ericblack4boss Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 So would any of the current crop force their way into your all time dons favourite players My list isEric Black. Frank McDougall, Leighton, Charlie Nicholas, Paul Mason, Duncan Shearer, With Black and Mason my favourite two. Of the current crop Reynolds, and Flood have the potential to find themselves added. Link to comment
Guest Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Sinna be dilly. They're nowhere near all time greats. Black, Miller, McLeish, Leighton, Bett, Robertson, McKimmie, McGhee, Harper, Simpson, Hewitt, Strachan etc. etc. a different class of footballer to anything these days. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 maybe rustle, but give it time. I'd like to think that one or two will hang around afterwards instead of going down south at the drop of a hat. i'll always remember poor rustle's face when he came on as a sub for sunderland, gave away a penalty, and was never seen again. injuries might not have helped. Link to comment
1980EasterRoad Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Not yet but Pawlett and Hayes are getting there. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Flood's close. Bearing in mind that 'favourite' doesn't mean 'best'. 11 Players with his attitude and workrate and we'd rule the world of soccerball. Link to comment
Huntlysheep Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Anderson for me, he's Aberdonian a lifelong Dons fan has gave his all for Aberdeen in 2 spells, he's also now a cup winning captain. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted March 19, 2014 Author Share Posted March 19, 2014 Aye I'm going to add cadgerBlack. Mason,McDougall, Leighton, Nicholas. Shearer, Anderson. Link to comment
Mr Brightside Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Anderson simply because he lifted a cup, and that's something I cant remember any other Aberdeen player doing!If Rooney keeps banging them in then he could be a shout! Link to comment
Guest Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Yeah I misinterpreted and automatically thought for favourite, read best. In that case - and it's still too early to say - Willo is getting close to my all time favourites. Love his attitude. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 for us auld yins, who grew up with winners it's a bit early yet, but there is a couple in there that might get keys to the city! Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Ask again on May 18th and if Ando holds a 2nd cup aloft he can enter no probs Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 the one-hander trophy lift is class, miller always looked good doing that. it was kind of like, aye we've won a cup but that's my job, so easy tiger. Link to comment
Guest Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Anderson > Mckimmie Yeah, McKimmie was the better footballer and I prefer Rustle in my list of fav's. In fact, McKimmie isn't a favourite of mine at all, although the best RB ever. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 we should all rustle our sweetie papers when rustle does something class. "and there's the beckenbauer of the north dictating the play from the back..." rustle rustle. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 McGinn would have been a potential "favourite" player if he had been better in the second half of this season. Link to comment
Tommy Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 It depends how many are in the list of favourites.If it was 25 then Anderson would get in but he wouldn'tmake the starting line up or bench.I was spoiled over the years. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 yeah mcginn used to be the go to man, but he needs to up his game. the signings of logan and rooney were grand. just shows that it's not that hard to find quality. you don't have to take easy way out and get a chris clark on the blower. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 Anderson is now my all time favourite ahead of Jess.. Flood, Pawlett & Hayes have potential. I've not been spoiled. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 we should all rustle our sweetie papers when rustle does something class. "and there's the beckenbauer of the north dictating the play from the back..." rustle rustle.Are you stoned? Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted March 19, 2014 Share Posted March 19, 2014 No, no-one in the current team is there yet; but then this cup win is only the beginning for this dons team and I think (if we can keep hold of them) then some of them definitely have the chance to go on to become dons greats. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 Hmm being younger I guess it would be easier Kjaer Dow (Hart)AndersonReynoldsMcnaughton SmithNicholsonJessPawlett StavrumDodds Would say that Flood, Robson, Hayes and Rooney by the time they finish playing could well be in there having only been here a season it would be hard to put them straight in. Link to comment
fifered Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 Anderson without a doubt. Given the sheer mediocrity I've had to endure since watching the dons regularly then most of the current first 11 or 12 are not that far away to be honest. The list of other favourites during my time is fairly short, Jess, Kjaer, Seve, Jamie Smith, Zero, Windass. Snelders and Gilhaus as well but I was very young. Gilhaus debut was one of my first games, will never forget that. Link to comment
TopDon Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 Hmm being younger I guess it would be easier Kjaer Dow (Hart)AndersonReynoldsMcnaughton SmithNicholsonJessPawlett StavrumDodds Would say that Flood, Robson, Hayes and Rooney by the time they finish playing could well be in there having only been here a season it would be hard to put them straight in. Zeroali and Severin on the bench then? Link to comment
oilcat Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 My list is Davie Robb, Tommy McMillan, Ally Shewan, Jens Petersen, God, The King, Theo Snelders, Super Kev, Frank McDougall And Cadger aint far from joining that list either Link to comment
RUL Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 Favourite players Snelders Stephen WrightDavie RobertsonAlex McLeishBrian Irvine Paul MasonLee RichardsonEoin JessStephen Glass Duncan ShearerHans Gillhaus Looking at my team, the only ones likely to change are Irivine (possibiliity of Anderson or Reynolds forcing their way in) and Glass dropping out, if boys like Pawlett keep pushing themselves on then you never know. Rooney will never force Shearer or Gillhaus out. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 A few in the current side but Anderson (obviously) & Reynolds are the two that stand out most to me.Model professionalism personified X 2 Link to comment
beef_sister Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 No player in this team is anywhere near my all time favourite list of willie miller, duncan shearer, Jess, Weir and Simmie. Anderson is the closest and even he's still a fair bit off Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 20, 2014 Share Posted March 20, 2014 Zeroali and Severin on the bench then?Seen every game zero played for us, he was hit or miss..... wouldnt make my bench. Seve first few seasons was class then for some reason was played centre back and played hoof ball, between him and heik for the bench, not much between them Link to comment