aldon77 Posted January 4, 2014 Share Posted January 4, 2014 Has the new stadium been shelved, seems a long time since we've heard anything? Any rumours? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2014 Share Posted January 4, 2014 Some first post that Link to comment
aldon77 Posted January 4, 2014 Author Share Posted January 4, 2014 Always a smartass around... Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2014 Share Posted January 4, 2014 Always a smartass around...Any Aberdeen fan knows that we will not have a new stadium within the next ten years.You are either a wum, or have been marooned somewhere with no contact with the world for a long time. Try taking a look through the new stadium thread & you will maybe get the info you wish to wind us up with Link to comment
aldon77 Posted January 6, 2014 Author Share Posted January 6, 2014 Nothing like a warm welcome.. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Nothing like a warm welcome..It's winter. Wrap up min Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Nothing like a warm welcome..I'm sorry aldon77. We're nae getting a new ground for years. Welcome aboard Was only playing Link to comment
caledonia Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Here is Stewart Milne,s latest plans for the new stadium Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 I'd love something like Boca's stadium. Lop the top tier off for capacity reasons and stick a roof on the whoore. Done! Keeps all the prawn sandwich brigade on one side, gives excellent prawn sandwich facilities and we get a cool as fuck stadium out of it. Big wall for bouncing sound back off of and a standing section behind the goal. Stick the away fans in the corner next to that, and then another standing section next to that, and a wee family stand under the corporates. Great atmosphere, great stadium, great facilities. Done. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Pudgie, do you really think that when a stadium does finally get approved, then built 20 years later (maybe - see bypass) that Aberdeen will choose something innovative? It will be the standard bowl, or a slightly bigger McDiarmid Park copy.I agree though, a stadium of that ilk with those designated areas would be ace. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Pudgie, do you really think that when a stadium does finally get approved, then built 20 years later (maybe - see bypass) that Aberdeen will choose something innovative? It will be the standard bowl, or a slightly bigger McDiarmid Park copy.I agree though, a stadium of that ilk with those designated areas would be ace.Unfortunately, I don't. I hope it's sooner rather than later, but I can see us spunking money on Pittodrie for years to come. We need a new stadium. It's stopping people from coming to the football because it's so shite. I love Pittodrie, and i love sitting next to my dad's seat that he sat in during the good times but it's just past it. For that reason, I'd be happy enough with just a standard bowl thing. Fuck something like New Love Street. Totally soulless. We need... something. Something that makes it seem like ours. Something that we can look at with pride. I just hope to fuck they deliver when it comes to time. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Something like a mini-Qwest Field... built specifically for its acoustics. IF we ever get a new stadium, and most of us will likely be dead by the time that happens, it'll likely be specifically designed to keep costs down. Cheapness will be its primary objective, not location, comfort, modernity, or design. So, enjoy that, Dons fans of the future. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Something like a mini-Qwest Field... built specifically for its acoustics. IF we ever get a new stadium, and most of us will likely be dead by the time that happens, it'll likely be specifically designed to keep costs down. Cheapness will be its primary objective, not location, comfort, modernity, or design. So, enjoy that, Dons fans of the future. I'm nae sure it would work with only 20 or 30 thoosin. That's why I suggested a big flat wall. Good acoustics, low capacity. you could even curve the boxes to have it more rounded. Fuck it, just get me some lego and perspex and I'll fucking do it! Link to comment
dervish Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Dunno don't want to be like cally and have a 3 sided ground with the cameras up on scaffolding surely? Was it not meant to be KC mkII we were going to get? Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Dear me typical Aberdeen fans the team is doing well so we need something else to moan about ! Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Regardless of any great thoughts of what the stadium might look like I believe the following facts to be pretty close to the truth AFC (Milne) want to build the Stadium at Loriston just to be able to build hooses as well. The current owner of the land is a tight arsed cheel although has no interest in Aberdeen as a city or team, just its land value Two tight arsed cheels trying to resolve a financial deal, I reckon Darren Mackie will have scored 100 career goals by that time Aberdeen City Council wanting to put a stop to anything progressive in the city (although surely they will be voted out by then)The realization that redevepoment of Pittodrie is an option and should have been priority at the start of the processConclusion : patch up job at Pittodrie until at least 2020 Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Regardless of any great thoughts of what the stadium might look like I believe the following facts to be pretty close to the truth AFC (Milne) want to build the Stadium at Loriston just to be able to build hooses as well. The current owner of the land is a tight arsed cheel although has no interest in Aberdeen as a city or team, just its land value Two tight arsed cheels trying to resolve a financial deal, I reckon Darren Mackie will have scored 100 career goals by that time Aberdeen City Council wanting to put a stop to anything progressive in the city (although surely they will be voted out by then)The realization that redevepoment of Pittodrie is an option and should have been priority at the start of the processConclusion : patch up job at Pittodrie until at least 2020 People still think this? Link to comment
STANDfreeSCOTTY Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Dear me typical Aberdeen fans the team is doing well so we need something else to moan about !The irony,,,, Link to comment
STANDfreeSCOTTY Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Was thinking the other day, what if Ian Wood pumped his 50 million into a new community stadium and sports facilities? Could be a lasting legacy for him. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 People still think this?Explain ? Link to comment
buchanskii Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Was thinking the other day, what if Ian Wood pumped his 50 million into a new community stadium and sports facilities? Could be a lasting legacy for him. That's what I'd do if I had more money than I knew what to do with, then call it the Buchanskii Arena. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 That's what I'd do if I had more money than I knew what to do with, then call it the Buchanskii Arena.That would be very confusing for people who like winter sports and live in the St Combs area. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 People still think this? I believe you did not understand what he wrote. That would be very confusing for people who like winter sports and live in the St Combs area. I know 5 people from that area. I agree that would be confusing for them. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 I believe you did not understand what he wrote. I know 5 people from that area. I agree that would be confusing for them.Is one of them called Drew Peacock? Genuine question. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Is one of them called Drew Peacock? Genuine question. No but I've heard the name. You know 1 of them anyway. Anyway, getting back to the stadium, it should have a statue of Peter Pawlett outside, similar to the Michael Jackson one outside Craven Cottage. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Explain ?I may have Tom Daley'd. Did you mean Aberdeen City's land value or the land Pittodrie sits on? Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 No I mean you believe the land is not owned ( or partly) by The Muir Goup Link to comment
Ernie McCracken Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Well it could be argued that Ian Wood owes us a new stadium since his vanity project led to the change in Council. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 No I mean you believe the land is not owned ( or partly) by The Muir GoupWhoosh. That one totally had me lost. Sorry. As you were! Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 The story goes and probably over a year ago now that Mr Milne & co sat down with in a room with Mr Muir & co (substantial landowner and investor in that part of town) trying to thrash out a deal on either the part of land stadium will be built on or at least stadium and I presume housing. Muir Group have no real issue on what is built there but presumably best possible deal available to them, simple business. Muir simply asked for AFC's best price for said piece of land and whether it was written on a piece of paper and slipped across the table but it made Muir baulk. He basically stood up and said "May as well finish this meeting now if that is what your offer is"Milne replied "But it's not just about money, it's about giving something back to the city". Muir " I am not from the NE, I don't give a fuck".Well maybe not the exact words as I was not there but I believe the jist of it is true. And there ended the conversation. I am sure Milne through SMG will eventually get the land and maybe sell to AFC, who knows but I doubt if much conversation has taken place since. Interested to hear if anyone knows otherwise. I also have a sneaking suspicion that the cooncil will have sooked right up to Muir because they canna stand Milne and told him to stand firm on the price as they would get a chunk of it through tax etc. Link to comment