RabidGiraffe Posted December 11, 2013 Share Posted December 11, 2013 Anyone been fined for being in the bus lane lately? They seem to have them set affa sensitive. I got one this week with the photo on it. It's at the very end of the Holburn Street bus lane, my car is only 3/4 in the lane and it's clear from the angle of the car I've only just entered the lane, 5 minutes before it is no longer in operation. Anyone tried to contest one of these? Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted December 11, 2013 Share Posted December 11, 2013 Heaps of fines have been handed out and apparently a lot of them have been unpaid. I think it's the council that deals with this now so I don't know if that makes it any easier to avoid paying a fine.. Most people seem to avoid using the bus lanes at all times now which means you can skip all the traffic when you're actually allowed to drive in the bus lanes! Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted December 11, 2013 Author Share Posted December 11, 2013 I know a couple of other people who got them recently but paid them. It's nothing but a money making exercise. It certainly isn't going to improve road safety or traffic congestion. Link to comment
jassb Posted December 11, 2013 Share Posted December 11, 2013 What's the cost of straying in the bus lane? If you were only 3/4 in the lane, are you only fined 3/4 or still full price? Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted December 11, 2013 Author Share Posted December 11, 2013 The fine is £30, double if you don't pay it within 14 days. Or as they put it on the letter, the fine is £60, but out of the goodness of their heart they'll half it if you pay it within 14 days. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 The council will send you a letter after 28 days for their cash if you haven't paid it. It's the same lot that collect the parking fines and after a big hooha in the locals about the amount of fines outstanding they're being pretty strict about it all now. I'd just pay it and move on min. Nae worth the hassle for the price of a meal. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 See folk cruising down the bus lanes on Queens Road near Anderson drive at rush hour every day...their own fault. Edge of the box is harsh though. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 Contest it. Worst Case scenario - You'll still have to pay it, but you should still have 14 days from receiving the rejection to pay the lower price Best case Scenario - You won't have to pay for it. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 Glasgow Council were on the news recently as the most severe Council in the whole of the Uk for fining people in bus lanes. The lousy f*ckers. Bus lanes should be abolished, as should buses. Raised Mono-rail is the way of the future. I saw it on the Simpsons and everything! Link to comment
zander Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 I got one on a Saturday morning see by the picture I'm just entering as it caught me. Thought it was a bit harsh at 8:30 on a Saturday morning when theres next to no traffic. Also heard of a lot more people getting caught lately. Link to comment
cow Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 Bus Lanes are fucking stupid and should be instantly scrapped. What is the point of having a lane with 1 or 2 vehicles and another with hundreds? The idea of course is the bus will Zoom you to the city and everyone will ditch the car. This of course doesn't work as the bus stops ever 20 feet (as there are waaay to many bus stops) and you end up arriving at your destination at exactly the same time if not longer. Plus your force fed a copy of the metro and you've probably picked up Hepatitis A-D. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted December 12, 2013 Share Posted December 12, 2013 Buses in Aberdeen are a disgrace. You're cheaper just buying a bus than travelling on one in Aberdeen these days. Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Anyone been fined for being in the bus lane lately? They seem to have them set affa sensitive. I got one this week with the photo on it. It's at the very end of the Holburn Street bus lane, my car is only 3/4 in the lane and it's clear from the angle of the car I've only just entered the lane, 5 minutes before it is no longer in operation. Anyone tried to contest one of these? Death's too good for you. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Anyone been fined for being in the bus lane lately? They seem to have them set affa sensitive. I got one this week with the photo on it. It's at the very end of the Holburn Street bus lane, my car is only 3/4 in the lane and it's clear from the angle of the car I've only just entered the lane, 5 minutes before it is no longer in operation. Anyone tried to contest one of these?You should buy a bus. Or drive a taxi. That's how Noel Edmonds gets away with it. http://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/noel-edmonds-drives-his-unlicensed-taxi-424064 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 You need a dummy as well. http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/noel-edmonds-black-taxi-mannequin-1844540 Link to comment
Hewitt1983 Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Most people seem to avoid using the bus lanes at all times now which means you can skip all the traffic when you're actually allowed to drive in the bus lanes! Always found that strange. It's clearly marked when you're allowed in the bus lanes yet the majortiy of drivers never seem to use them when you're allowed to do so, even when it's busy. It's great shooting doon King Street when a' other daft cunt is inexplicably sitting in the normal lane Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Goes to show most motorists can't read a traffic sign! Great Northern Road approaching the Haudagains another bit of road where it happens. Always see people (at times when you're allowed to use that bus lane) queing up in the right lane then cutting across into the left lane where the bus lane ends. Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Goes to show most motorists can't read a traffic sign! Great Northern Road approaching the Haudagains another bit of road where it happens. Always see people (at times when you're allowed to use that bus lane) queing up in the right lane then cutting across into the left lane where the bus lane ends. To be fair to Joe Average, the Times on the Bus Lane signs are almost impossible to read until you're very close. I'm also 99% Sure that the Bus Lanes on GNR are 24-hour and this is an attempt to get folk fined. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 To be fair to Joe Average, the Times on the Bus Lane signs are almost impossible to read until you're very close. I'm also 99% Sure that the Bus Lanes on GNR are 24-hour and this is an attempt to get folk fined.Surely the average Joe knows by now that the bus lanes finish at 6pm. King Street is, as someone else pointed out, great for shooting down at 6pm via the bus lanes as everyone seems scared to use it. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 To be fair to Joe Average, the Times on the Bus Lane signs are almost impossible to read until you're very close. I'm also 99% Sure that the Bus Lanes on GNR are 24-hour and this is an attempt to get folk fined. Joe average should've went to specsavers. Link to comment
chaos_defrost Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 To be fair to Joe Average, the Times on the Bus Lane signs are almost impossible to read until you're very close. I'm also 99% Sure that the Bus Lanes on GNR are 24-hour and this is an attempt to get folk fined. Haha just goes to show what I was saying! Off the top of my head bus lane from at least the White Horse to the Haudagain you can use any time expect between 8-9:30am and 4-6pm. Bus lane on Auchmill Road can't be used by cars at anytime. Link to comment
Poodler Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Haha just goes to show what I was saying! Off the top of my head bus lane from at least the White Horse to the Haudagain you can use any time expect between 8-9:30am and 4-6pm. Bus lane on Auchmill Road can't be used by cars at anytime. This is correct Link to comment
dave_min Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 Haha just goes to show what I was saying! Off the top of my head bus lane from at least the White Horse to the Haudagain you can use any time expect between 8-9:30am and 4-6pm. Bus lane on Auchmill Road can't be used by cars at anytime. Aye, that's the bit I meant. I'm not really into street names. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 You should buy a bus. Or drive a taxi. That's how Noel Edmonds gets away with it. http://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/noel-edmonds-drives-his-unlicensed-taxi-424064 You need a dummy as well. http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/noel-edmonds-black-taxi-mannequin-1844540Wonder why the blurred out his plate in one photo & not the other? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 13, 2013 Share Posted December 13, 2013 One article is 4 years older than the other. Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted December 13, 2013 Author Share Posted December 13, 2013 I think not all bus lanes have the same operating hours. Some of them, like the ones on Holburn Street, are no parking during the day but as soon as it ceases to be a bus lane people can park there, so you can't drive down them then either. Link to comment
RabidGiraffe Posted December 13, 2013 Author Share Posted December 13, 2013 Death's too good for you. What method of execution? Should I be run over by a bus? Link to comment