minijc Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Watched this video 6 or 7 times now after seeing it on facebook, really got me thinking, at 22 I have no real idea what I WANT to do, I know what I'd like to own and where I'd like to live but the key to unlocking those two things is what I'd be doing to get in the position to do so. I really don't know what I want to do, something that would keep me thinking and learning, something that would inspire me and not bore me, it's much harder than I thought it would be and I'm pretty lost. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=591892210867978 So, what do you want to do? Link to comment
DandyDon KD Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 I'm 16 and still at school. I also have no clue. At school the teachers/career advisers expect us to have a straight answer to this. I would ideally like a job which doesn't bore me, I enjoy, good pay, and I'm not stick in an office all the time. I don't know. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Watched this video 6 or 7 times now after seeing it on facebook, really got me thinking, at 22 I have no real idea what I WANT to do, I know what I'd like to own and where I'd like to live but the key to unlocking those two things is what I'd be doing to get in the position to do so. I really don't know what I want to do, something that would keep me thinking and learning, something that would inspire me and not bore me, it's much harder than I thought it would be and I'm pretty lost. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=591892210867978 So, what do you want to do? If I were 22 I'd join the Red Cross and work overseas. I've traipsed around some real shitholes around the world, but always as a tourist who was just looking for his next beer stop. In retrospect I'd probably have liked to pitch in a bit. I realise the Army offers something similar, only with cunts in uniform shouting pish at you at 5 in the morning, or ordering you to shoot kids... but with the Red Cross you'd be digging wells, building shelters, and looking after those who can't help themselves in disaster areas. ...and if that doesn't get you buckets of fanny when you get back to Blighty then you're just not trying. Do it. http://www.redcross.org.uk/Where-we-work/Overseas Link to comment
Guest Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 If it's any consolation - and I know it's not - it is very rare at your tender years to know what you want. You don't have enough life experience to know what there is let alone have any idea how the world works. I've interviewed losers in their 40's and 50's who also had nae idea. The secret is to know thyself. That's the first step on the road. Hard work, dedication and determination is a given but to know yourself, to know what you love and hate, that's an essential start. It took me until my mid 40's to get to where I wanted to be and I left working for the man by the age of 31. I couldn't do bosses cos I never had one who was better than me. It took me a further decade and a half to find my niche. Making money was never my goal. Now I'm making money because of my love of what I do. That's the long term goal young cats. Love what you do. If you don't, find something else to do. Work in lots of jobs and experience loads of environments until you find one that suits. Once you settle on a goal, it is impossible not to attain it if you want it enough. The problem for most is that they have no goal and therefore end up with what they strived for, which was absolutely fuck all. Start with small goals. I will save up for x or I will lose this much weight or I will learn about y. Improve and grow or stand still and be dead already. Simples. Link to comment
Guest Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 I just watched that video mini. Should have watched it first before posting but I didn't. When you're as old and wise as me, you don't need to. Everything that is true has been said and written before. It's just about recognising what truth is. I saw that a few years ago. The best thing he says - and it was his idiosyncratic voice that carries the nothingness of the meaninglessness message dressed up as huge wisdom - is to pursue what you love. Uncle rocket said it better. Without a poofy voice. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 If it's any consolation - and I know it's not - it is very rare at your tender years to know what you want. You don't have enough life experience to know what there is let alone have any idea how the world works. I've interviewed losers in their 40's and 50's who also had nae idea. The secret is to know thyself. That's the first step on the road. Hard work, dedication and determination is a given but to know yourself, to know what you love and hate, that's an essential start. It took me until my mid 40's to get to where I wanted to be and I left working for the man by the age of 31. I couldn't do bosses cos I never had one who was better than me. It took me a further decade and a half to find my niche. Making money was never my goal. Now I'm making money because of my love of what I do. That's the long term goal young cats. Love what you do. If you don't, find something else to do. Work in lots of jobs and experience loads of environments until you find one that suits. Once you settle on a goal, it is impossible not to attain it if you want it enough. The problem for most is that they have no goal and therefore end up with what they strived for, which was absolutely fuck all. Start with small goals. I will save up for x or I will lose this much weight or I will learn about y. Improve and grow or stand still and be dead already. Simples. A fine post R_S. Sums up alot of my opinion and experience. Still looking for my niche tho. