you approve of increased poverty amongst society's poorest elements. Poverty will continue to increase, while a smaller and smaller minority will be able to afford nicer and nicer things. So, for every, say ten Aberdonian kids having to go to school with no food in their stomachs, someone in Westhill can post pictures of themselves from the Caymans on Facebook. Link to comment
zander Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Perhaps these less fortunate should give up the 20 John Player specials, strongbow and scratch cards. Is it really the case in this country that even those on the lowest of benefits can't afford food? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Perhaps these less fortunate should give up the 20 John Player specials, strongbow and scratch cards. Is it really the case in this country that even those on the lowest of benefits can't afford food? Perhaps those less fortunate don't smoke. Or drink. Or use scratch cards. Maybe those less fortunate spend all their income on putting a roof over their kid's heads, clothing those kids and feeding them, and still have a hard time just getting by. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Perhaps those less fortunate don't smoke. Or drink. Or use scratch cards. Maybe those less fortunate spend all their income on putting a roof over their kid's heads, clothing those kids and feeding them, and still have a hard time just getting by. That's extremely unlikely as much as I applaud the sentiment. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 That's extremely unlikely as much as I applaud the sentiment. Why do you say that? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Why do you say that?Mainly the scratchcard point. Desperation to hit it big. I'm not going to call people minks as folk on or below the poverty line can be upstanding people. However scratchcards are generally bought by people with not enough money to be buying them. Link to comment
1983 Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Pretty shocking and shameful with all the money in Aberdeen we still have places with massive poverty problems, surely something like a 1% levy on business rates could be added to support charities like the one in the link below. Bit of a coincidence this place has been highlighted in the paper as my daughter is due to visit the place with her school this week, they're going to try and raise money for the charity. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/food-parcels-aberdeen-soar-10000-2283524 Why should my business have to pay?! Businesses in Aberdeen aren't all large foreign nationals with money dripping everywhere. If businesses have to pay extra taxes then unemployment would go up. The best solution is a CUT in business rates/national insurance contributions and corporation tax. Then small businesses could actually afford to employ more staff and bring unemployment down and the overall tax revenue would go up. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Mainly the scratchcard point. Desperation to hit it big. I'm not going to call people minks as folk on or below the poverty line can be upstanding people. However scratchcards are generally bought by people with not enough money to be buying them. I'd have to see a real life study on the validity of that before accepting the opinion at face value. I think people have preconcieved notions that everyone, or even a large minority, of poor people are idiots who pish what little money they have against the wall on drink, fags and scratchcards. I understand there are plenty minks, but I also would expect that a great many poor people are actually loving parents who are in unfortunate circumstances, and absolutely do not piss their money away. I also think the media demonises the poorest elements of society, and people are more than happy to accept that demonisation, simply because it's more comfortable to imagine all poor people as minks who deserve their situation.... meanwhile kids go hungry. I don't think I've ever bought a scratch card, incidentally. Get them through the door all the time, though. Every one's a winner. "If you match two Symbols then call us on 1800..... and you COULD win fabulous prizes!!!!!!!" Or, more likely, you end up with some cunt trying to sell you a Timeshare in a Floridian swamp. Link to comment
zander Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Perhaps those less fortunate don't smoke. Or drink. Or use scratch cards. Maybe those less fortunate spend all their income on putting a roof over their kid's heads, clothing those kids and feeding them, and still have a hard time just getting by. Certainly there will be those who struggle and are in genuine need but I'd be willing to bet a large percentage either smoke, or drink buy scratch cards lottery etc or have other luxuries such as a mobile phone, Internet or sky tv. Some are so wrapped up in the material things they forget that they need basic essentials first hence why Wonga etc thrive on these thickos. Link to comment