a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 No, not a hearse or something to hide the bodies, but seriously I'm looking at maybe getting a new car on a lease. Current one (on a Hyundai i30 mini-estate diesel) expires in 4 months and already been contacted to see what I want to do next. I'm not after a zoom zoom, or to have something to hug the apex on s-bends in the hills or the like, just something easy relaxed to drive with shit-loads of toys inside. Economical and reliable really wanted too. It's a bit iffy given the massively different car markets but I think at least 2 of the cars leading my thoughts right now are available in the UK. Toyota Camry Hybrid HL. Upside:Top model with all the mod cons, plus since most of my driving is stop start commuting, having a hybrid which just shuts down and only turns on the petrol engine when you hit about 20mph sound perfect for those conditions. Fixed price and cheap as hell servicing for 4 years. Downside:Terrible depreciation which all hybrids seem to have. Could make the balloon payment a real bitch. Only 3 year warranty and no signs of getting an actual factory extended warranty that I could find here. Skoda Octavia 103TSI DSG Elegance Estate Upside: Nice looking, plenty of toys in that top end model, good economy Downside:VAG DSG have been shitting themselves the world over for years while VAG denied it... are they actually reliable now or would I be getting an expensive world of hurt? Fixed price servicing yes, but expensive. 3 year warranty with extra two years a couple of grand option. Hyundai i40 Premium Diesel Tourer Upside: Nicest looking. Not driven it (or any of these yey) but the cabin ambiance was brilliant just sitting in it. So many toys to make your life lazy. 5 year warranty, cheaper fixed price servicing than the Skoda, not as cheap as the Toyota. Best depreciation of these three by quite a way. Downside:Expensive! The most expensive option of the three to buy and run. Forgetting or including those three, anyone got any suggestions or comments? I don't want a massive car again after my Falcon beat that itch out of me. Don't want a little sportscar - pretend or otherwise - or an SUV. Just a car. Hatch or estate preferred. With toys. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 No, not a hearse or something to hide the bodies, but seriously I'm looking at maybe getting a new car on a lease. Dammit, canna help you then 1 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 Dammit, canna help you then Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Get a Ute. Everyone is Queensland seems to have one. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 They do but not for me. Not coz I think they're common... but coz I think they're shit. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 With regards to the toys what do you mean exactly? Other than satnav, a decent stereo system, A/C and heated seats (not so applicable in Oz) what else do you need? A fridge cubby like you get in Landrovers? Nae being smart or anything but that's about as much as I'd be bothered about. Anything else is maybe a touch gimmicky. Link to comment
Guest Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Stop for a minute. You're considering Balloon Hire Purchase. Only a balloon would consider this finance option without engaging mathematics. This finance method appeals to balloons who want a better car than they can afford and end up swallowing all of the depreciation and ending up in negative equity. There are two slugs of interest being charged to the balloon who "opts for"/is sold balloon hire purchase. The business manager/finance company help themselves to profit on the depreciation - the difference between the acquisition price and the residual value (balloon), known as the revolving interest - and they take out of your wallet the interest on the balloon itself, as they're waiting years to receive it, known as the static interest. Most folk are too stupid to understand maths and will allow their vanity to overlook the fact that the acquisition price is too high or the balloon payment might be more than the car will be worth. They can't even see the total amount of interest and up-front commission being paid directly out of their own pocket to the seller. All they see is a monthly payment and a new motor. My advice to you would be this. You've been clever enough to get off with serial crimes for years. Use that same sleekit attention to detail on your own finances you fucking balloon. 4 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 With regards to the toys what do you mean exactly? Other than satnav, a decent stereo system, A/C and heated seats (not so applicable in Oz) what else do you need? A fridge cubby like you get in Landrovers? Nae being smart or anything but that's about as much as I'd be bothered about. Anything else is maybe a touch gimmicky. Exactly all that kind of stuff. The i40 has heated (eh?) and COOLED (ahhh) seats, power open/close rear, massive sun/moon roof (two opening panels with covers) The i40 and Octavia have auto parking, lane control, blind spot monitoring All of them have rain sensing wipers, dusk sensing lights, dual zone climate control That kind of stuff. