Insulating

Pudgie

We've got a loft conversion and whatever fucking dick done it, decided that the sweltering climate of the North-East of Scotland was far too tropical to ever need insulation. So now I'm landed with the task of insulating the fecker.

Something like this but much less gay.

loft-bedroom-conversion-51.gif

I need the ceiling and angled walls insulated but I don't know if I should get the insulated plasterboard panels and re-plaster them meaning painting, and making a cunt of a mess. or getting the rolls and insulating from behind the hatch. Haven't a clue how I'd get the ceiling done though.

Has anyone ever had any dealings with the insulating plasterboard? Is it easy to work with? Would it work if I was to insulate the angled walls with roll insulation and insulate the ceiling with the plasterboard stuff?

Aye and aye. Trying to fondle the Mrs' fun parts is rather difficult when they are wrapped up in a duffle coat, and there is already a radiator. All I'm heating is the sky.

Best result would be to inuslate the walls from in the crawl space using rigid insulation board like celotex rather than the rockwool type stuff. you can cut it to fit tightly between the timber studwork and it is better in terms of keeping the heat in as well.

The angled bits of the wall, if you can get to them, same thing - slide some rigid boards up between the roof truses if you can.

Anything you can't get to, you will have to overboard with the insulated plasterboard right enough but as you say it will mean plastering and repainting when you're done.

Best result would be to inuslate the walls from in the crawl space using rigid insulation board like celotex rather than the rockwool type stuff. you can cut it to fit tightly between the timber studwork and it is better in terms of keeping the heat in as well.

The angled bits of the wall, if you can get to them, same thing - slide some rigid boards up between the roof truses if you can.

Anything you can't get to, you will have to overboard with the insulated plasterboard right enough but as you say it will mean plastering and repainting when you're done.

Good man. If it was the rolls then I might have been able to get it to unroll along the ceiling. I'll have a look at pricing the boards. Thankfully it'll be a bit easier to work with than the rockwool.

Had a wee google for you:

http://www.warmcel.co.uk/installation.php#cavities

Installing WARMCEL Cavities - Closed Panel Structures

WARMCEL 500 is installed for closed panel structures - including walls, floors and sloping roofs - using the TurboFill injection system.

The TurboFill nozzle is docked with the panel by means of pre-drilled access holes, through which the WARMCEL 500 is injected. An ingenious pressure-sensing system ensures the void is completely filled to the correct density for optimum performance.

WARMCEL 500 may also be installed

via a blowing hose, inserted fully into the cavity to be filled and slowly withdrawn as blowing proceeds (in order to give a uniform density throughout the whole void).

Because the insulation process is entirely discrete and unobtrusive it can be undertaken at the same time as other trades are working, so not impacting on the build programme.

Click here for a complete list of WARMCEL Installers.

We've got a loft conversion and whatever fucking dick done it, decided that the sweltering climate of the North-East of Scotland was far too tropical to ever need insulation. So now I'm landed with the task of insulating the fecker.

Something like this but much less gay.

loft-bedroom-conversion-51.gif

I need the ceiling and angled walls insulated but I don't know if I should get the insulated plasterboard panels and re-plaster them meaning painting, and making a cunt of a mess. or getting the rolls and insulating from behind the hatch. Haven't a clue how I'd get the ceiling done though.

Has anyone ever had any dealings with the insulating plasterboard? Is it easy to work with? Would it work if I was to insulate the angled walls with roll insulation and insulate the ceiling with the plasterboard stuff?

Any chance you can post the same picture in black and white? ;)

Beware of moisture issues if it's an old house Pudgie. Insulating an occupied loft roof is a different kettle of fish to insulating a loft floor. A lot different.

Any chance you can post the same picture in black and white? ;)

Beware of moisture issues if it's an old house Pudgie. Insulating an occupied loft roof is a different kettle of fish to insulating a loft floor. A lot different.

I was tempted to photoshop the sea into the floor but nae at 11 o clock I'm nae.

It's Union St so very old. late 1800's early 1900's I'd guess. Conversion of the loft was done in the 90's. There's quite a bit of room for air circulation, even with the insulation, so not sure that moisture would be an issue or not. At this point, I just want to be able to get out of bed without freezing my ba's aff first thing in the morning.

EDIT: Also, there's quite a few open air vents in the roof already.

Id use rigid kingspan/celotex on angled wall/coombed ceiling.. but glass wool is fine for upstand and ceiling.... buy ready made loft hatch.. cut out roll out glass wool.. fit hatch. There should be an acess door on each side on upstand to get to coombed ceiling.

Yeah, there's hatches already and I've managed to blag some insulation for the upstands. Priced some board and it's not as expensive as I thought. Hopefully get at least most of it done by the real cold weather. Anyone know how tight it needs to be (fnarf fnarf) to be most effective? Our joists are 400mm wide and need to be cut 1200mm long. That makes 6 perfect cuts in a sheet unless it needs to be cut bigger.