elephantstone78 Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 I know it's a little crass to start thinking about money when we are all still enjoying the glow of cup success but anyone have any idea as to the financial benefit gleaned from winning the cup. 51k attendance at £25 say knock of 5k for freebies etc. tv money and actual prize money to be added then subtract a cut to Celtic. 50% of ticket sales to caley I presume even though we contributed 80%?My guess is between £500k and £750k from cup run as a whole. If only there was an accountant on here that could calculate it more accurately. It should have knocked a wee dent in the debt in any case. Nearly into single million figures now !! Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 fuck debt, the BOS have loaned Milne £250m, they wont be chasing us, this money should be ploughed back into the team Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Personally I was hoping Milne would be overtaken with the emotion of the day and announce this morning he was going to clear all the debt. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Actually with Dundee United and Kilmarnock doing some fairly clever deals to clear the bank debt surely we can do something similar (I know we have had a small equity for debt swap but a lot still remains). Link to comment
RUL Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Don't think the debt is our issue, it's the not being able to get rid of the stadium/buy land for a new one. Don't think you can look at the overall cup run and know how much it has raised but yesterdays funds will hopefully stay in the football budget as opposed to going towards paying back a debt that we have no danger of ever clearing anyway. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Don't think the debt is our issue, it's the not being able to get rid of the stadium/buy land for a new one. Don't think you can look at the overall cup run and know how much it has raised but yesterdays funds will hopefully stay in the football budget as opposed to going towards paying back a debt that we have no danger of ever clearing anyway. The debt does add a lot of outgoings in interest though. But as you say its all related to how the club is moved forward with regard to the stadium. Link to comment
The Hulk Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 I know it's a little crass to start thinking about money when we are all still enjoying the glow of cup success but anyone have any idea as to the financial benefit gleaned from winning the cup. 51k attendance at £25 say knock of 5k for freebies etc. tv money and actual prize money to be added then subtract a cut to Celtic. 50% of ticket sales to caley I presume even though we contributed 80%?My guess is between £500k and £750k from cup run as a whole.If only there was an accountant on here that could calculate it more accurately.It should have knocked a wee dent in the debt in any case. Nearly into single million figures now !! We'll get in the region of £80k from cup final gate money, maybe a similar figure from TV revenue, and perhaps £40k gate money from semi-final. No idea about prize money or anything else, but whatever it is it's got to be a good thing. Board member of a lower-league team who played at a sold-out Old Firm venue in a cup tie told me his club made £70k out of gate money (wasn't televised). Alot of money for the wee teams but the gate money is not as lucrative as some would have you believe. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Personally I was hoping Milne would be overtaken with the emotion of the day and announce this morning he was going to clear all the debt. After offering to buy 40'000 drinks yesterday Io think he may be back to BoS looking for another loan. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted March 17, 2014 Site Sponsor Share Posted March 17, 2014 I know it's a little crass to start thinking about money when we are all still enjoying the glow of cup success but anyone have any idea as to the financial benefit gleaned from winning the cup. 51k attendance at £25 say knock of 5k for freebies etc. tv money and actual prize money to be added then subtract a cut to Celtic. 50% of ticket sales to caley I presume even though we contributed 80%?My guess is between £500k and £750k from cup run as a whole.If only there was an accountant on here that could calculate it more accurately.It should have knocked a wee dent in the debt in any case. Nearly into single million figures now !!Probably took around £1.1 to £1.2 at the gate. £25 adults, less for kids plus corporate. Don't know the rent. Don't know the TV cut, don't know if there is prize money, but got to be thinking the semi and final will net us £750K to £1m Link to comment
