Ke1t Posted November 4, 2013 Share Posted November 4, 2013 Anyone know what years they opened and closed? Link to comment
tutankamun Posted November 4, 2013 Share Posted November 4, 2013 I'm fairly sure Videoplex became Hoochi Coochi in 1992. Not sure when it opened, 1986? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 4, 2013 Author Share Posted November 4, 2013 Champers was a good shout by someone earlier... I'm sure that was around the time of Thatcher's 'Care in the Community' and they used to kick the patients oot of Woodlands on a weekend inna. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted November 4, 2013 Share Posted November 4, 2013 Champers was a good shout by someone earlier... I'm sure that was around the time of Thatcher's 'Care in the Community' and they used to kick the patients oot of Woodlands on a weekend inna. Champers underage disco circa late 80's. Getting filled in by some tcheuchter for trying it on with their burd. Great memories. Same with The Commodore in Stonhaven. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 5, 2013 Share Posted November 5, 2013 I was a Hoochi Coochi man for years, Thursday and Sunday night, have no idea on the years, know I was fucked on E's every time I was there. Do recall being gutted when it shut and became Zuu, best club in Aberdeen ruined. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 Champers was a good shout by someone earlier... I'm sure that was around the time of Thatcher's 'Care in the Community' and they used to kick the patients oot of Woodlands on a weekend inna. My cousin used to bang on about that place all the time when we were about 15 years old making that 1990. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 only caught the last year or so of the hoochi, was working as a chef at the time out at the old dyce scoobydoo so that must've been '93 The Peli was far superior daytz Anyone remember that place that opened up for about a year across from the bus and train station called naebidiesinn around 94/95? Now that was a den of iniquity... Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 thought you would've been more of a mud club and fusion kind of guy though kelt. Thats where my aunt and all her freaky mates used to go. All dolled up with black and white badger hair do's and the one multicoloured mohawk. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 6, 2013 Author Share Posted November 6, 2013 thought you would've been more of a mud club and fusion kind of guy though kelt. Thats where my aunt and all her freaky mates used to go. All dolled up with black and white badger hair do's and the one multicoloured mohawk. The death of The Venue saw me move away from the Goth scene, though I did hit the Mudd Club quite frequently. In fact I think them closing The Venue signalled my move away from the underground scene pretty much altogether. I retired the Gladiator boots, the bondage pants, and the long black coats, grew out the black hair, and started listening to Huey Lewis and the News and other soulless pop shite. I might even have bought a polo neck sweater and a pair of boating shoes at one point post-goth. Some of the lassies I knew turned it into a lifestyle, though... and they're still dressing up like every day's halloween. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 The Peli was far superiorIndeed it was. Certainly before they built the dance floor extension. BBQs and bouncy castles out the back. Peli was actually a bit Goth in its early years, quickly became all Indy and dance when the Roses etc. came on the scene. Apparently Paz 'big nose' Pooba works for Pixar these days. Big shout out for 'Fever' as well, that club was the ruin of me as a young man. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 A mate of mine is still like that, stil has the long hair, Long black coat and great bug muckle boots with lots of buckles on them and he must be in his mid 40s......... You didn't know a goth called Rick back in the day did you? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 6, 2013 Author Share Posted November 6, 2013 A mate of mine is still like that, stil has the long hair, Long black coat and great bug muckle boots with lots of buckles on them and he must be in his mid 40s......... You didn't know a goth called Rick back in the day did you? Rick? Doesn't ring any bells, though it's a long time since. We tended towards cliques, I think... my own little clique usually comprised of Jock, ginger lad mair into his psychobilly than goth, but he was a fine loon and a bit mental... his old dear used to have a mobile sandwich service. Dave fae Snips, wore a top hat with a feather in it, he was your archetypal goth, Nicola fae Marathon.. her goth name was Toots Robin fae Torry, liked her fishnets. I think Fat .. fuck.. fat... I forget his name, but he was fat and wore a long sort of tweed jacket, liked his Battlestar Galactica, got Robin pregnant allegedly, dirty, dirty bastard. Bod was another lad.. something of a Casual, but into his underground scene. There was an English lad, another Dave, first time I met him I was left alone in his company. Our first conversation went; "You know Christian Deff?" "Aye." "You know the bird wot sings for em?" "Aye" "I'm going to see em next mumf." "Aye?" "I'm not wanking or nuffing." "Aye?" "And you know when she comes ova to the edge of the stage?" "Aye?" "I'm gonna CUM all ova 'er!" ... was it Fat Eric? ...Hang on, Rick didn't have long red and black hair, did he? Wore a sort of cowskin pattern jacket? Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 Rick? Doesn't ring any bells, though it's a long time since. We tended towards cliques, I think... my own little clique usually comprised of Jock, ginger lad mair into his psychobilly than goth, but he was a fine loon and a bit mental... his old dear used to have a mobile sandwich service. Dave fae Snips, wore a top hat with a feather in it, he was your archetypal goth, Nicola fae Marathon.. her goth name was Toots Robin fae Torry, liked her fishnets. I think Fat .. fuck.. fat... I forget his name, but he was fat and wore a long sort of tweed jacket, liked his Battlestar Galactica, got Robin pregnant allegedly, dirty, dirty bastard. Bod was another lad.. something of a Casual, but into his underground scene. There was an English lad, another Dave, first time I met him I was left alone in his company. Our first conversation went; "You know Christian Deff?" "Aye." "You know the bird wot sings for em?" "Aye" "I'm going to see em next mumf." "Aye?" "I'm not wanking or nuffing." "Aye?" "And you know when she comes ova to the edge of the stage?" "Aye?" "I'm gonna CUM all ova 'er!" ... was it Fat Eric? ...Hang on, Rick didn't have long red and black hair, did he? Wore a sort of cowskin pattern jacket? I kinda lost touch with him when as he got freakier and freakier I do mind a cow skin and tassel thing going on at one point, Went in for ruffled shirts waist coats, a long leather jacket (which someone nicked) and huge platform beets, performing poetry in the Moorings under the name of Rick Ghastly the last time I saw him. A sort of a vampire/lead singer of the damned look.............canna mind if he ever had red in his hair though? Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 I kinda lost touch with him when as he got freakier and freakier I do mind a cow skin and tassel thing going on at one point, Went in for ruffled shirts waist coats, a long leather jacket (which someone nicked) and huge platform beets, performing poetry in the Moorings under the name of Rick Ghastly the last time I saw him. A sort of a vampire/lead singer of the damned look.............canna mind if he ever had red in his hair though? I know the guy you're talking about. I've seen him do poetry in Celler 35 before. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 only caught the last year or so of the hoochi, was working as a chef at the time out at the old dyce scoobydoo so that must've been '93 The Peli was far superior daytz Anyone remember that place that opened up for about a year across from the bus and train station called naebidiesinn around 94/95? Now that was a den of iniquity... I was never a fan of the Peli, went quite a few times but couldn't get into it, went to the stuff put on at the Neptune for a while but some amount of dregs were getting into the scene by then, I kind of lost my appeal for it when the Hoochi closed. One off stuff in fields and the beach was ok, usually the good crowd. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 I know the guy you're talking about. I've seen him do poetry in Celler 35 before. I can do poetry. Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 I can do poetry. So no need for me to bring my radio when i'm round fixing up your gaff? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 The Bally's allnighters in Arbroath were fucking awesome. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 6, 2013 Share Posted November 6, 2013 I never liked the Peli and thought Paz was a cock. Funny hat wearing twat. You're bald, face it. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 The Bally's allnighters in Arbroath were fucking awesome. I've still got the VHS of one of them to this day, saw it in the cupboard just the other day, I can be seen fucking wrecked in it cutting some shapes, amazing nights. Don't have a VHS player anymore, must get it put onto disc or memory to show the grandkids one day. I have red Fila boots and bleached jeans cut and frayed to the knee, I thought I looked the dogs at the time! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 I've still got the VHS of one of them to this day, saw it in the cupboard just the other day, I can be seen fucking wrecked in it cutting some shapes, amazing nights. Don't have a VHS player anymore, must get it put onto disc or memory to show the grandkids one day. I have red Fila boots and bleached jeans cut and frayed to the knee, I thought I looked the dogs at the time! EMF. You're unbelievable. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 EMF. You're unbelievable. I think that's where the idea came from, I love that song! Link to comment