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Difficult to argue with that. If you cannot afford to pay for it in one go you shouldn't be buying it. (house purchases normally not included in that) EDIT: Rocket's post. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Exactly all that kind of stuff. The i40 has heated (eh?) and COOLED (ahhh) seats, power open/close rear, massive sun/moon roof (two opening panels with covers) The i40 and Octavia have auto parking, lane control, blind spot monitoring All of them have rain sensing wipers, dusk sensing lights, dual zone climate control That kind of stuff. Rain sensing wipers. I had that in my first ever car. An A reg Ford Escort L. When you see rain on your windscreen turn your wipers on. Likewise when it gets dark it's obvious you need your lights on. Dual climate control would work if you are in two separate rooms in a house. In a car the size you're speaking about it would be nigh on impossible to have two separate temperature zones in the cab. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 Stop for a minute. You're considering Balloon Hire Purchase. Only a balloon would consider this finance option without engaging mathematics. This finance method appeals to balloons who want a better car than they can afford and end up swallowing all of the depreciation and ending up in negative equity. There are two slugs of interest being charged to the balloon who "opts for"/is sold balloon hire purchase. The business manager/finance company help themselves to profit on the depreciation - the difference between the acquisition price and the residual value (balloon), known as the revolving interest - and they take out of your wallet the interest on the balloon itself, as they're waiting years to receive it, known as the static interest. Most folk are too stupid to understand maths and will allow their vanity to overlook the fact that the acquisition price is too high or the balloon payment might be more than the car will be worth. They can't even see the total amount of interest and up-front commission being paid directly out of their own pocket to the seller. All they see is a monthly payment and a new motor. My advice to you would be this. You've been clever enough to get off with serial crimes for years. Use that same sleekit attention to detail on your own finances you fucking balloon. Maybe it is different in the UK but in here in Oz, if I do a lease through my work I can use my car for whatever private use (the expectation is that is all I would use it for because I wouldn't have insurance to use it for work unless I do that separately) I want and all car related expenses - including the finance - are out of pre-tax income. It ends up being much cheaper than buying a car myself: I've done all the numbers. It took me about 6 months from first thinking about it to doing it the last time because I didn't actually believe it but my last poor old Falcon was costing me MORE as 7-8 year old car just in maintenance, road tax, insurance, fuel and all that than I am currently paying out of pocket for what was a brand new (now 3 year old) car. Depending on your needs and how you use it, it works out well, here at least. So the finance side is not an issue. It works well here. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 Ah well. It was worth trying... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Ah well. It was worth trying... Don't get all precious. I asked what toys you'd think you'd like. All seem pretty pointless. If you're buying a car that would make Inspector Gadget jealous then fire away. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 Don't get all precious. I asked what toys you'd think you'd like. All seem pretty pointless. If you're buying a car that would make Inspector Gadget jealous then fire away. Nah I don't care about that. It's the shit telling me about how to run my finances when those saying so are not aware of either the way leasing works here or even my personal circumstances and it's entirely irrelevant to the question. What you said - "what's the point of rain sensing wipers you lazy arse" (I paraphrase) is fair-ish comment. No problem with that. The rebuttal is I want them toys for lazy drivers. Simple as that! What I don't want is the other bullshit being flung around, hence my exasperation. Fair enough or no? Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 My dad test drove a Skoda last week. Said it was one of the best cars he'd driven. He also tried a Hyundai, was also impressed. He's been driving Hondas for over 20 years and was put off by his Insight he bought a couple of years back. Bought his new car at the weekend. Honda. Which Honda did he get? Was vaguely considering an Accord Euro. People often have favourites they go back to. I'm pretty platform agnostic. If I like it, no matter the marque I'll go that way. So far it's 2 Nissan, 2 Toyota, 2 Ford and 1 Hyundai for me. An aside: Honda were put off by the Insight too. They've just canned it. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 My dad test drove a Skoda last week. Said it was one of the best cars he'd driven. He also tried a Hyundai, was also impressed. He's been driving Hondas for over 20 years and was put off by his Insight he bought a couple of years back. Bought his new car at the weekend. Honda. Just got me a new Honda Accord Tourer last weekend as well (not sure about Aussie market, but the car is an Acura in the US). Six-month old 63 plate ex-demo, 10k off list price as new, will be worth 7k less than what I paid for it in 3 yrs time, so in this instance the garage has gobbled the worst of the depreciation. I've had Hondas for 9 yrs with other makes as second cars. Not a single mechanical or electrical fault during this time, but had gripes with the second cars along the way (Mini, SAAB, Mazda). Very nearly plumped for an Audi A6 (notorious for an oil-pump blockage) but stuck by the Honda. Most MOR cars will depreciate at a horrendous rate for the reason that nae cunt will want them in 4 or 5 yrs time. If depreciation is a big deal for you adioz, go for a BMW, Merc or an Audi, or hunt around for pre-reg or ex-demo models of the ones you mentioned. Balloon payments or PCPs are made to sound like the best thing since sliced loaf, but really they're just for folk with company car allowances, or for folk who don't value their money. With any car purchase you're waving ta-ta to your money unless you buy an old classic (I've made profits on two SAAB 900s). But the cars you mentioned there, while they'll give you heaps of bang for your buck at the outset, you'll pay for it later on when you get rid of it. I think What Car magazine has said (last time I looked) that in terms of bang for buck - BMW 3-series, Ford Mondeos and Skoda Octavias are the best that money can buy when everything is taken into account. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 The only choices are 1: expensive German motor (Merc)2: mid range German motor(bm)3: cheaper German motor (Audi)4: rubbish German motormotor (vw)Or5: unreliable but stylish Italian (Alfa) The rest are shite. 1 Link to comment
redmadkebab Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 The only choices are 1: expensive German motor (Merc)2: mid range German motor(bm)3: cheaper German motor (Audi)4: rubbish German motormotor (vw)Or5: unreliable but stylish Italian (Alfa) The rest are shite.Bloots, you're hopeless min. Since when did Merc, BMW and Audi sit at different levels? You're the man who drives the German corsa and paid twice the price to do so for the Audi badge. You look like bloody donkey kong the size of you in that thing 2 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Of course merc are more desirable than the other ones min.Anyone with an ounce of class would tell you that. You dinna see captains of industry driving round in anything less than a s class panzerwagon Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Bloots, you're hopeless min. Since when did Merc, BMW and Audi sit at different levels? You're the man who drives the German corsa and paid twice the price to do so for the Audi badge. You look like bloody donkey kong the size of you in that thing Bloots off to the cruiser 6 Link to comment
cow Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 I'm not after a zoom zoom, or to have something to hug the apex on s-bends in the hills or the like, just something easy relaxed to drive with shit-loads of toys inside. Economical and reliable really wanted too. The only answer is Lexus. They make by far the best cars in the world. Cow. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Yeah if you have fuck all style. Link to comment
