King Street Loon Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 Just listening to Sportsound seeing as I can't be at the game today.And they're speaking about the rumblings coming from both FA's and Chairmen about 6 or 8 'Top' clubs from Scotland taking part in a 'League Cup' somewhere down the line. Not sure if I'd be too keen for this, as I can't see the appeal in playing lower league teams.I know if such a venture was to happen you have to start somewhere, but I can never see the so called big boys in the EPL being interested in taking part. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 Am in tom english camp its a pile of shite Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 yup the epl will laugh in their face. kind of like the pga tour hating the guts out of the ryder cup. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 mibbee the championship lot might get involved, your birminghams and whatever. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 They'd have to brand/market it really well... England would only be interested if the Zombies were in it, and we know how well they travel... Quite happy if they wanted to fuck off and do that. I'd rather we were more competitive in the league, but then again anything to make some more cash... 1 Link to comment
caledonia Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 Tell them to fuck off but if it were offered the SFA would pander to a certain two clubsanyway they probably mean Scotland best going in at the non league stage in England We will soon not be part of the UK anyway so how the fuck could we have a British cup 2 Link to comment
Henry Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 Load of cocksplash. Complete fantasy undoubtedly part of Celtic's ongoing attempts to move to England. Link to comment
zander Posted March 22, 2014 Share Posted March 22, 2014 A wee pre season tournament would be not bad for teams not in Europe. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 Tried in the 70's - Anglo Scottish Cup, absolute pish Remember Dons v Orient, Middlesbrough and a shitey Newcastle Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 I've got a better idea. Forget pishy english football. 3 week winter "break" starting week or so before xmas.1 week off for the players to get a break, family stuff etc.Then the week of xmas we have indoor sixes (like the old tennent sixes) running through to final on new years day. Or for all those punter who insist on going to a real game on boxing day and new years day we just slip the break and sixes tourny to after the new years day match. Could have all SPFL Premiership teams, top 4 from the SPFL Championship + maybe 2 - 4 invitation sides from abroad - plenty of leagues will either be finished or on a break or whatever. Link to comment
TopDon Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 Tried in the 70's - Anglo Scottish Cup, absolute pish Remember Dons v Orient, Middlesbrough and a shitey Newcastle Fun fact about the Anglo Scottish Cup if you go to wikipedia and look at list of participants for the year 1980-81 you will find rangers have been listed as rankers. Quite a fitting name for them! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anglo-Scottish_Cup Link to comment
granite sheep Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 A wee pre season tournament would be not bad for teams not in Europe.This would work, put in the top 4 clubs fae the Scottish premiership that didn't make it to Europe, and pit them against the English Championship Play Off losers. Either:1- Straight up knockout tourney, final at neutral ground (probably the Millennium at Cardiff)Or2- Two group stages, top two from each go into semis, then a final at the Millennium Telly might take an interest, although they would probably insist on Sevco being one of the Scottish teams to make it a reality. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 Would love to see the return of the sixes, was always great tv. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 The Masters fitba was immense, anyone mind the Aberdeen team made up of Rougvie, Strachan, Simmie, Leighton, a couple others, and......Tom Jones? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted March 23, 2014 Share Posted March 23, 2014 Would love to see the return of the sixes, was always great tv.Nah. much as it did create a great bit of excitement (for us as kids) it is far too risky for injuries. Would have to be recently retired players only though Link to comment