Ke1t Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 We've had -20 degree C in the last few days, and are looking at it getting back there again in the next few days. Looking out the window the snows coming doon in buckets, and they're saying on the news that we're going to get flash freezes where the temperature just falls right off in a matter of hours. Ohio is telling people they're not allowed out on the roads, and that right now only emergency vehicles are to use the roads. We're in the middle of a 'Polar Vortex', whatever the fuck that is... supposedly a rotating front of freezing air. Some reporter just threw a cup of boiling water into the air and it turned into snow as soon as it hit the cold. I remember some pretty magic snowfalls in Aberdeen, but I don't remember shit like 'Flash Freezing' or 'Polar Vortexes' or people being told to stay indoors so that they don't die on their way to their car. Is this part of the whole climate change thing, and how fucked are we? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Typical Yank media hype. Show them it's nae cauld & run aboot like a daftie Scotsman in yer Snow boots & fuck all else blasting your drive with your Snow pufferblaster (or whatever the fuck the poofter Yanks call leaf blowers) Link to comment
Guest Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Typical Yank media hype. Show them it's nae cauld & run aboot like a daftie Scotsman in yer Snow boots & fuck all else blasting your drive with your Snow pufferblaster (or whatever the fuck the poofter Yanks call leaf blowers) Big Jock fae Chewin the fat has a motorised snow-puffer that you sit on cos his driveway and property is so goddamn BIG, muthafucker! Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 6, 2014 Author Share Posted January 6, 2014 Typical Yank media hype. Show them it's nae cauld & run aboot like a daftie Scotsman in yer Snow boots & fuck all else blasting your drive with your Snow pufferblaster (or whatever the fuck the poofter Yanks call leaf blowers) Opened the door earlier, subzero temperatures, a layer of snow, the loon belts past me stripping off his shirt as he goes and charges barefoot into the snow yelling, ""I'm a Viking!" Fuck all bothers him. We've had about another foot of snow in the last few hours, and I'm putting off going out there with the snowblower. But for the Yanks I'll be, "Ach, this isnae cauld... in Scotland we had 12 feet of sna and dug oorsels oot wi a fuckin' SPOON!' Some brutal weather though.. nae liking it. Link to comment
Poodler Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Polar vortex? Sounds like a Fox News statement haha. I've seen some footage, some crazy sna like. Is the Detroit express leading with 'snow joke'? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Warmest winter in living memory round these parts. Stormy as fuck, even by our standards and only one day without rain since October. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Ke1t, get yersel a snorkel jacket. You'll be fine. Careful crossing the roads though. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 6, 2014 Author Share Posted January 6, 2014 Warmest winter in living memory round these parts. Stormy as fuck, even by our standards and only one day without rain since October. I just finished snowblowing.. again. Last night it was around -20, today was circa -13 with a bastard of a wind... but we're in for more snow and the temperature is supposedly going to get down to around -17 or so. Roads are so bad that 2 neighbouring States have told people they're not allowed to drive anywhere... pretty much every school is shut, and they're still talking about dangerous 'flash freezes' which is presumably what it sounds like. This is Michigan right now... the white splat in the bottom right. Fucking done with this... Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 6, 2014 Share Posted January 6, 2014 Well if you're going to flash.It's certainly going to freeze Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 I just finished snowblowing.. again. What's that? Don't you mean snowthrowing? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 This is Michigan right now... the white splat in the bottom right. That's the whitest Michigan has been in many a year. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Warmest winter in living memory round these parts. Stormy as fuck, even by our standards and only one day without rain since October.Aye that'll be October 2003 then ? Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Had to laugh, News earlier had some reporter in Chicago, the reporter stopped 3 separate folk in the street to ask about the currently worst in 100 year weather conditions and temperatures, each one shrugged it off, saying they come from other parts of the country (one was from Canada) and that they are used to more severe conditions and temperatures than this. Reporters tail firmly between his legs. SKY News were also being sly about the tempatures earlier, they were showing the wind chill temps, rather than the air temp, "Green Bay -43" !!! aye ok. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 7, 2014 Author Share Posted January 7, 2014 I've rarely been as cold as I have the last few days, though. Last night was -24c, and I was out clearing yet more fucking snow... The wind whips in off the lakes with no hills or mountains to break it up, so you just have constant freezing wind making it feel even colder than it already is, This morning I walked into the garage in just a T-Shirt and my best Scooby Doo boxers, dear fucking god, it was like jumping into the freezer with the peas and the pork chops. Anyone who says "Ach, we're used to this" is a mentalist... there's no way you can get used to this, I don't care where you're from. Here's a picture of one of our lighthouses (St Joseph) from a couple of days ago... Bonny, like.. but that's how you feel if you stand outside for ten minutes. Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Come on kelt min man up, a right load of media hype, some parts of your neighbours Canada get the temps you're at and far worse all winter, we don't get any news stories running about them. Put a bonnet on and stop greeting. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 7, 2014 Author Share Posted January 7, 2014 Come on kelt min man up, a right load of media hype, some parts of your neighbours Canada get the temps you're at and far worse all winter, we don't get any news stories running about them. Put a bonnet on and stop greeting. Aye, but no cunt lives in the portions of Canada where the worst of the weather is. The big cities are all in the south along the Yankee border... the Northwest Territories and the Yukon are the domain of a few mad moose-fuckers, and they're never in the news because you can't even get to those places without an Eskimo guide and a snow mobile. The older I get the more I hate the fucking snow and cold. Shifting 6 tons of the bastarding stuff every week will do that to you, Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Aye, but no cunt lives in the portions of Canada where the worst of the weather is. The big cities are all in the south along the Yankee border... the Northwest Territories and the Yukon are the domain of a few mad moose-fuckers, and they're never in the news because you can't even get to those places without an Eskimo guide and a snow mobile. The older I get the more I hate the fucking snow and cold. Shifting 6 tons of the bastarding stuff every week will do that to you, Ach the likes of Calgary and Ottawa get way worse every year, they don't do drama like the yanks, they just sook it up. Its headline news here, bit of a chill NAE doubt but I don't want it in my news. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 7, 2014 Author Share Posted January 7, 2014 Ach the likes of Calgary and Ottawa get way worse every year, they don't do drama like the yanks, they just sook it up. Its headline news here, bit of a chill NAE doubt but I don't want it in my news. There's no denying the Yanks are a bunch of highly strung drama queens,,, that aside, Kelt's fucking freezing. It's all very well saying man up when all you have to contend with is a sweltering 6 degrees like you Billies, though. Not that I'm complaing too much in front of the locals. I tell them -24 centigrade is weather for playing in the Duthie Park with the kids back in Aberdeen. Shorts and T-shirt weather. Link to comment
Guest Posted January 7, 2014 Share Posted January 7, 2014 Shifting 6 tons of the bastarding stuff every week will do that to you, Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Current air temp of -31 in Winnipeg Canada just now, with a high of -25 expected at lunch time, City of 700K, No headline news required for them. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Think of the poor cunts in Yakutsk, Russia, the coldest city in the world where temperatures average around -35C every winter. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Current air temp of -31 in Winnipeg Canada just now, with a high of -25 expected at lunch time, City of 700K, No headline news required for them. Mild weather doesn't make news. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Think of the poor cunts in Yakutsk, Russia, the coldest city in the world where temperatures average around -35C every winter. Record low -64.4 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Polar vortex sounds like the kind of shit from The Day After Tomorrow. Interestingly the extremely seem to be everywhere. On Saturday we had the hottest day since records began here in my area of Brisbane. 43.5C is too fucking warm with humid sea breezes. So hot in the area they found over 100,000 dead *bats*. Just dropped out of the sky dead from the heat. As far as I'm concerned we're seeing an increasing pattern of increasingly extreme weather variations. Looking at all the climatology charts that I've seen seems to back that up. Was looking at that stuff today at work for a colleague who had never heard of that stuff so yeah. (in that particular case it was CO2 levels over the last 600k years, and how we're about to break the symbolic 400 ppm concentration in the atmosphere plus Australian mean,min and max temperatures all showing a noticeable trend from the 70s onwards of increases whereas before it was fairly level) Link to comment
E-P-K Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Polar vortex sounds like the kind of shit from The Day After Tomorrow. Interestingly the extremely seem to be everywhere. On Saturday we had the hottest day since records began here in my area of Brisbane. 43.5C is too fucking warm with humid sea breezes. So hot in the area they found over 100,000 dead *bats*. Just dropped out of the sky dead from the heat. As far as I'm concerned we're seeing an increasing pattern of increasingly extreme weather variations. Looking at all the climatology charts that I've seen seems to back that up. Was looking at that stuff today at work for a colleague who had never heard of that stuff so yeah. Ach I was in Egypt 18 months ago, and it was 50 degrees, by the pool with a beer and it was fantastic, certainly no where near as bad as what I had feared. Anyway, Brisbane has a fucking cricket team called Brisbane Heat, so what do you expect ? cool summers ? Enjoy it. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 heat is shit though for storing dead bodies Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Mild weather doesn't make news. Yes it does. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Ach I was in Egypt 18 months ago, and it was 50 degrees, by the pool with a beer and it was fantastic, certainly no where near as bad as what I had feared. Anyway, Brisbane has a fucking cricket team called Brisbane Heat, so what do you expect ? cool summers ? Enjoy it. Glad you enjoyed your holiday by the pool with a beer. That would have been the record highest temperature ever recorded in Egypt too by the way. btw... cricket? Are you a cricket follower to know that? I don't even know that and I'm taking your word for it though with 50C I'm a bit suss about that too. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 Interestingly the extremely seem to be everywhere. On Saturday we had the hottest day since records began here in my area of Brisbane. 43.5C is too fucking warm with humid sea breezes. Must make your hobby awfy difficult. They bodies will be decomposing in front of your eyes. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 8, 2014 Share Posted January 8, 2014 40 degrees in Brisbane is it? Lovely Link to comment