Guest Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 Maybe it is different in the UK but in here in Oz... So the finance side is not an issue. It works well here. Mathematics are exactly the same in both Oz and the UK. Finance options are also exactly the same. Nah I don't care about that. It's the shit telling me about how to run my finances when those saying so are not aware of either the way leasing works here or even my personal circumstances and it's entirely irrelevant to the question. What I don't want is the other bullshit being flung around, hence my exasperation. Fair enough or no? Erm, I was in charge of the Asia-Pacific region for vehicle finance for the biggest motor manufacturer in the world back then (now Toyota). I know exactly how fools and their money get parted and how dealerships make money from the public. It wasn't bullshit. It's how it works. It's SIMPLE MATHEMATICS. Balloon HP - mis-sold and mis-described as "leasing" contains two hits of interest - both revolving and static - a speculative residual value and a massive amount of commission paid up-front, easy to do because the customers are so thick, particularly in Oz. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 The only choices are 1: expensive German motor (Merc)2: mid range German motor(bm)3: cheaper German motor (Audi)4: rubbish German motormotor (vw)Or5: unreliable but stylish Italian (Alfa) The rest are shite. I was going to demand where Maybach fitted into this scheme, but it turns out they went bust last year, so its all academic. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 They do but not for me. Not coz I think they're common... but coz I think they're shit. Ute = 'pick-up truck' yes? I like pick-ups. I fancy the Mitsubishi L200 as the high-end "SUV" versions have the super select 4x4 gearbox out of of the Shogun (Pajero) models. That is far superior to the shitey (imo) swtichable 4x4 most pick-ups come with. The L200 also has an impressive NCAP safety rating (4 star). I also like the pick-ups (with a rear tray cover) as, if you have dugs, then you can put them in the back meaning they are completely isolated from the passanger cabin. Ergo, ones motor doesnt stink of dugs. (My dad runs a wee dog walking business and you should experience the dug-odour in his work van. Absolutely howling and highly offensive. Nothing shifts it too). Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 10, 2014 Share Posted March 10, 2014 No, not a hearse or something to hide the bodies, but seriously I'm looking at maybe getting a new car on a lease. got any suggestions or comments? I don't want a massive car again after my Falcon beat that itch out of me. Don't want a little sportscar - pretend or otherwise - or an SUV. Just a car. Hatch or estate preferred. With toys. Thos are some ugly fucking cars, ADiO, min. I'm not one to talk, because my primary motor is all sorts of ugly, but jesus... that Hyundai looks like the designers started off designing a crossover, forgot what they were doing half-way through, and just stuck whatever front they had lying around for a family saloon. Good mpg, though. I thought I was reading it wrong at first, but a max of about 60mpg? I could put up with ugly for that sort of fuel economy. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 Mathematics are exactly the same in both Oz and the UK. Finance options are also exactly the same. Erm, I was in charge of the Asia-Pacific region for vehicle finance for the biggest motor manufacturer in the world back then (now Toyota). I know exactly how fools and their money get parted and how dealerships make money from the public. It wasn't bullshit. It's how it works. It's SIMPLE MATHEMATICS. Balloon HP - mis-sold and mis-described as "leasing" contains two hits of interest - both revolving and static - a speculative residual value and a massive amount of commission paid up-front, easy to do because the customers are so thick, particularly in Oz. Aye right you are. You're a fucking idiot mate. I wish you'd just butt the fuck out of the universe. 4 Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 10, 2014 Author Share Posted March 10, 2014 Thos are some ugly fucking cars, ADiO, min. I'm not one to talk, because my primary motor is all sorts of ugly, but jesus... that Hyundai looks like the designers started off designing a crossover, forgot what they were doing half-way through, and just stuck whatever front they had lying around for a family saloon. Good mpg, though. I thought I was reading it wrong at first, but a max of about 60mpg? I could put up with ugly for that sort of fuel economy. Yeah about 60 with manual which I won't be getting. Pretty ridiculous for a car that size. Beauty is obviously in the eye of the beholder coz I think that looks great. I'm glad no one mentioned a Ford Mondeo or Focus. They might (emphasis might) be nice to drive but christ they're awful to sit in. Feels like you're in a casino when you start up a Focus in particular. Just waited for jackpot to ring out from the flashing multicolour dash. I've had a look at Audi and Merc but can't get justify the extra expense for the ones I looked at (up to about $55k) neither the Merc nor the Audi justified the extra expense. Especially not the Audis given their shared - possibly still dodgy - components with the VW/Skoda. I think I'd go the Skoda if I was convinced the DSG problems were over and the small engine wouldn't also shit itself (which has been a problem with them VAG turbo/supercharged small 4s as well apparently) Link to comment