Ke1t Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 What does everyone collect? I'm not really a 'collector' sort of person, but recently I've started acquiring first editions of things that are of interest to me... today I just ordered a book, first edition, signed copy, by an author who just recently kicked the bucket. Mostly worthless at the moment, and I didn't buy it for value purposes, but if his stuff goes mainstream and they make a few movies then who knows... this time next year I could be a multi millionaire, rubbing my engorged john thomas in the faces of all and sundry... I see the first ten impressions of The Hobbit are going for 80 grand on EBay, and there's a first edition Nostradamus currently being sold for twenty million if anyone's feeling frisky... Anyone got a 'collection'? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted September 19, 2013 Author Share Posted September 19, 2013 Now this would be a rare addition to your bookshelf... 60 Grand Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 I like collecting small rocks. And sea glass. I love being by water. Any time I travel somewhere, if it's by a body of water, my feet go in it. And I'll end up picking up a few rocks or bits of sea glass and bringing it home with me. I tried once to report the rocks coming back through Canada Customs (thinking they might be worried that living matter may be attached to them. They weren't. I don't bother any more.) Link to comment
caledonia Posted September 19, 2013 Share Posted September 19, 2013 Do not really collect anything in general but end up with collections of stuff that is random like gadgets (love all gadgets) Link to comment
Poodler Posted September 20, 2013 Share Posted September 20, 2013 I have a pile of Pete Doherty 7'', in fact every one he has released. Some are limited to 1000 copies or less and currently go for about £50. I take a few different ones down to gigs I go to and get them signed by him then put them back in the frames on the wall. Ken it's sad, but it's what I love. I also randomly have the LA times from the day after Jacko died. Dunno why I bought it, but it's in pristine condition unread. Hahaha, loser. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted September 20, 2013 Share Posted September 20, 2013 The Sunday Times did a special edition magazine when Chapman took out John Lennon, I've kept that. Yours for a hundred quid. I bought the TIME & Rolling Stone magazine Jacko specials and have a couple of Jim Morrison collectables. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted September 20, 2013 Share Posted September 20, 2013 4-4-2 magazine have collected them for years. Link to comment
brownie Posted September 20, 2013 Share Posted September 20, 2013 Records by certain bands. Got three or four copies of some limited vinyl. I've also got a collection of watches, Rolex to 70's vintage Seiko. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted September 20, 2013 Share Posted September 20, 2013 Fitba programmes, proper nerd me Thoosans o them creakin the loft Link to comment
Nelly Posted September 20, 2013 Share Posted September 20, 2013 Used to collect ltd edition records before the days of CDs, sold a lot of it on ebay a few years back and made a fair profit. Biggest profit was an Iron Maiden 7" that went for £520. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 Not a collector. But I'm a Star Wars nerd and usually buy up any novel or graphic novel that's out. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 Not a collector.But I'm a Star Wars nerd and usually buy up any novel or graphic novel that's out.When my ex and I bought our first house I went up into the loft for a look around.Being a bit of a Star Wars nut myself you will understand my delight at finding a pristine Han Solo blaster unopened under the insulation. It is currently being held to ransom by said ex, but negotiations are ongoing for it's safe return. Link to comment
minijc Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 I have a used towel of Stan Petrovs, he dropped it after the snowball incident game, if he dies I'll sell it. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 I keep all my concert tickets. Planning on doing my lobby up like Hard Rock Cafe with Signature Guitars on the walls. A Dimebag Washburn and Zakk Wylde Gibson will be the first two. My concert tickets will be made into a big collage. Tacky as fuck but I don't give a rats cock. Been thinking of red velvet wallpaper.I've got a semi hollow Washburn in the basement. Well used by no one famous but a spectacularly good guitarist nonetheless if you want it? Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 When my ex and I bought our first house I went up into the loft for a look around.Being a bit of a Star Wars nut myself you will understand my delight at finding a pristine Han Solo blaster unopened under the insulation. It is currently being held to ransom by said ex, but negotiations are ongoing for it's safe return.I'd help plan a recon mission if you'd like? I'll provide a distraction while you scoop the pup and make your getaway? Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 I'll swing by tonight to pick it up and you can quickly strum my hairy banjo.Aye. And a quick ride on the beast for good measure Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 I'd help plan a recon mission if you'd like? I'll provide a distraction while you scoop the pup and make your getaway?That would be ace. The blaster,rightly so is deemed an HVT by the kidnapper and moved under the cover of darkness from room to room on a daily basis.Unfortunately my last agent's(codename D) cover was blown and has now returned to her main job of being my daughter. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 I collect my stools in those clear plastic takeaway boxes, marking each one with what I had as a main meal the day before. Link to comment
essexdon Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 have a box of programmes from Dons games home and away from 77 till 84 including the cwc and super cup away leg.other that that a few cd's autographed b artists from when i was chauffeur Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 Big bird egg collector in my youth, probably still in my mums loft, was a great collection. Frowned upon these days but the norm back then. These days just empty smoke packets in my car. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted September 22, 2013 Share Posted September 22, 2013 Thought you were quitting the smokeroonies dayts? Over two years without one now - though am about to relapse with a cigar on the headwetting for my wee boy. Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 Thought you were quitting the smokeroonies dayts? Over two years without one now - though am about to relapse with a cigar on the headwetting for my wee boy. Got the patches, spray and gum set up in the house, not started stopping yet though, will soon. I like smoking but it's not good for me and it's expensive, will stop. Link to comment
Henry Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 Big bird egg collector in my youthMust have been quite rare. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 Big Bird is ace. I've got a mate whose ex we called Big Bird - she fuckin hated it.Snuffleupagus was cool too - but only when he was invisible. He's lost a lot of the clout he used to have around Sesame Street when he became visible. Link to comment
dave_min Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 Fitba programmes, proper nerd me Thoosans o them creakin the loft Nothing wrong with that. I must have a good 1,500 Dons Programmes. Also, have a worryingly large collection of Scotland ones and other random Cup Finals and the like. I keep all my concert tickets. This too. They just sit in a big box, however, rather fucking annoyingly, my (potential) bird has lost my ticket from going to see the Boss at the Ullevi. It wasn't just any old ticket either, it was one of those personalised ones too. I also have a disturbingly large collection of model planes. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 I also have a disturbingly large collection of model planes. cool Link to comment
dave_min Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 cool Aye, take the piss all you like, but the joke will be on you when that Croatian A320 joins my fleet sometime this week Link to comment
daytripping Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 Dave, What do you do with them? do they hang from the ceilings with fishing line? Quite fancy some spitfires for my hall. Link to comment
dave_min Posted September 23, 2013 Share Posted September 23, 2013 Dave, What do you do with them? do they hang from the ceilings with fishing line? Quite fancy some spitfires for my hall. They sit about the place gathering dust. Link to comment