spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 http://www.stonehavenrealalefestival.co.uk/ Kicks off tonight. I've been the last few years, monumental piss up! If you're out that way and like your beers its well worth a drop in. Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Fucking shit balls, We spoke about going to this - totally forgot about it Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Decent. I've no idea where i'll fit this into my weekend plans though. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 cool adult behaviour berto min Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 Decent. I've no idea where i'll fit this into my weekend plans though. If you're going to the game on Saturday it'll be a good place to get a few warmers in before the game. Train from there to Aberdeen and then taxi to Pittodrie is our plan. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 beer festivals are ace.as long as its decent beer of course Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 Stoney puts on a good one bluts, usually runs out of the 50 odd types of beer around 5pm on Saturday. I'd like to go tomorrow night before the choice dwindles but I've got a mates birthday party to play at. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 is it the 6north folks doing it? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 da ken hope not beer and bar is utter pish... Been twice, wont be going again. Warm, watery garbage served in a sterile, white, ikea bench filled horrid environment by part time bar staff that couldnt point you in the direction of the toilet never mind recommend a decent beer that suits the flavours and body you like. Link to comment
dave_min Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 If you're going to the game on Saturday it'll be a good place to get a few warmers in before the game. Train from there to Aberdeen and then taxi to Pittodrie is our plan. What time do doors open on the Saturday anyway? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 1pm until the beer is finished. Its pretty quiet first thing Saturday, usually. Means you can get £40 of tokens and get right round them all in an hour or so. Fuck I'm going to be plastered, again Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 da ken hope not beer and bar is utter pish... Been twice, wont be going again. Warm, watery garbage served in a sterile, white, ikea bench filled horrid environment by part time bar staff that couldnt point you in the direction of the toilet never mind recommend a decent beer that suits the flavours and body you like. That bad? have yet to give it a try! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 That bad? have yet to give it a try!Unfortunately aye. I was hoping for a brew dog alternative but not to be. Would be ok I suppose if you're into your blonde bier but not for people that like darker ales and beer with flavour. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Unfortunately aye. I was hoping for a brew dog alternative but not to be. Would be ok I suppose if you're into your blonde bier but not for people that like darker ales and beer with flavour. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Shame, Was looking forward to giving it a bash. I like the odd pint of Hoegaarden but very much a darker ale man too, have been enjoying Harviestown - Schehallion which is a lovely change. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 Shame, Was looking forward to giving it a bash. I like the odd pint of Hoegaarden but very much a darker ale man too, have been enjoying Harviestown - Schehallion which is a lovely change.I've been drinking a lot of sainsburys own Kentish ale the last few weeks. Link to comment
dunc_afc Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 It is 6degrees sponsoring it. Would have been tempted to nip down before the game but I'm going to a whisky tasting thing in tunnels instead so there is a good chance I will wake up Sunday thinking we won 10-0 whether we did or not. Link to comment
dunc_afc Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 I've been drinking a lot of sainsburys own Kentish ale the last few weeks. £2.35 a bottle but it's almost a full pint and its affa fine. Darker I usually pick up William Wallace or black sheep from tesco. Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYou tried the deeside tallorchan? Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Will give it a bash!!!!Have tried that william wallace stuff before it was lovely. Never used to be much of an ale fan but finding myself creeping closer and closer to the dark side Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Shame, Was looking forward to giving it a bash. I like the odd pint of Hoegaarden but very much a darker ale man too, have been enjoying Harviestown - Schehallion which is a lovely change. thats nae really indicative of blonde beers stoner min. some of the finest beers known to man are blonde; dont let colour cloud your judgement. Link to comment
360 Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 I like blonde beer I think. Does Innis & Gunn do one? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 You tried the deeside tallorchan? I think so, my mate dropped a couple of bottles into me a month or so ago after he visited the brewery. I was 17. Still hard as fuck now. Fat cunt. I'd smack you between the eyes and you'd drop like a sack o' spuds. Cool adult behaviour there Roberto Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 thats nae really indicative of blonde beers stoner min. some of the finest beers known to man are blonde; dont let colour cloud your judgement. I'll try anything once.......Problem is i canna mind half of what i have tried Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 I'll try anything once.......Problem is i canna mind half of what i have tried good attitude. pay a little, just a little, attention to the style and youlll be an expert in no time; eventually finding the types you like. there loads of beer styles out there, all with something to offer think local and drink local. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 I never had you down as a boozer bluto mate. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Kicks off tonight Hope y'all enjoy it. It is a CAMRA event? (I didnt check the link). Normally I go to an ale festival down in Troon each year. Its pretty good. You can sit drinking all day, eating Killie Pies and Pakora. (No wonder im such a fat c*nt). My recommendations for folk enjoying a tipple: -Black Galloway : A simple black porter. -Claverhouse Red: A hoppy red ale, named after John Graham of Claverhouse, Viscount Dundee, who was a Jacobite General in the first rising. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 7, 2013 Author Share Posted November 7, 2013 Dont think it is Clydesdale, been on the go for a few years this one. Link to comment
Geoff_Tipps Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Im heading a long to this tomorrow seen the beer list and it looks pretty special. Cromarty AKA IPA is a cracking beer. Link to comment
Mouse Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 Took the day off for this tomorrow. Heading to Stoney for mid afternoon, a couple in the Marine then head up. Pittodrie one in May was decent, although bit of a clinical atmosphere. I missed last year's but my friends told me it's good fun Link to comment
Mouse Posted November 7, 2013 Share Posted November 7, 2013 I'm quite a fan of the William Bro's ales Link to comment