inverkipdons Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Bit of a hypthetical question based on current finances and potential new stadium but if, like Bristol City earlier this week, Aberdeen were to install a set of rail seats creating a "Safe Standing" section at Pittodrie, where would you like it to be? Do you prefer to stand or sit at games? Do you think a standing section would improve the atmosphere at home games? Link to Bristol City story: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/26141427 Link to comment
McginnAgain Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Terracing on the Y would work well, I think. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Yes. Rip oot all the south stand seats. Give Celtic the whole south stand for a game to save us money doing it ourselves. 2 Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Don't care where it goes but I'd like at least one stand to have it.Sitting is shite at football. It spoils the atmosphere & it's fkn freezing in the winter. Fkn go to games (especially early KO's) on a sat or Sun in winter after a sesh the nite before & you look like a fkn parkinson's sufferer with a severe case of the DT's if you have to sit down. At least when you're standing you can disguise the shakes/jitters a little. Link to comment
Jigot Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Terracing on the Y would work well, I think.I think we're more in with a shout if we have it on the QT myself. Folk that want to stand, stand ffs. Folk that want to sit, fuck off with the rest of the roosters. Cocks!This issue isnae just about Pittodrie you ken. It's only natural to want to loup up n doon, screaming obscenities whilst pishing in the pocket of the cunt next to you. This seating shit's sucked the very soul oot oor game. When was the last time you left a game with several broken ribs? Eh?Exactly! Link to comment
RUL Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Terracing is defo the way to go Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Is it safe?Seems to be safe enough in all other stadiums all over the world when it's done correctly Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 What we call 'safe standing' used to be call 'standing'. Can't recall too many people dying from standing at football in the past, and this at a time when everyone smoked from the age of 6, so most of them were already suffering serious health problems. This is the continuing faggotisation of guys, just the notion that standing might in some way be awfy dangerous so you best sit yourself down in case you get dizzy and fall over. There are old pictures of a packed Pittodrie with folk sitting on the roof, having scaled the sides in order to get themselves the best view in the house. Was there a chance they might fall and hurt/kill themselves, of course... has that ever prevented people from doing silly shit in the past, hardly. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 Terracing in the new "safe standing" stadiums is a lot more substantial & also less (or smaller) gaps/distances between them. Some old terracing used to have a few rows between the bars where as now they are on every row to minimise/prevent to many mad rushes forward & causing the "unsafe standing" crushes. So the "safe standing" is in fact safe yes. Not sure Sir David Murray would entirely agree though. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted February 16, 2014 Share Posted February 16, 2014 What we call 'safe standing' used to be call 'standing'. Can't recall too many people dying from standing at football in the past, and this at a time when everyone smoked from the age of 6, so most of them were already suffering serious health problems. This is the continuing faggotisation of guys, just the notion that standing might in some way be awfy dangerous so you best sit yourself down in case you get dizzy and fall over. There are old pictures of a packed Pittodrie with folk sitting on the roof, having scaled the sides in order to get themselves the best view in the house. Was there a chance they might fall and hurt/kill themselves, of course... has that ever prevented people from doing silly shit in the past, hardly. Nae even that old, Ke1t. Been to a few games in my youth where folk were on the Beach End roof, up the floodlights etc. I think I also remember folk being on the Paddock roof, but nae sure if that was just in a wet dream when I scored the league-deciding winner in front of a naked women packed Pittodrie. Link to comment
FASH Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 I thought that Dion Dublin came off as a massive cunt in that video (no big surprise though, I know).Even Lawro seemed reasonable towards the idea FFS!I'm only 20 so I've never experienced standing in a standing area at the fitba, but I'm all for it.There's these two old bastards that sit behind me in the sooth that are always roaring at us to sit doon.There's another monumental cock in front of me that always turns around and moans to me that he can't see the game when the people in front of him stand up.Fuck. Off. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 I can see the Police objecting to this big time. When everyone has a seat they generally stay in that seat for 90 minutes. When you introduce terracing of any sort folk tend to move about especially when your team scores a late winner or even just coming back from having a pish.The Police will moan like fuck that you are not standing in the space you have been allocated and get their lachie stewards to bother you. I for one am totally for it but sure to say AFC will not be at the forefront of this transition. Funny how we were at the forefront of modern stadia back in the 80's but fitba has changed a lot since then Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 Experienced Standing at Dortmunds stadium. Proper standing, not just a few folk who have decided they didn't like their seat. Where we were it was far too cramped, you could hardly move your arms and it was a struggle to drink your beer because there was so many people moving and swaying around you. I think this might have been better further back as we were pretty much right at the front. I don't recall ever sitting at away games in Scotland. Except at Ibrox when I was seated next to the huns and the police were right next to me. Anyways, my point? Not really sure if I have one! I am all for standing if it's done properly. Dortmund standing was a wee bit cramped for my liking, but it was a good experience. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 Bit of Do you prefer to stand or sit at games? Do you think a standing section would improve the atmosphere at home games? I would prefer to stand. There is never enough leg-room in the seats and so you end up sitting thighs akimbo and shins pushing uncomfortably into the edge of the plastic seats in front. OK, I am taller than most people but everyone should be able to sit comfortably. I hate to think how folk taller then me get on. Additionally, with seats its a constant hassle to get up and down as people try to get in and out the row, and the only place to put stuff (drinks etc) is on the floor where its easy to kick them over. Standing also helps keep you warmer and also lessens the effect of being desperate for a piss. I miss those "upside down U" shaped "leaning things" which you would get on terracing. I mind them at all of sellick, firhill and hampden, likely other places too. Sometimes it was made of metal and could be cold to lean on, but I also saw others which were clad in concrete and had a flat top so you could rest drinks on them. Yes standing would improve the atmosphere - if on their feet already, people will be bobbing about as it is and will more easily break into song / bouncing. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 They are trialing a standing area behind the "home" goal here at Brann this year. Can't see it making a difference as everyone stood anyways. What has always puzzled me is the notion that it is dangerous to stand at football, yet perfectly acceptable to stand on a packed train hurtling along at 80mph? 1 Link to comment
Jigot Posted February 17, 2014 Share Posted February 17, 2014 My auld man was at the Real Madrid v Eintracht Frankfurt European Cup Final in 1960. The attendance varies from 120,000 to 140,000+. The oxygen starvation never done him any harm,to this day, he still thinks he's 24, except when he's pished, he thinks he's 7. Mon' the Brycie Link to comment
Merkie84 Posted February 18, 2014 Share Posted February 18, 2014 What I find strange logic is that at Hamden for example, you are not allowed to stand to watch football, but 30,000 people are allowed to stand on the pitch and jump around etc if there is a rock concert on. I would say at football the real mental jumping about only happens after goals which only happens a couple of times a game at most, where at a gig it could be going on for whole songs , or most of a set. Link to comment
Poodler Posted February 19, 2014 Share Posted February 19, 2014 My auld man was at the Real Madrid v Eintracht Frankfurt European Cup Final in 1960. The attendance varies from 120,000 to 140,000+. The oxygen starvation never done him any harm,to this day, he still thinks he's 24, except when he's pished, he thinks he's 7. Mon' the Brycie magic post! I stand at Section Y and never get hassle, maybe its cos im 30 stone and bald. Serious though, Pittodrie is never busy enough to present a crush situation is it? Especially when the wall at the front is so easy to jump over. Link to comment