RUL Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Yeah, there is no danger a 51,000 crowd at celtic park has netted us £80,000 gate receipts. They probably made that from the corporates alone. Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 17, 2014 Author Share Posted March 17, 2014 3000 hospitality tickets sold. I think that's excellent and a sign there are 3000 dandies out there richer than me !Did we not come to an agreement with Aberdeen asset management to clear a chunk of debt owed to them. I was under the impression they wrote off a few million. It's a head ruling heart scenario as far as I'm concerned. Heart would love Mcinnes to get an actual transfer kitty and for wage budget to increase. Head says bank the money clear the debt save all the interest payments and not spend a penny on transfers. We won't win the league next year so again it's about being next of the rest and doing well in cups and Europe. Totally agree with points raised re new stadium. I was wondering what would happen first a major trophy or new ground. Glad it was the former. Link to comment
Bamber Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Go generous (there was a lot of kids) 51000 at 15 = £750,000 our 40% is £300000 Was an article I saw earlier and cant fin it that suggests £100,000 to the winner and £100,000 tv money for the final so Final was worth about £500,000 Using same figure for the semi final 29500 at 15 = 531000 our 20% = 106000 TV is 75000 so total is about £700,000 Things is ALSO we should add another 1000 onto the gate for the remaining 5 league games =£75000 plus we should get a similar amount from increased corporate so there's £850000 The run as a whole is probably close to £1m Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 17, 2014 Share Posted March 17, 2014 Go generous (there was a lot of kids) 51000 at 15 = £750,000 our 40% is £300000 Was an article I saw earlier and cant fin it that suggests £100,000 to the winner and £100,000 tv money for the final so Final was worth about £500,000 Using same figure for the semi final 29500 at 15 = 531000 our 20% = 106000 TV is 75000 so total is about £700,000 Things is ALSO we should add another 1000 onto the gate for the remaining 5 league games =£75000 plus we should get a similar amount from increased corporate so there's £850000 The run as a whole is probably close to £1m& do we not normally budget for an 11th placed finish in the league or something like that? so I'd imagine we're on for a decent profit this season even without the cup winS Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 18, 2014 Share Posted March 18, 2014 Think we budget for 7thThat may be so now but before they reintroduced the playoffs I think I remember that we budgeted for an 11th placed finish each season.So Broon actually done fantastically well Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 20, 2014 Author Share Posted March 20, 2014 Probably not that we budgeted for 11th more that we had steps in place to cope financially with all the negative factors associated with an 11th place finish eg lower crowds less season tickets and hospitality packages. I think Craig brown has a bit of a brass neck still hanging around when his replacement has shown exactly how Aberdeen should be performing. I would be embarrassed I were Craigy. Link to comment
Supersub Posted March 21, 2014 Share Posted March 21, 2014 So how much debt does the club actually have right now? Link to comment
elephantstone78 Posted March 21, 2014 Author Share Posted March 21, 2014 As we are a plc should be able see it but it may not be current probably more likely to be last signed off company accounts from a year ago. Won't take into account cup win etc. lol I realise that doesn't answer your question Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted March 21, 2014 Share Posted March 21, 2014 We'll get in the region of £80k from cup final gate money Hope we are getting mair than that. I'd say 3 adults for every 1 kid, so... Standard 48,000 36,000 x £25 = £900,000 12,000 x £10 = £120,000 = £1,020,000 Corp 2,000 x £60 = £120,000 1,000 x £185 = £185,000 = £305,000 Total = £1,325,000 Obv sponsors seats & then Celtic (they also made fortune out of pay bars in North Stand). cut to come off of that. But it's nae makin a big dent in an amount such as that.I'd be hoping we'd mak £400-500,000 aff o' the gate alone. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 21, 2014 Share Posted March 21, 2014 Still say that celtic should get fuck all of the gate cut.Nae our or Caleys fault that the beaks whored out Hampden & we needed to use another ground. That money should come from the League cups own funding. Gate should be solely split between us Caley & expenses such as stewarding etc. 1 Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 21, 2014 Share Posted March 21, 2014 The figures in the thread are encouraging, I had thought 500k tops. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 21, 2014 Share Posted March 21, 2014 Still say that celtic should get fuck all of the gate cut.Dead right, if they are due a fee the SFA should pay it. Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 21, 2014 Share Posted March 21, 2014 So how much debt does the club actually have right now? I had thought it was close to 10 million, but hopefully some more knowledgeable chap than I will clarify for us.... Link to comment