Scrumpy Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 Had a brilliant stomach-busting romantic pan-asian buffet yesterday with the other half - much better than buying her chocolates and flowers. It was as much as you can scoff for £7.99. Washed it down with a couple of pints of San Miguel (of all things!). All in, £22. Bargain. But then went to a bar and paid £20 for a couple of Valentines Special champagne and peach brandy cocktails. Did the barman see me coming and do you think I was ripped off cos it was 'Valentines day'? Did you get ripped off too? Link to comment
caledonia Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 I booked a nice table for me and the wife on friday Not to sure if she likes snooker though 6 Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 Never had a Valentines card in ma puff. Stopped caring after my tenth birthday. Over commercialized pish. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 invented by the patron saint of Clinton cards. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 invented by the patron saint of Clinton cards.Yeah. Pretty much this. On the plus side, Valentines themed chocolate gift boxes will be dirt cheap for the next two weeks. Who gies a fuck if they all look like love hearts, yer belly isnae gonna ken the difference! Link to comment
caledonia Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 Yeah. Pretty much this. On the plus side, Valentines themed chocolate gift boxes will be dirt cheap for the next two weeks. Who gies a fuck if they all look like love hearts, yer belly isnae gonna ken the difference!Yer waistline might though Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 only day of the year stalkers can hide under the guise of secret admirers. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 Yer waistline might though Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 ballantyne's day: a posey of Duncan ballantynes appear at your doot. Link to comment
Jigot Posted February 15, 2014 Share Posted February 15, 2014 Never had a Valentines card in ma puff. Stopped caring after my tenth birthday. Over commercialized pish.Mines stopped after I pointed out to my Mum that I was twenty fuckin' seven. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 Me and Mrs Byen usually exchange cairds.This year she said she had bought a little something for me. So therefore there was pressure on me to do the same. She implied she had just spent a few quid, ie. just a wee token of her affection. After work Friday eh nipped in to a bakery she likes, got a wee muffin she likes complete with a little heart on top. It was no cheap. Job done. Come home, and she presents a bag with a selection of all my favourite beers, chocolates and the like, she'd really gone to town. Eh offer up a shitey wee muffin. If looks could kill..... So eh went right back down the hill to pick up the proverbial rose bouquet and then on to pick up an Indian (no Rumpus' one). Interestingly enough these roses were cheaper than 5 days earlier on Mother's Day. Thieving bastards The day was saved went eh presented the roses. So all in all oor bank account was 80 quid lighter for this pile of commercialised shite. Cairds only next year. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 Of course it is a rip off. There isn't one logical reason why a relationship between two people would be celebrated on a certain day, just because everyone else happens to. Unfortunately, it is the less reasonable sex that dictates that Valentines Day is a big deal! 1 Link to comment