Pudgie Posted November 17, 2013 Share Posted November 17, 2013 Just wondering if anyone has experienced Netflix (UK) and Hulu Plus (US) and if there's any significant differences? Setting up a VPN is no bother, but getting a US debit card has proved tricky without paying an extra tenner for the privilege or else I could have tried it out with the free trial. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted November 17, 2013 Author Share Posted November 17, 2013 Use Paypal then.Need a US registered Paypal. Tried my UK one and nae eese. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 Why not just use your VPN to get the US version of Netflix. It's a damn sight better than the UK one. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 Never used hulu plus but did use hulu a lot for a while when I lived in clog and had hidmyass as a vpn. It was decent to use but they do get smart to the vpn's and you have to hunt about for others to use. I've heard that the US netflix is really good, a lot more content than UK netflix but I havent used it. I had netflix for a while, thought it was shite and got rid of it before trying the US version. I also couldnt be arsed with the whole VPN things again once I moved home, I only got it for the SPL in the first place so I could listen to BBC radio abroad. My downloading of TV shows kinda follows this; Look on a legit site like hulu and also scan sky anytime to see if its on thereIf not then go to something like watchseries and just watch it on there. I know a lot of people think that streaming TV shows from the likes of watchseries is dodgy but so is watching US TV via a VPN so if you're willing to do one then why not the other? If watching hulu or streaming from Fox, ABC etc was 100% above board in the UK then you wouldnt have to bother with the VPN, would you Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 I know a lot of people think that streaming TV shows from the likes of watchseries is dodgy but so is watching US TV via a VPN so if you're willing to do one then why not the other? If watching hulu or streaming from Fox, ABC etc was 100% above board in the UK then you wouldnt have to bother with the VPN, would you Due to technology going faster than the laws governing things, streaming movies and tv programs is perfectly legit in Noggieland Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 Due to technology going faster than the laws governing things, streaming movies and tv programs is perfectly legit in Noggieland Does that mean you can just go straight onto the likes of hulu and watch any US program there now or do you still have to do it by a VPN? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 Does that mean you can just go straight onto the likes of hulu and watch any US program there now or do you still have to do it by a VPN? Still have to do it via VPN, but it's legal to do so, at least fae this side. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 Still have to do it via VPN, but it's legal to do so, at least fae this side. Thats the thing with all these broadcasting laws, no one really knows exactly who's responsible for policing what these day, well some will but they get paid to work it out. For the sake of good programming the broadcasters and the producers of programs need to catch up quickly but I think they are all too worried about what they think they'll miss out on instead of what they'd gain. In this global market you'd think the studios would've managed to come up with ways of funding and producing TV programs that wasnt solely reliant on the say so of one US network and was sold more on a global or global regional basis that meant that four or five networks globally footed the initial bill but then got all the online rights and were able to also broadcast those globally with advertising etc. Would only increase the quality of programs available and with that increase the viewing figures. I'm a big Sci Fi fan, love my Stargate and Star Trek programs, cant see a series of either ever being made again because of the way studios sell to US networks only to begin with and get a lot of the production money in that way but there is a global market for it, thats obvious by the amount of broadcasters that still show Star Trek and Stargates reruns years and years after they were made, they wouldnt be on TV if no one was watching them. The amount of times I got really pissed off when watching a new series only to find out it had been canned by the US network backing it because it didnt hit some figure somewhere on those TV viewing box things they have in America. Makes you a little wary about getting into anything new IMO. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 Thats the thing with all these broadcasting laws, no one really knows exactly who's responsible for policing what these day, well some will but they get paid to work it out. For the sake of good programming the broadcasters and the producers of programs need to catch up quickly but I think they are all too worried about what they think they'll miss out on instead of what they'd gain. In this global market you'd think the studios would've managed to come up with ways of funding and producing TV programs that wasnt solely reliant on the say so of one US network and was sold more on a global or global regional basis that meant that four or five networks globally footed the initial bill but then got all the online rights and were able to also broadcast those globally with advertising etc. Would only increase the quality of programs available and with that increase the viewing figures. I'm a big Sci Fi fan, love my Stargate and Star Trek programs, cant see a series of either ever being made again because of the way studios sell to US networks only to begin with and get a lot of the production money in that way but there is a global market for it, thats obvious by the amount of broadcasters that still show Star Trek and Stargates reruns years and years after they were made, they wouldnt be on TV if no one was watching them. The amount of times I got really pissed off when watching a new series only to find out it had been canned by the US network backing it because it didnt hit some figure somewhere on those TV viewing box things they have in America. Makes you a little wary about getting into anything new IMO. They've made inroads at least in that most big American series are shown days or at most weeks after they are shown in the US, rather than months or years like it was back in the day. Eh can live with a week's delay if it means taping it off of Sky rather than flaffing about with having my Mac believe it is in Utah and then streaming it on to the tv, only for it to buffer at the crucial point in the program. We will always be reliant on what big fat Americans think though in determining our viewing pleasures, but there are gems that make it thru like The Wire as they weren't reliant on viewing figures. Remember also Baywatch was canned in the US but was brought back for European perverts Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 all I took from that reply Byer is that you're a macsnob Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 18, 2013 Share Posted November 18, 2013 all I took from that reply Byer is that you're a macsnob Not really, just with all the other iGadgets in the hoose including an AppleTv, it makes life easier. Link to comment