Pot Luck Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 Pizza Express will be going in next to where the Sony Centre is where the storage shop used to be and Thai Pad will be going in where V-Design is. They might aswel complete the collection by adding Pizza Express with them already having a Zizzi and Ask. Will be interesting to see an independent restaurant in there too. What are your thoughts on this??? Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 couldnt give less of a shit if I had taken tramadol 4 Link to comment
Jigot Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 Ye sound like a 16 skinner dude tae me, Pot. Pot? Well there ye go ya munched up wee skunk ye. Link to comment
Gover Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 couldnt give less of a shit if I had taken another* tramadol *this is in no way a reflection of the majority of afc chat members ...who are missing out Link to comment
Mouse Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 Quite liked looking at the stuff in V-Design, even though I never bought anything. Do we really need a third Pizza Express? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 I like a sloppy Giuseppe. Guffaw. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 2, 2014 Share Posted February 2, 2014 papa john's? like eating sugar flavoured cheese, bowfin. Link to comment
Pot Luck Posted February 6, 2014 Author Share Posted February 6, 2014 Burger King are going in where The Doric Cafe used to be in the Bus Station part of Union Square. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Are you the jannie or the night-time security at Union Square, or do you genuinely think that the fast food places in a shopping centre are of any fucking interest to anyone apart from the folk who work there? 5 Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Fucks given= zero. Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Pretty sure this made the EE at the time. Link to comment
zander Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Its a crying shame that a local cafe is being replaced by the commercial giant that is Burger King. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Its a crying shame that a local cafe is being replaced by the commercial giant that is Burger King.That's because most of the sub species around Aberdeen wouldn't be seen dead drinking a beverage that comes in a glass or from a cup / mug. Most of them couldn't even spell the word Tea. They would rather eat food that comes in a box and a drink that comes with a straw because they don't have the co-ordination to hold a glass to their mouths and tilt it without getting sticky coke all over their faces. Could you imagine a group of devolved neds sitting down at a clean table and eating a sandwich which comes served to them on a plate? The fear in their eyes as they sit at the table waiting for their food to come...they couldn't cope with such social etiquette. 2 Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 That's because most of the sub species around Aberdeen wouldn't be seen dead drinking a beverage that comes in a glass or from a cup / mug. Most of them couldn't even spell the word Tea. They would rather eat food that comes in a box and a drink that comes with a straw because they don't have the co-ordination to hold a glass to their mouths and tilt it without getting sticky coke all over their faces. Could you imagine a group of devolved neds sitting down at a clean table and eating a sandwich which comes served to them on a plate? The fear in their eyes as they sit at the table waiting for their food to come...they couldn't cope with such social etiquette. Indeed, I took my team out for lunch and one of them was almost squirming in his seat with the pressure he felt by the occasion which was just a wee thank you to my guys for their last delivery. For lunch he had chicken goujons followed by pollo milanese. I appreciate it'd be boring if we were all the same but fuck me, some folk. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Indeed, I took my team out for lunch and one of them was almost squirming in his seat with the pressure he felt by the occasion which was just a wee thank you to my guys for their last delivery. For lunch he had chicken goujons followed by pollo milanese. I appreciate it'd be boring if we were all the same but fuck me, some folk.It's a shame because upstairs in Union Square is actually pretty nice and has some good restaurants. Downstairs, however, is cramped full of socially awkward weirdos which degenerates further the closer you get to Subway. There you have mutants slivering over a pizza slice that came served in a paper bag from Greggs and sitting in the Subway seats looking like a cross between a chilean miner and one of Josef Fritzls kids Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Union Square is a shiteholeA shitehole of the highest orderA complete waste of space, filled by complete waste of space boil in the bag eateries and patroned by utter twats that are a waste of fucking O2 Anyone for some generic clothes shops that sell the latests generic clothes and generic food stalls that sell frozen shite shipped up in busted cardboard boxes from just outside Bury St Endmunds will feel right at home. Those with free will, a mind of their own and taste buds will avoid at all costs. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 spamx3. could you clarify your position? No problem Its quite nice in thereThe people are lovely, salt of the earthThe clothes shops are fantastic, so different to what you find on the average high streetThe food is fantastic, home made, freshly prepared and fit for the queen herself. Overall its a marvellous experience. My lithium has just kicked in Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 I used to love Penguin, but notice there is a shop in Union Square now so it's put me off. And now the whole city wears original penguin meaning guys like us that were wearing it a few years ago cant because we are not clones. I came back to Aberdeen when G-Star opened up. i thought I'd walked into a big Amsterdam clothes show when entering Union St. The whole city, top to bottom, nike trainers, G-Star jeans, G-Star shirt and Superdry jacket. Attack of the tasteless clones. Link to comment
rumpus Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Took the dughters to Prezzo yesterday prior to the Cinema. Food was excellent, served with a smile and washed down with some delicious cider which I didn't notice the name of. A short foray round the shops followed, then off to watch 12 years of Slavery. All done in clean, pleasant, warm surroundings while you could hear the howling gale and torrential downpour battering off the roof outside. And only 4.20 to park the Bi-Turbo. All in all; Union Square is excellent. Link to comment
