ChutneyLove Posted February 12, 2014 Share Posted February 12, 2014 I need to create a website for a start-up company. I would like it to have a nice main page, links to other pages and some good pictures / graphics. Can anyone recommend a site that I should go on? Are the free websites any use? Am I better biting the bullet and paying someone to do it for me? I'm not completely illiterate when it comes to computers, but I'm not going to start writing code or anything like that anytime soon.Any advice appreciated. Oh, I have about a month to get it fully up and running. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 12, 2014 Share Posted February 12, 2014 Get Kelt to do it. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 What kind of company is it? I've done web presence for a few companies (primarily those I sub to), from a simple 5 page static info site to an eCommerce job... which was an unholy pain in my arse. I have essentially quit building websites... though I have several domains of my own that I use to fuck around on. My own personal recommendation is to sign up with a web provider and have them design and implement it for you. Costs a little bit more, but it'll be done quickly and properly. Godaddy would be a decent place to start. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 13, 2014 Author Share Posted February 13, 2014 Ok, just looked on Weebly and Yola. Whatever happens, it is going to land up costing me $25 per month to run. It's a discrete event simulation modelling consultancy. I'll check out Godaddy. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 13, 2014 Author Share Posted February 13, 2014 Ok, godaddy about half the price of others - great start already! Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 I got my mate to make me one for displaying the beers I sell in my shop, he just edited a template on Wordpress. Nae sure if you could get a template there that would do the job for yi. I gave up trying to build a website about age 13. You'll still have to pay for your domain and hosting so if they'll create the site to it's probably easier. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 It's a discrete event simulation modelling consultancy. Sounds like porn Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 I Made this one for the bowling club, using wix http://www.whitehallbowling.co.uk/ Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Ok, just looked on Weebly and Yola. Whatever happens, it is going to land up costing me $25 per month to run. It's a discrete event simulation modelling consultancy. I'll check out Godaddy. They don't sound very good if they can't build a website!! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 What do you expect, its chutters ffs, nae exactly dynamic is he Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 What do you expect, its chutters ffs, nae exactly dynamic is heHe's a connoisseur of rimming and to that I doth my cap. I will not hear a bad word against him, chubby chops 1 Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 13, 2014 Author Share Posted February 13, 2014 What do you expect, its chutters ffs, nae exactly dynamic is heFunny you should say that Blurto, because it is actually dynamic simulation. Not really anything like building a website. I think I need a geek, not too proud to admit my limitations. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 13, 2014 Author Share Posted February 13, 2014 He's a connoisseur of rimming and to that I doth my cap. I will not hear a bad word against him, chubby chopsShould be an Olympic sport. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Funny you should say that Blurto, because it is actually dynamic simulation. Not really anything like building a website. I think I need a geek, not too proud to admit my limitations.Sign of intelligence that, knowing ones bounds Also a likeable trait, humility. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 You sound like you have a cool job chutts Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Smashing amount of hits to my website over the last half hour. Nosey bastards Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Smashing amount of hits to my website over the last half hour. Nosey bastards Would you say you're a wixer? Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Tried a few when i was setting it up and it was by far the easiest. Unless you want to spend hours learning the scripts / code........ i sure as hell wasnt. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 I got my mate to make me one for displaying the beers I sell in my shop What this about a shop selling beers? What kind of beers and what is the web addy? Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Tried a few when i was setting it up and it was by far the easiest. Unless you want to spend hours learning the scripts / code........ i sure as hell wasnt. Ach it was a wee wordplay joke in German. Looks not bad......for a n00b. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Ach it was a wee wordplay joke in German. Looks not bad......for a n00b. I was a normal kid, i took french Link to comment
gla5gowdon Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 I was a normal kid, i took french sacre bleu.....or something. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 13, 2014 Author Share Posted February 13, 2014 You sound like you have a cool job chuttsIf you need a whipper-snipper, I'm yer man. Link to comment
dave_min Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 If you need a whipper-snipper, I'm yer man. Excellent. Can you run to the shops and get some milk then? Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 What this about a shop selling beers? What kind of beers and what is the web addy?Craft beer. Wee newsagents on Holburn Street. http://www.thistlenews.com You'll see them all there, stock is always changing gets updated on a Saturday morning. If I haven't already started drinking pre Pittodrie. 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 You got a shop RF83 min? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Craft beer. Wee newsagents on Holburn Street. http://www.thistlenews.com You'll see them all there, stock is always changing gets updated on a Saturday morning. If I haven't already started drinking pre Pittodrie.Thanks, I will need to check it out sometime! I like a specialist beer shop - there used to be a wee place in grangemouth, but shut down sadly. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted February 13, 2014 Share Posted February 13, 2014 Aye min Bluto. Its 86 nae 83. Although I do feel about 30 years older than I am the day. 'Kin man flu. Link to comment