Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 25, 2013 Share Posted November 25, 2013 Of all the times I have seen us win at the tattie dome, (mostly historical events now), this is probably my favourite, because I was in the first flush of youth and life was beautiful and surely this kind of scoreline at Parkhead could be taken for granted and was wholly unremarkable, simply part of the rich tapestry of life. This must have been one of Champagne Charlies first games back at sellick, against us (first?). He does his scary shouting face in the video - fat lot of good it did him. Love Bobby Connors Hewitt-esque star jump after scoring. The old Orcish end at Parkhead was so much better than the cramped seats we get now. And from one of my favourite ever seasons (92/93) the exciting Clydebank cup game. As well as the score, this game is significant for me because - some 20 years later - I found out that my now-wife was at the game, as a Bankies fan, with her dad and sister (he obviously wanted sons haha!). I remember talking about the game and she excitedly burst out "I was at that game too!". She thought I might say "how romantic" or "funny old world, or some p*ss, but I just said "4 - 3: get it up you!" Link to comment
Foster14 Posted November 25, 2013 Share Posted November 25, 2013 2-3 victory in the cup at Tannadice against Dundee United. 2-0 down at HT, Derek Stillie inspired comeback. 1-2 win at Tynecastle.0-1 win at Tynecastle.0-3 win at Tynecastle. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 Mackie goal at the piggery to put the cunts out of the Scottish cup after they nicked a replay & thought the tie was in the bag. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hWgfWPI-iSs Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 So many from over the years.........More often than not the best games were the ones you wernt expecting, Some cracking selections already, One of my favourites was the Scottish Cup semi final in 2000, Hardly any of us down due to the ridicules kick off time....... Latapy scored an absolute peach of a goal and hibs pretty much dominant, Andy Dow and Stav both scored crackers and the bounce was superb remember falling down the stairs with 2-3 others ending up at the bottom bouncing about. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 I remember one time at Easter Road about 7 or 8 years ago. Was up the back of the away stand with guys from the bus I had got down. The Dons went one up, and to celbrate someone passed a bag of E's along the back row. I took a couple out and necked them. Two minutes later, the bag gets passed back along, so I took another. Next thing I know, it's seven hours later and I am in a pub on Leith Walk yapping away to some Edinburgh based Dons fans. I'd missed the bus back by a good 6 hours.Anyone else there for that one? Turned into a rare weekend, got back up to Aberdeen on Tuesday morning. Link to comment
Hewitt1983 Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 This was just ridiculous. http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=233&season=2002-03&squad=Senior Felt like the stand was going to take off after we scored the winner. 3-0 down at Tynecastle was great fun as well a few years ago. We were pouring our own pints in the Roseburn bar before the game, tremendous scenes. Link to comment
Red Ram Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 Hampden 1995 2-1 victory in Coca Cola cup over team known as Rangers. Eoin Jess doing keepie uppies - sheer class!!! Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 Winning league at Easter Road in 1980.Gothenburg.5 Scottish cup wins.4 League Cup wins.Several wins at ibrox and celtic park.Sometimes being an old fucker is good. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 26, 2013 Author Share Posted November 26, 2013 I took an e at fitba once many years ago.Heres me happy with a pie and bovril too! Im a man of simple pleasures.Never again did I do that, nor would I recommend it.Tell us what happened! Link to comment
Henry Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 Roberto took an E at the football, and then woke up with sticky bedsheets. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 Are you sure you weren't in Joy or Drum spangled oot yer napper and imagined the whole thing!!No, was definitely at Easter Road. Was all going swimmingly - had actually got to a football match quite sober. Got in to the game before kick-off, sampled a wonderful pizza slice from the refreshments stand and was all up for the full 90 minutes of football. In the end, didn't even know what the final score was - or if in fact if I was even there at full-time. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted November 26, 2013 Share Posted November 26, 2013 Motherwell in the cup when Fallon and Brown were the heroes of the day was the best cup away day for me. My first ever away game was also pretty good - a 5-3 win at Tannadice. I had braces put in a couple of days before so was in a lot of discomfort but that game took my mind of things for a wee while. Shame so few of my subsequent visits to Tannadice haven't been so much fun. Link to comment
Jigot Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 At the '06 semi against the Hobos every cunt on the bus was on E's and as most of us was sat in the same row behind the goals, when I looked along, it looked like "Under Orders" at the start of a camel race. Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 If Rory Fallon is involved in any "best of" then the jobs a bogie. Was away to say, Would put that cunt on suicide watch ay-sap. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 Winning league at Easter Road in 1980.Gothenburg.5 Scottish cup wins.4 League Cup wins.Several wins at ibrox and celtic park.Sometimes being an old fucker is good.Add to that beating Celtic 2-1 in LCF in 76, longest journey home but worth every minute Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 During the 'great escape' the games at Brockville and then East End Park are well remembered by me. A young KSL was full of beans at those games and EEP was a great relief at the end. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 Remember the 2 Dunfermline fans that ran onto the pitch at the end of the game? Haha. It was actually (strangely) a good time supporting the Dons. We were altogether as one - was brilliant.True.I certainly retain a more intense affection for all thing AFC back in those days than I do now. Link to comment
Dandydon D Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 Dundee Utd @ Tannadump Scottish Cup. 2-0 down at HT. Winning goal sparked scenes of pure bedlam. Only thing that has come close to that in my experience was Barry Nic's equaliser at Tynecastle that basically put us in Europe. Never seen so many bodies flying through mid air in my life. Link to comment
Stoney Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 Remember almost half our support leaving that united game at half time, could have easily been 4-0 down Excellent come back and bounce for the winner was superb. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 ooooh! I do like playin away... afc chatafc chatyour not as shit asab fuckin mad refrain Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 Add to that beating Celtic 2-1 in LCF in 76, longest journey home but worth every minute Assume that to be included in the 4 Tommy mentions? Unless you're suggesting that Tommy was at the 55-56 final as well... Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 Assume that to be included in the 4 Tommy mentions? Unless you're suggesting that Tommy was at the 55-56 final as well... I never got a fuckin ticket. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 I never got a fuckin ticket. So League Cups= Tommy 4-4 MH Soon to be 5-5 Unless you pop yer clogs afore next spring. Link to comment
Tommy Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 So League Cups= Tommy 4-4 MH Soon to be 5-5 Unless you pop yer clogs afore next spring. I'm getting the best possible treatment so hopefully it's 5-5. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 I'm getting the best possible treatment so hopefully it's 5-5. Link to comment
zander Posted November 27, 2013 Share Posted November 27, 2013 That 3-2 United cup game is a particular stand out. Arnnasons wonder strike a few year back is a recent memory down there. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted November 27, 2013 Author Share Posted November 27, 2013 This was just ridiculous. http://www.afcheritage.org/matches/fixtures/mreport.cfm?fixture_id=233&season=2002-03&squad=Senior Felt like the stand was going to take off after we scored the winner.We arrived late for that game (halftime - roadworks on m8) and they wouldnt let us in. Ended up listening to the game on the radio in an edinburgh pub. FFS. Link to comment