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 I think the vast majority of us are still looking for our niche. Can any of us on here or elsewhere honestly say they enjoy what they do.I can safely say I don't love what i do, I don't hate what I do, I'm somewhere in between, but that percentage of enjoyment varies from day to day. I work to live, I don't live to work.A lot if us in Aberdeen are lucky.We may work in the O&G industry and well paid for it and have a nice car and house and all the gadgets.Are we truely happy though? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 I think the vast majority of us are still looking for our niche. Can any of us on here or elsewhere honestly say they enjoy what they do.I can safely say I don't love what i do, I don't hate what I do, I'm somewhere in between, but that percentage of enjoyment varies from day to day. I work to live, I don't live to work.A lot if us in Aberdeen are lucky.We may work in the O&G industry and well paid for it and have a nice car and house and all the gadgets.Are we truely happy though? I actually really enjoy my work - my days vanish too quickly in fact - I wish I had more hours in a working day, to get everything done! It's really interesting work and hugely challenging. However, I get paid very poorly and I have very little, or no job security. So much so that I'm actually losing my job quite shortly. My point is that it's very difficult to find a job, or career, where you love your job/work and also get paid handsomely. People who have that situation are incredibly lucky - and I'd also wager that they're few and far between! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 If it's any consolation - and I know it's not - it is very rare at your tender years to know what you want. You don't have enough life experience to know what there is let alone have any idea how the world works. I've interviewed losers in their 40's and 50's who also had nae idea. The secret is to know thyself. That's the first step on the road. Hard work, dedication and determination is a given but to know yourself, to know what you love and hate, that's an essential start. It took me until my mid 40's to get to where I wanted to be and I left working for the man by the age of 31. I couldn't do bosses cos I never had one who was better than me. It took me a further decade and a half to find my niche. Making money was never my goal. Now I'm making money because of my love of what I do. That's the long term goal young cats. Love what you do. If you don't, find something else to do. Work in lots of jobs and experience loads of environments until you find one that suits. Once you settle on a goal, it is impossible not to attain it if you want it enough. The problem for most is that they have no goal and therefore end up with what they strived for, which was absolutely fuck all. Start with small goals. I will save up for x or I will lose this much weight or I will learn about y. Improve and grow or stand still and be dead already. Simples. i dont.i just make do.however, i love what i do outside of what i do. make the most of life.go on holiday.go out for beers.spend money. i never understand people thtat, for example, wont drink because they have work the next day.to be handtied by something as trivial as work baffles me Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Become a pilot Mini, that would be mint. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 i dont.i just make do.however, i love what i do outside of what i do. make the most of life.go on holiday.go out for beers.spend money. i never understand people thtat, for example, wont drink because they have work the next day.to be handtied by something as trivial as work baffles mea Aye but everyone else has a real Job that requires them to get out of there bed and interact with the outside world. You on the other hand stay in yer bed and chugg oer spiking absolute bum cigars on here...... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Become a pilot Mini, that would be mint. yeah. or an international contract hired gun Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 yeah. or an international contract hired gun Yeah, get one of those pistols with the screw in silencer, tuxedo, job done. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Aye but everyone else has a real Job that requires them to get out of there bed and interact with the outside world. You on the other hand stay in yer bed and chugg oer spiking absolute bum cigars on here...... nah min, im nae a bum like harcus. but there you go."real" job.youre ruled by your job, a slave to it.im not.ergo im a winner. work is work but life is life - bluto10 afc chat oct mmxiii Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 You got a new gig lined up Bripod? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Yeah, get one of those pistols with the screw in silencer, tuxedo, job done. i could see us sipping G&Ts at a monte carlo casino table surronded by leggy broads come to think about it Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Aye, taking December off and going to work for a recruitment company in January all being well. gettin jobs for bums like tup and harcus? Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 nah min, im nae a bum like harcus. but there you go."real" job.youre ruled by your job, a slave to it.im not.ergo im a winner. work is work but life is life - bluto10 afc chat oct mmxiiiSlave to my work?? Work 4 months of the year hardly a slave is it really? Work means cash ,cash means getting wrecked on fine Vodka! and dressing in designer gear. Rather than drinking cheap cider and dressing in rags!!!! Unless your a millionaire, have a shrood understanding oh the stock market or Spoilt, your a slave like the rest oh us!!!! Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 I'm pretty happy wi my work just now, it's all I ever wanted to do from when I was young, used to help my dad every holiday or any spare time I could, that said in the future I think i'd like to maybe do something else. I'm only 23 so got years to figure out what I want to do when i'm older & fed up welding. Link to comment
