Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 So what comics did you read as a boy? I loved comics, I was raised on a healthy diet of exceptionally nationalistic and violent military-orientated comics which were clearly designed to mentally prepare the next generation of manhood for the expected 3rd world war. You know, men's comics. I read: Victor (a cracking name)Battle (it was actually called Battle - how masculine is that?)Action Force (Battle and Action Force later merged, to become Battle-Action-Force: must have been up all night thinking that name up). and the daddy of them all......... Commando Its amazing looking back, I doubt most of the material would be considered suitable for kids these days. I used to have a big (and valuable) collection of Commando Comics, but my mither threw them out (the oaf). I recently started buying them again - in order to build up a stock for the son I hope we have someday (and to, er, read them myself of course). I was worried that they might have watered them down a bit - you know how limp wristed everything is these days. But no! They were every bit as violent and racist as I remember - hooray! (They just reprint them over and over I dont think they make new stories as such). What do young boys these days read? Probably the instructions on their moisturiser cream I bet. Pah! I also liked 2000 AD - bit of the old science fiction, but found the quality a bit hit and miss. Past Dredd, Rogue Trooper, ABC warriors etc, it could be a bit crapy sometimes. I can vaguely remember some other stuff - comics but with horror themes etc - which no-one would dream of giving to a kid these days. And I remember stuf like the Dandy and Beano etc, but they were all gash, not a patch on Commando. Sometimes Commando would go a bit off-the-wall - one of my favourite stories was "Back from beyond", about dead German soldiers who had come back as ghosts to help clueless young conscripts who were forever getting slaughtered I mind some other story with a British Ghost Tank in it - the Germans were calling it a "Panzergeist" Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Dandy weeklyOor Willie every 2 yearsThe Broons in between Link to comment
Sonic Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Started as the Beano and The Dandy weekly, but for financial reasons I had to pick one and chose the Beano. Gran used to get the annual Oor Wullie and the Broons for when we stayed the night, and Great Gran saved her Sunday Papers so we could read the comics in there. Was a simpler time, 2001... Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 3, 2014 Author Share Posted April 3, 2014 Ooh - I remember some football comic too. It had Roy of the Rovers in it, Hot Shot Hamish and Mighty Mouse, some guy with magic boots etc. Commando was still the best though Link to comment
Sonic Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Oh aye, and the Simpsons magazine monthly Link to comment
Henry Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Would've thought this would be more up your street Clydeside min Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Showing my age here..... COR Whizzer and Chips Link to comment
Clydeside_Sheep Posted April 3, 2014 Author Share Posted April 3, 2014 Would've thought this would be more up your street Clydeside min Iis look alright, but I bet it cant compete with Commando. PS - something like that would never be sold in bigoted Scotland Link to comment
johnstrac Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Various including Dandy, Beano, Shoot and TV21. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 2000 AD, pretty much. There were some fucking clever stories in that comic, not to mention the occasional book in comic form, like The Stainless Steel Rat [saves the World]. [For President] etc. Stories like The Last Rumble of the Platinum Horde were more than the sum of their parts, and 'We Can Remember It For You Wholesale' preceded movies like Total Recall. It was also 2000 AD that turned me on to artists like Peter Elson, who sadly died at a young age. From a personal point of view my only foray into the comicbook realm was a collaborative effort with artist PJ Holden... it's still available in 'Previously', I think. The Day the Dog died is a one-pager, exploring the homosexual aspect of Johnny Alpha and Wulf The Day the Dog Died Commando was, retrospectively, fucking hilarious. Every Brit a square-jawed hero, every German a ruthless, one-dimensional villain who went out in a blaze of Tommy Gun fire, howling "Himmel!", or, "Gott in Himmel!". Japanese likewise, although their death cry of choice being, "AIEEEEEEEEEE!" At the time it seemed reasonable enough, I'm sure. Starblazer was, I think, the Sci-Fi equivalent of Commando. The bad guys tending towards a 'Ming the Merciless' motif, the good guys with their perfect hair and their bright, shining teeth. Anyway, Commando.... yup... this about sums it up. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 The early 80's reissue of Eagle. Doomlord was pretty scary for an 8 year old. Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 If you liked Victor and Commando, you must also have read my favourite... Warlord...... Link to comment
granite sheep Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 CommandoGI JoeBattleThe EagleVictorWarlordThe Avengers TransformersAnd then they was 2000 AD, my favourites on that wereJudge Dredd Slaine Rogue TrooperNemesisABC Warriors Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 CommandoGI JoeBattleThe EagleVictorWarlordThe AvengersTransformersAnd then they was 2000 AD, my favourites on that wereJudge DreddSlaineRogue TrooperNemesisABC Warriors Early 'Joe Pineapples' was the coolest motherfucker who ever lived. Later they would turn him into the 2000 AD equivalent of a Gay Lads Magazine Poster Boy. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Didnt Read comics cause I wasn't a nerd 2 Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Warlord, not of course, to be confused with this Warlord.. . Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Or this Warlord...but then again...might have preferred this one Link to comment
Guest Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Didnt Read comics cause I wasn't a nerdI understand this. I got the Beano for a couple of years because I had an infantile sense of humour. Then, as I got closer to a double digit number in my age, I outgrew it. One thing I never got was the war and history brigade. A comic was a laff for me. After 8 or 9, it ceased to be funny. What was the point of reading imaginary war shit? Fucking retarded in my book. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Early 'Joe Pineapples' was the coolest motherfucker who ever lived. Later they would turn him into the 2000 AD equivalent of a Gay Lads Magazine Poster Boy. Did you see Khronikles of Khaos, when they took his gay posterboy look to its logical conclusion and turned him into a transvestite? Hilarious. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Anyone read the Dreadnaught Of Doom? Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Lets face it, if you didn't read comics as a kid, it was because you couldn't read (explains a lot). I soon graduated on to this type of comic...... Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Did you see Khronikles of Khaos, when they took his gay posterboy look to its logical conclusion and turned him into a transvestite? Hilarious. Do not recall the tranny-ising of JP, but doesn't surprise me. I saw they 're-imagined' Rogue Trooper inna... didna like the look of it, but I'd stopped reading 2000 AD by then, otherwise I'd likely have sent a strong letter of complaint The VC's, now there was a cracking Space Opera. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 Anyone read the Dreadnaught Of Doom? Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 When I was a kid, if you didn't read war comics it was because you were reading this.. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 A soccer hooligan with a penchant for comics.Give me fuckin strength min! Link to comment
Scrumpy Posted April 3, 2014 Share Posted April 3, 2014 A soccer hooligan with a penchant for comics.Give me fuckin strength min! HaHa... I was about 6 years old. But I suppose I was a wee radge even then Link to comment