Pudgie Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 I think the success of Union Square depends on your expectations. If you go in expecting originality and high quality you'll be disappointed, if you want something quick and non formal then you're in. We used to dine at Union Square quite a bit; Nando's, Handmade Burger and Ask being favourites, but it was always on occasions when we couldn't be arsed cooking or if we were out and were hungry and just wanted to grab something quick. For me, it does the job that it's meant to do but it's no reflection on the fine dining or (the few) good shopping locations that there are here. Zara, The Doric Cafe, V Design (although affording the furniture isn't really viable at the moment) and H&M seem to be where most of my shopping time was spent. It's a shame that 2 of them are now going for chains. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 I think the success of Union Square depends on your expectations. If you go in expecting originality and high quality you'll be disappointed, if you want something quick and non formal then you're in. We used to dine at Union Square quite a bit; Nando's, Handmade Burger and Ask being favourites, but it was always on occasions when we couldn't be arsed cooking or if we were out and were hungry and just wanted to grab something quick. For me, it does the job that it's meant to do but it's no reflection on the fine dining or (the few) good shopping locations that there are here. Zara, The Doric Cafe, V Design (although affording the furniture isn't really viable at the moment) and H&M seem to be where most of my shopping time was spent. It's a shame that 2 of them are now going for chains.There's nothing quick about dining in Union Square.Que'd out the door for run of the mill food. It does the job pre cinema. Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 And now the whole city wears original penguin meaning guys like us that were wearing it a few years ago cant because we are not clones. I came back to Aberdeen when G-Star opened up. i thought I'd walked into a big Amsterdam clothes show when entering Union St. The whole city, top to bottom, nike trainers, G-Star jeans, G-Star shirt and Superdry jacket. Attack of the tasteless clones. Maybe you guys should try bring the toga back? I think it would look superb for 2015. Incidentally what do you wear that isn't cloned all over town? I find that PURE is about as individual as you can get nowadays, locally I mean. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Maybe you guys should try bring the toga back? I think it would look superb for 2015. Incidentally what do you wear that isn't cloned all over town? I find that PURE is about as individual as you can get nowadays, locally I mean. Not listing off a load of labels, would look like mini has nicked my login Get most of my stuff from a site called thread.com. They have personal stylists that send you through ideas based on your preferences weekly and stuff ranging from a tenner to a grand for a t-shirt. Its a good site, you find stuff no one else will ever have. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 park the Bi-Turbo Is this an Insignia 4x4 Bi-turbo? What is your review like, if so? If love one of them. Link to comment
Pot Luck Posted February 6, 2014 Author Share Posted February 6, 2014 I think the success of Union Square depends on your expectations. If you go in expecting originality and high quality you'll be disappointed, if you want something quick and non formal then you're in. We used to dine at Union Square quite a bit; Nando's, Handmade Burger and Ask being favourites, but it was always on occasions when we couldn't be arsed cooking or if we were out and were hungry and just wanted to grab something quick. For me, it does the job that it's meant to do but it's no reflection on the fine dining or (the few) good shopping locations that there are here. Zara, The Doric Cafe, V Design (although affording the furniture isn't really viable at the moment) and H&M seem to be where most of my shopping time was spent. It's a shame that 2 of them are now going for chains. The restaurant going in to V Design is not a chain it is independent it's called Thai Pad and I think they are moving from the Market although they are currently called Pad Thai. I think V Design had already planned to close so it would be better to fill that unit than open a new unused unit next to Carluccio's. Union Square like to fill Vacent units before they open new ones that have never been used before. The Doric Cafe although had there rent raised because they were not using the whole unit if you look on the website that unit is bigger than Subway. This place had a fake roof and fake backing. Before TGI Friday's opened Cinnamon had the unit but pulled out at last minute. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 Presumably the Aberdonians will form an angry mob to run Pizza Express out of town, like Donald Trump and anyone else who has ever attempted to invest in the Aberdeen area? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 The restaurant going in to V Design is not a chain it is independent it's called Thai Pad and I think they are moving from the Market although they are currently called Pad Thai. I think V Design had already planned to close so it would be better to fill that unit than open a new unused unit next to Carluccio's. Union Square like to fill Vacent units before they open new ones that have never been used before. The Doric Cafe although had there rent raised because they were not using the whole unit if you look on the website that unit is bigger than Subway. This place had a fake roof and fake backing. Before TGI Friday's opened Cinnamon had the unit but pulled out at last minute. Pot Luck what is your favourite restaurant in Union square? Link to comment
Pot Luck Posted February 6, 2014 Author Share Posted February 6, 2014 Pot Luck what is your favourite restaurant in Union square? In the centre it would have to be Nando's but they are all a bit similar. In Aberdeen I prefer Nargile (or however it's spelt). Union Square is good if you just want somewhere casual. Link to comment
Pot Luck Posted February 6, 2014 Author Share Posted February 6, 2014 I can safely say I've NEVER been to Nando's and I have no intentions of going. I use their sauces in some of my dinners to spice it up but that is it. I fucking hate KFC as well. I take it you don't like chicken, if not why don't you give the place a chance it is not that expensive. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 6, 2014 Share Posted February 6, 2014 In the centre it would have to be Nando's but they are all a bit similar. In Aberdeen I prefer Nargile (or however it's spelt). Union Square is good if you just want somewhere casual. Pot Luck, may I ask what makes you such a Union Square enthusiast? What about your favourite store? Are you a fan of the independents, or do you prefer to buy your clothes at the high street stores like G-Star, etc. Link to comment