zander Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Pretty happy doing what I do, hopefully get the chance to live abroad at some point in the future. Link to comment
reekie_dock Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Doesn't matter what other folk think, if your happy and content doing what you do then fuck everyone else. Coming on here and blowing yer own trumpet about yer job or lack oh it is Basic!!! People that are full oh themselves are generally thought oh as utter Wanks!! Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 If it's any consolation - and I know it's not - it is very rare at your tender years to know what you want. You don't have enough life experience to know what there is let alone have any idea how the world works. I've interviewed losers in their 40's and 50's who also had nae idea. The secret is to know thyself. That's the first step on the road. Hard work, dedication and determination is a given but to know yourself, to know what you love and hate, that's an essential start. It took me until my mid 40's to get to where I wanted to be and I left working for the man by the age of 31. I couldn't do bosses cos I never had one who was better than me. It took me a further decade and a half to find my niche. Making money was never my goal. Now I'm making money because of my love of what I do. That's the long term goal young cats. Love what you do. If you don't, find something else to do. Work in lots of jobs and experience loads of environments until you find one that suits. Once you settle on a goal, it is impossible not to attain it if you want it enough. The problem for most is that they have no goal and therefore end up with what they strived for, which was absolutely fuck all. Start with small goals. I will save up for x or I will lose this much weight or I will learn about y. Improve and grow or stand still and be dead already. Simples.Wise words indeed, Rocket. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Slave to my work?? Work 4 months of the year hardly a slave is it really? Work means cash ,cash means getting wrecked on fine Vodka! and dressing in designer gear. Rather than drinking cheap cider and dressing in rags!!!! Unless your a millionaire, have a shrood understanding oh the stock market or Spoilt, your a slave like the rest oh us!!!! aye but i dont let it dictate what i do the point im making is some folk take their work too serioulsy dont waste your life in the daily grind of of the office 9-5 routine (or the 2 on 2 off shift work) Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Aye, taking December off and going to work for a recruitment company in January all being well. Going from one office to another ? Are you seriously excited by this challenge ? Im the other side of 30, got a kid, mortgage and in a long term relationship, the options open are greatly reduced when you have responsibilities Mini is 22, with none of the above, If I was him, I would take 6-12 months out and travel, working along the way, gain valuable life experience, come back a better person, or maybe never come back. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Going from one office to another ? Are you seriously excited by this challenge ? Im the other side of 30, got a kid, mortgage and in a long term relationship, the options open are greatly reduced when you have responsibilities Mini is 22, with none of the above, If I was him, I would take 6-12 months out and travel, working along the way, gain valuable life experience, come back a better person, or maybe never come back. quite possibly, along with alcohol, the best thing you can spend your money on. dont waste time with xboxes, iphones and shite like that. holidays Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Work for me is a means to an end, I don't hate it but I don't like it, pays the bills. Being your own boss and making a good happy living out of it is probably the holy grail. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 Work for me is a means to an end, I don't hate it but I don't like it, pays the bills. Being your own boss and making a good happy living out of it is probably the holy grail. could be good, if your good at what youre doing.if not it would be shit; stressful. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 quite possibly, along with alcohol, the best thing you can spend your money on. dont waste time with xboxes, iphones and shite like that. holidays Combine both, travel and drink But even if it is picking fruit in Perth Australia, to a builders labourer in London, to bar work in Magaluf, or PR work in Ibiza to working the door in Berlin. Do it, as a means to enjoying the country / city you visiting Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 23, 2013 Share Posted October 23, 2013 TOTD experiences are worth far more that material objects Link to comment
minijc Posted October 23, 2013 Author Share Posted October 23, 2013 Some good interesting replies in here, Rocket, I totally get what you are saying and I appreciate the reply. I've spoke before to friends and family about going away trying "find myself" and to see different parts of the world but I just don't think I could do it. EPK, I know a couple of guys who have worked really hard then taken time out to go see parts of the world, one is older and I know him through thai boxing, he's went to Thailand and seems to be having the time of his live, got total admiration for him, same can be said for a guy who was a year older than me and went to my school, he packed in his job and has went travelling around Aus, He's still there now and was working with a travelling carnival, free travel and some money to play with, just absolute quality but I just don't think I could do that. Link to comment